We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Tropical Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Palms Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Palms Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase $224
Ranked #50 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pure Tropical Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon, in which we traveled around Florida. From the minute we walked into the lobby it was like being transported to a tropical island. The room was perfectly decorated and was cleaned to such a high standard!
The pool facilities were brilliant, the pool itself was large and clean and when not soaking ourselves we availed of the comfy loungers which there are plenty of. We had food by the pool and it was amazing as well as the service by the pool staff.
One of the days whilst sitting by the pool, we encountered a couple of beautiful Green Iguana's which I'm told are regulars here. They didn't bother anybody other than cooling themselves down from the hot Miami sun. And the hotels Birds are really beautiful!
At this end of the beach, which is the quieter end there is a lot of construction work going on close by but it never bothered us and there was very little noise if any!
My wife used the spa facilities (had a mani/pedi) and was delighted with herself afterwards.
We got a room service a couple of nights and the food was so tasty!
The staff were really courteous and helpful!
It is a decent walk but nice walk to the center of the action of South Beach but Taxi rides are less than $10.

All in all this place is pure serenity, absolutely PERFECT!

Room Tip: Beach Facing on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear nymco,
It was a pleasure to have had you as our guests and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Palms Hotel & Spa. We appreciate your lovely comments regarding our beautiful property, clean rooms, pool, lush gardens, delicious food, and courteous and helpful staff! I am very glad to read that your stay was absolutely perfect! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    437
    338
    91
    58
    48
See reviews for
195
415
27
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I hate to say we were not able to stay at this resort due to extreme cancellations at the airport because of snow. However, even though it was the day we were to arrive, the reservations department, namely Gio, made our serious disappointment a little better by being so helpful.
I will definitely plan to stay at The Palms again because of the customer service,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Jane W,
I am sorry to hear that you didn’t get to stay due to the snow! I sure hope you are able to visit soon and enjoy our beautiful gardens, pool, beach, Aveda Spa and Essensia Restaurant. Thank you for reviewing your reservation process and I am glad to read that Gio was very helpful. I will definitely share with her your feedback. When you are ready to book your stay, please contact us directly so we can handle the details of your reservation.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We just returned from our 4th stay at The Palms, which is now becoming our go-to winter getaway. As before, we had an excellent experience. It actually seemed as if service had been stepped up a bit from previous visits - not that we've ever had a complaint. But we were definitely greeted with more "How can I help you's?" and "Is there anything you need?" than we have been in the past. The only quibble concerned housekeeping; the first night there we had some chips and candy from the minibar, as well as the bottled water, but these were never replenished during our stay.

But as I said, this is just a quibble. Once again we relaxed on the beach, availing ourselves of the great service from the Tiki Bar. When we didn't feel like trekking down to the beach (which is quite a hike to and from the bathrooms), we relaxed near the pool. The grounds are as always - lush and private, a secluded little paradise. There were two large corporate gatherings during our stay, as well as several weddings, but these never impacted our vacation, except for one night when the patio lounge was taken over by a reception. These kinds of events are par for the course, though, for a resort like the Palms. There is quite a lot of construction going on up and down Miami Beach, and yes, you will hear it, no matter where you stay. But we felt that the noise was less than it had been a year ago, when the building to the south of the Palms was still going up. And if you want to avoid construction noise completely, stay on a weekend. Now that the next door building is almost complete, we didn't hear as much drilling and pounding. But the area is undergoing so much of a renaissance in building, there's no avoiding it. Walking up and down Collins is a bit of a challenge, it's been overtaken by so many construction sites - but of course, this will be a boom to the local economy.

We ate at Essensia and then in the lounge a couple of times, and the other evenings we ventured out - once to the Betsy, and another night to the Fountainbleau. Both were cheap, quick taxi rides, and it's always interesting to experience a more hectic, South Beach kind of vibe. But we were always grateful to return to the quiet, tranquil Palms. And we'll be back next year!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 9th floor, city view. It was fairly quiet; only occasionally were we aware of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I had my bachelorette lunch at the essence restaurant and it was amazing, food incredible, the service five start, the attention, the decorations, everything was perfect. I recommended it to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnisquam, NH
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I arrived @ 10pm via a cab that only took cash (the driver did not advise me, so be aware of this in MIA). The desk clerk referred me to its ATM which was out of order. I returned to the desk clerk who referred to her manager in a room behind the desk. They referred me to the hotel next door which didn't have an ATM and referred me back to The Palms. The desk clerk (and her manager who never came from the office) referred me to the hotel across the street which had an operable ATM. During these encounters, they told me they could not help me with cash. It took @ least a day for the ATM at The Palms to be operable.

While I was pursuing the ATM, the Bell left my bags unattended. I brought them to the desk who didn't take them in back, but left them in front of the desk while I was chasing ATMs.

Due to illegible handwriting by the desk clerk, my first effort to go to my room brought me to a room that was occupied. I had to return to the desk to clarify my room #.

At the lobby bar, I had two glasses of house wine and an appetizer for $60 (also, in-room bottles of water were $6.95, and the floor ice machine was out of order throughout the 4-day stay).

For $255 per night, and a repeat visitor, I expect more. The manager didnot advocate for me and didn't extend to assist me. Sorry to see, I would not recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front room. I was a repeat visitor and was placed street side.
See more room tips
Green Features: The Palms gets environmental/green from my ability to see.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I moved to this hotel last minute after a disappointing first booking at another hotel along South Beach.

The hotel was lovely the moment you stop foot through the door. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The restaurant and outside pool area is well designed with small areas within the grounds which mean you can hide away with a good book.

I would pay the additional cost for the beach view it's well worth it.

The beds are big and high which I love and feels quality. I don't have a bad word to say about this hotel and I'm definitely booking again for my next visit.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

From the moment you walk in the front doors, you can feel the wonderful beach ambiance. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Check in was a breeze. I got to my room and the turn down service had been completed. Robes, slippers, chocolate. There was a personalized letter thanking me for my stay, along with 2 Eco friendly shopping bags. The room was peaceful and very nicely decorated. The back patio was amazing. The restaurant food was very good. I travel on business 3 times a month and stay in many hotels. This hotel was definitely one of the nicest I have experienced and would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel Miami Beach
The Palms Hotel And Spa
Palms Hotel Miami Beach
The Palms Hotel
Palms South Beach
The Palms South Beach
Miami The Palms
Palms Miami
Address: 3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us welcome you with genuine service and laid-back sophistication at our serene oceanfront resort, set in the heart of Miami Beach. Soul-reviving AVEDA spa experiences, natural gourmet cuisine at Essensia and newly renovated rooms, all inspired by the beautiful nature surrounding our sanctuary. Discover Miami Beach’s award-winning independent beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, EasyToBook, Venere, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.