We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend the Palms Hotel and Spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Palms Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Palms Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase $224
Ranked #50 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend the Palms Hotel and Spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just recently, we traveled to Miami for a seven day getaway. The end of our trip was due to sync up with Memorial Day weekend. I had heard in certain circles that South Beach was where we wanted to be. There are shops, clubs and lots of action. We didn't really want a whole lot of "action". In fact we deliberately chose to stay just near enough to walk or drive to the "action" but far enough away to relax.
We chose the Palms Hotel and Spa in Miami Beach primarily because its considered a 4+ star hotel on most hotel sites and had a reasonable per room rate on Priceline considering we were booking a week before our stay and during a holiday weekend. I was pleased with the price of the trip plus car rental, so off we went.
This hotel is the place you want to come to relax, enjoy the beach and a serene, tropical atmosphere. The entire hotel has a spa feel and the staff is wonderful. I must say a few words about the hotel staff. I don't know much about running a hotel but if I owned one, I'd run it exactly like the Palms. The staff comes across trained, competent, guest-focused, polite with genuine smiles. This hotel is worth the additional money you may pay for food, per day parking and beach amenities. Every dollar was worth it for our room and the way we were treated - like one would treat a guest.
There are lovely places within the hotel to sit and relax. The Cafe Del Mar type music that they have piped in throughout the hotel grounds really sets an ambient relaxing atmosphere. You almost forget you're in the United States, primarily because there are people from all over the world as guests and staff composition.
I highly recommend the Palms Hotel and Spa!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Palms Hotel & Spa. What a pleasure to have had you as our guests and much appreciation for your sincerity and lovely comments in regards to our ambiance, property, but most importantly your appreciation for our Staff! I sincerely believe that our employees are one of our greatest assets and they are one of the pillars that make The Palms such a special place. We will share your review with our entire staff at our next hotel meeting and look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you to Miami Beach.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    438
    338
    91
    58
    48
See reviews for
195
416
27
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I used the spa/pool here on our honeymoon and booked massages here because they were participating in spa month, which several hotels/spas in Miami participate in during July/August where you can get discounted services at $99. Regardless of the fact that the going rate for an hour deep tissue massage is $80, we were traveling and didn't know where else to go to get massages. I'm a massage therapist myself, so I might be a little more particular than most, but I've worked in spa and clinical settings so I know what good service and quality bodywork is. I chose this place because they're an Aveda spa and I love the way aveda products smell, and the pool/beach access for the day included in the price seemed like a good deal to me.
My husband was happy with his massage, he got more of a deep tissue/hot rocks/sports type massage with a cute blonde girl so he was stoked. I'm pregnant and had to pay extra for mine, which I thought was ridiculous because I never charged extra just for having to use different pillows/bolsters when I did massage, but whatever, I was desperate. The massage therapist was really abrupt in the way she touched me, and used really rapid movements and seemed to just be covering me in oil, rather than specifically targeting the muscles. If this was supposed to be a swedish massage... then the whole thing was petrissage- there was very little effleurage and if it was it would be the worst ever because it was really fast, abrupt and not calming at all. It was still nice to get my body totally covered in oil and rubbed down, but it was more like "rubbing" than a massage or "bodywork".
The timing was also really bad. Our sessions were booked for 2pm, and I know that an hour massage is actually a "professional hour" which includes a 5 minute intake in the beginning and 5 minutes at the end to get dressed and leave the room, we started at 2:05 and the time on the clock at the end was 2:49. So for my massage is was... $119 plus 20% tip for 44 minutes of a really bad massage and access to the pool, beach chairs, sauna, locker rooms, etc. Wouldn't do it again! We left feeling really ripped off and stupid for spending that much money.

Room Tip: we only used the spa.
See more room tips
Green Features: Appears environmentally friendly, but I don't know specifics so I can't say.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
I regret to hear of this unfortunate experience at The Palms Hotel & Spa and understand your concerns. Please know that your satisfaction is priority at The Palms and I would like to see if we could discuss this matter further. Please email me at alma@thepalmshotel.com
Best,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The place is nice. The staff is friendly, but the restaurant very slow. They charge to receive orders you might have sent to the hotel (US$5 PER item received), which I thought was an absurd!!! Besides charging, they took about 4 days to find something I had sent there... I might stay there again, but will probably try to find something closer to Lincoln Rd., so that we can walk round more easily...
One more thing: the beds are VERY small. I was traveling with my husband and 2 young sons (6 and 8) and were used to sleeping two on each bed, but there the beds were very small for 2 people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile



Nice welcome from the moment we arrived by car. Valet parking is necessary, at around $30 per day. The check in area was very efficient and discrete, to the point that the check in staff would not mention our room number verbally because our name had been spoken out loud, and other people were within earshot.

The reception/check in area has a colonial feel, and the outside lounge bar also has the same feel, with roof fans gently providing a gentle breeze.

The room came with two double beds and overlooked the tree shaded pool area. There was a wc room and a shower room. Tea/ coffee available in the room. Minibar avail, but at high prices. There was an iPod docking station. The air conditioning in the room is actually quite quiet, allowing good sleeps.

The pool area was clean, quiet, with plenty sun beds. Your room rate includes beach chairs and towels. The beach is just a short walk across the board walk, and the hotel waiters come to the beach to take orders for drinks and snacks.


One very nice touch was that we were celebrating two major birthdays in our group, 50 and 21, and we arrived back to the room on our first night to find a bottle of sparkling wine, and a nice letter from the management. This was a big surprise! Thank you!

There is a small bar area beside the pool, with a snack menu.
The one surprising, and disappointing, thing was that the pool bar closed at 6.00pm every evening. Why so early? It was July, daylight, why force customers to go to the main hotel bar with their swimming gear to get the end of day beer? We noticed many confused customers being refused, and being told to go to the bar.

Anyway, apart from that, we loved the hotel! It is very comfortable, and well looked after. Fully recommendable!



Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for being our recent guest and taking the time to review The Palms Hotel & Spa. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our property and your feedback on the pool bar hours. To clarify, the Tiki bar is opened daily from 10:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. and Tuesdays from 10:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Thank you again for recommending the hotel and I will share your feedback with our F&B Director.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

For my daughers 16th birthday getaway, we stayed at the Palms Hotel & Spa for three days. Thirty minutes after we checked into our room the head of the concierge knocked on our door to welcome us and asked us if we needed anything to contact her. What a welcoming way to start our vacation. The room was spotless clean, and the city view was beautiful as well. The pool and access to the beach was very helpful. We took amazing pictures by the rocks in the ocean water and the large waves added to the scenic photos. My daughter had an open air massage and she rated the service beyond five stars. If you want to relax either by the pool or at the beach, recieve great customer service and be worried-free...then The Palms Hotel & Spa is worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. Thank you for taking the time to review The Palms Hotel & Spa. We appreciate your lovely words regarding our cleanliness, spa customer service, and Concierge. We look forward to welcoming you back for many, many more future celebrations!
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We chose this hotel not being aware that it was not centrally located in Miami Beach. We thought it was much closer to Ocean Drive, and that you can just walk down to there in a matter of minutes. It turned out it is about a 20 min walk, but would recommend a cab, which is quite inexpensive. However, this in the end got to be an advantage, since it was a much quieter neighbourhood, with a much quieter strip of beach. We really enjoyed this, and in turn it was a much better vacation because of that fact. The staff was nice, check in was fast, and coincierge was helpful. Have to give a special praise to the manager and staff of the bar. Rooms were not too big, but not too bad. They were clean, and the view was spectacular (we opted for the sea view - I'm not sure if you can even get a city view or if all rooms were like this.) Go for the higher floors. If you are looking for a quiet location in Miami Beach, this is a definite recommendation.

Room Tip: Upper floor is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We booked an ocean view family suite - 2 adjoining rooms online. When we arrived at first we were told that we didn't really understand what we booked. It was just 2 double beds. After I was able to find the confirming email they were agreed, and said our rooms weren't ready yet. Later we were told they didn't have our rooms but had upgraded us to a suite. The oceanfront suite was beautiful with an amazing balcony. If it was for 2 it would have been perfect, but for 4 of us it was very tight and had only 1 bathroom which was split - shower in the bedroom, toilet in the living area. It was not at all comfortable and kids had a pullout and a cot. I thought the hotel should have made more of an effort, but did give us a few hour later check out.

The spa was wonderful - great staff and therapists. The beach and pool area is beautiful. Its a good walk to Lincoln Rd, but enjoyable especially after a nice dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Palms Hotel & Spa. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our Spa and staff but regret the inconvenience experienced with the room type. I am glad that you were upgraded; however, your satisfaction is priority at The Palms and I would like to discuss this matter further. Please email me at alma@thepalmshotel.com
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel Miami Beach
The Palms Hotel And Spa
Palms Hotel Miami Beach
The Palms Hotel
Palms South Beach
The Palms South Beach
Miami The Palms
Palms Miami
Address: 3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us welcome you with genuine service and laid-back sophistication at our serene oceanfront resort, set in the heart of Miami Beach. Soul-reviving AVEDA spa experiences, natural gourmet cuisine at Essensia and newly renovated rooms, all inspired by the beautiful nature surrounding our sanctuary. Discover Miami Beach’s award-winning independent beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, EasyToBook, Venere, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.