We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I strongly do NOT recommend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Palms Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Palms Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I strongly do NOT recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

And here's why:
- poor reception service
- appalling lack of cleanliness in the room - I actually did not see a vacuum cleaner on premises - stained chairs, couch and mattress - quite disgusting
- hidden daily fees with no explanation - $14.00+tax
- no balconies
- small room even after upgrade
- price is quite high even with promotions
- wedding premises are next to the pool - so you would probably get a few bathing suits in the shot while saying your vows.
- far from the main Miami Beach strip which limits the dining and entertainment choices within walking distance - abs are cheap though
- currently construction sites on both sides of hotel
- looks like locals are allowed in on weekends - poolside crowd doubled
- pool too small for a fully booked hotel
- fairly pricy menu for pool and beach

The only positive experiences:
- great food and service at the Essencia restaurant
- great pool area - beautiful garden design
- great service around pool and beach
- pool bathroom very clean

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
I would like to thank you for your detailed feedback. On behalf of The Palms Hotel & Spa, we sincerely regret any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay with us. We value your opinion and appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns. Just to clarify, we do indeed mention our hotel fee in detail on our hotel website and also in our confirmation emails. If your reservation was made on a 3rd party website, they also have disclaimers that either detail the hotel fee or state that additional fees may apply. While you do not need a password to access the Wi-Fi, the hotel fee also includes a variety of added values for your stay including: Unlimited wireless internet access, Gym access and beach chairs for all registered guests in party, beach umbrella, Local dialing and toll-free calls and Newspaper daily for your enjoyment. We also offer several different room types and locations for our guests, from illuminating city views to breathtaking ocean views and balcony rooms and suites on our penthouse floor, at all levels and price points, so that we can accommodate all of our guests unique preferences. As you have seen, construction in Miami Beach is a reality at this time and it will enhance the character of our beautiful city but unfortunately, we are one of many hotels where intermittent noise disturbances may be encountered. Our staff is diligent in making all of our guest experiences truly memorable and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed dining at our natural gourmet restaurant, Essensia. None the less, I do understand your concerns and would like the opportunity to address them with you directly. Please contact me at alma@thepalmshotel.com so that I may personally speak with you regarding this matter and hopefully we can restore your confidence in our hotel.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    493
    370
    102
    59
    52
See reviews for
225
478
30
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My fiancee and I are currently staying at The Palms as a brief reprieve after vacationing in the Lesser Antilles. Aesthetically, The Palms is a really nice hotel. The rooms are more than adequate and the private access to the beach is a nice touch. The Palms has the potential to be a really phenomenal hotel but the Concierge service is obstructing this goal.

There is a saying by Maya Angelou that goes something like this : "People will forget what you said.
People will forget what you did.
But people will never forget how you made them feel."

We arrived at The Palms after a long and uncomfortable flight on Sunday, September 8th at about 8 am in the morning. I am sure we both probably looked disheveled.I felt that the gentleman at the front desk pre judged us by how we looked at the time. He was not the warmest Concierge in the world and I have traveled a lot of it. We did not feel welcome. We did not feel appreciated as customers. We will NOT be returning to this hotel.

I would not recommend this pretentious hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Palms Hotel & Spa. I sincerely regret to hear that you experienced poor guest service from a member of our own team when you arrived. At the Palms we truly value our guests and our commitment to excellence. I am truly disappointed to hear that this was your experience as I firmly believe in our amazing group of dedicated and friendly team members and would love to speak with you further to personally address your past stay experience. Once again, my sincerest apologies and look forward to speaking with you soon. Kindly email me at alma@thepalmshotel.com
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for a few days before heading to The Bahamas and chose this hotel because of the resort style grounds which are immaculately kept and location on the beach, away from the noisy South Beach area.

The rooms were comfy modern and clean. I must say this hotel is now one of my favorites! The staff were always friendly and willing to help with any questions / requests.

Overall I enjoyed my stay at The Palms and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We are thrilled to be one of your favorite hotels! Thank you for choosing to stay at The Palms Hotel & Spa and taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back!
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

very nice hotel all around! we stayed in a basic room which was very modern and classy. bathroom was really nice with rainfall shower head. room service actually cleans your room twice daily which was awsome. pool area was beautiful, water is heated and and salt water filtered. theres a tiki bar right next to pool where you can order food and drinks. food a little pricey but well worth it very good food. Beach area had beautiful set up with chairs and umbrellas in very short walking distance from pool so very conveniant. all around 5 star experience!! only complaint i have was with its general location which is why i gave 4 stars. the hotel is located uptown miami beach, a good 2-3 miles north of all the downtown action on ocean drive which was a little annoying and pricey taking cabs/mopeds back and forth

Room Tip: got a corner room was way bigger then regular basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your lovely comments regarding our modern and classy rooms as you’ve written and beautiful pool and beach areas. We hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Miami Beach.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights after a 3 week trip around Peru and it was wonderful. We had an Oceanfront kingbed room on the 10th floor and the view was fantastic overlooking the beach and pool. We wanted a bit of luxury after Peru and we definitely received it here. The bed was so comfortable and the double bathroom was very practical with a lovely powerful shower. The bar, restaurant and pool area are so tastefully decorated in a classic tropical/Miami style and the breakfasts are incredible-so much so that we didn't need lunch! The hotel is about 30-40 minute walk from the busy Ocean Drive or ~10 min bus or taxi ($2 bus or $8 taxi). We liked being a bit away from Ocean Drive as it would be a bit noisy to actually stay near there but it's nice being close enough to go for drinks/dinner. The hotel food it great and there are happy hour nights in the pool bar or the lounge bar, which is good because it can get a little expensive. It is quite an expensive hotel but I believe you get what you pay for. The hotel also offer various trips/excursions which make the holiday even more relaxing as everything is done for you(at a price!). All in all an excellent hotel that I would definitely recommend for a relaxing luxury stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your guest perspective of your most recent stay at The Palms Hotel & Spa. We appreciate your lovely comments regarding our property and look forward to your next visit to Miami Beach.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel is nice overall but lacks appreciation to it's guests. We arrived at 7 am from Los Angeles and had to pay $100 for an early check in. I thought that was steep considering they had rooms available to accommodate guests. I booked this hotel through Expedia as an Ellite member and was not offered any of the benefits to this plan. House keeping was quick to wake us up at 8am the morning of our check out, who does that. They refused to give us a late check out (asking only an hour, after the steep fee we got charged) but our friends were given one. For what we got charged I expected some kind of complementary service, I guess not...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest at The Palms Hotel & Spa. Thank you for your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to address your concerns and ensure that this does not happen again. Your satisfaction is of utmost importance and I am truly disappointed to hear of the inconvenience you have experienced. I would love to personally speak with you and address your past stay experience. Please contact me directly at alma@thepalmshotel.com.
Best regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJ
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

2 days (only!) of complete nightmare:

- The hotel is located between 2 BIG building sites, both of them EXTREMELY noisy. It not only woke us up, but at the beach we were completely disturbed by the noise. We couldn't relax, which was the main objective of this trip.

- At our first night there, there was a wedding. The hotel rents its lobby and external area for wedding. And the guests? Whatever. We could not pass in front of the hotel because of the ceremony, and arriving from the beach, in bathing suites and towels, we had to go through all the wedding's invitees in the lobby. Not good for us, not good for them I think. Strange and embarrassing situation.

- Tiny bed, can't accommodate 2 people.

- Bathrooms with no privacy, uncommon doors that don't close, leaving a 1cm gap.

- Front desk's attendants very unfriendly, weren't prepared to solve our problems at all.

- A "daily fee hotel" is added to your final bill, without warning (not even mentioned before booking) - while checking in, the front desk's lady simply told us there was a wi-fi for the whole hotel area and that we could use it, with no need for a username or code. Then, when asked what that "daily fee hotel" was for, we were told it was for the wi-fi, and beach towels (really? a beach hotel at this price charging for use of towels?)

- There isn't a minibar in each room!!! There is one, but it's not refrigerated. If you'd like a refrigerated one (of course), you have to ask for it. Never seen that before.

- Also there is a daily fee for parking of $28,00 - at least this one they inform us before booking.

- We asked for an adapter and we were told that it is sold for $8,00. OK. Again, a hotel that calls itself high standard can't sell adapters to their guests. This is the end of the world.

- We had an emergency letter sent from our the credit card, and for that we were charged $5,00 because they received it. Note: it weighted less than 0.5 pounds.

- There were 2 used preservative packages under one of our beds, probably accidentally left by the housekeeping while cleaning our rooms. We thought this only happened in movies.

- The hotel pictures are deceiving. Arriving, anxious to see the pool, it was a complete disappointment. Such a small pool. That looked so big in the photos. This is also for the hotel's entrance, which is very narrow and jammed.

- We asked for a late checkout but misunderstood the time they gave us (checkout is at 11:00 am and they said we could leave 12:00 but we understood 2:00pm). Mistaken, we went to checkout at 2:00pm, and we were charged $85,00. So the extra hour costs $42,50. Unbelievable. And clearly we are an honest family, they could see that we just understood the time wrong (english is not our mother tongue), but the manager didn't take this into account. They charged our credit card without asking us and just showed us the bill. Then it was our time to leave the hotel, frustrated, impressed by the hotel's antipathy, thinking that if we took a last breath maybe (or definitely) we would be charged for it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I sincerely regret that your stay at The Palms Hotel & Spa did not live up to your expectations. Your well-being and satisfaction during your stay are our utmost priority and we would have certainly liked to address your concerns with you directly had these been brought to our attention at the time. Unfortunately, there is not much we can do regarding the construction sites. As you have seen, Miami Beach is buzzing with building activity which will enhance the character of our beautiful city in the future, so we are not the only hotel affected by such disturbances. However, on our website we do advise our guests about the possibility of intermittent noise disturbances in the outside areas during their stay. There are several other issues that you have addressed in your review and I would appreciate the opportunity to personally discuss these with you further. Please email me at alma@thepalmshotel.com.
Sincerely,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel & Spa

Address: 3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us welcome you with genuine service and laid-back sophistication at our serene oceanfront resort, set in the heart of Miami Beach. Soul-reviving AVEDA spa experiences, natural gourmet cuisine at Essensia and newly renovated rooms, all inspired by the beautiful nature surrounding our sanctuary. Discover Miami Beach’s award-winning independent beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel And Spa
The Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms South Beach
The Palms South Beach
Miami The Palms
Palms Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.