We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Palms Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Palms Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advance Purchase $224
Ranked #53 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toulouse, France
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very nice and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile



Nice welcome from the moment we arrived by car. Valet parking is necessary, at around $30 per day. The check in area was very efficient and discrete, to the point that the check in staff would not mention our room number verbally because our name had been spoken out loud, and other people were within earshot.

The reception/check in area has a colonial feel, and the outside lounge bar also has the same feel, with roof fans gently providing a gentle breeze.

The room came with two double beds and overlooked the tree shaded pool area. There was a wc room and a shower room. Tea/ coffee available in the room. Minibar avail, but at high prices. There was an iPod docking station. The air conditioning in the room is actually quite quiet, allowing good sleeps.

The pool area was clean, quiet, with plenty sun beds. Your room rate includes beach chairs and towels. The beach is just a short walk across the board walk, and the hotel waiters come to the beach to take orders for drinks and snacks.


One very nice touch was that we were celebrating two major birthdays in our group, 50 and 21, and we arrived back to the room on our first night to find a bottle of sparkling wine, and a nice letter from the management. This was a big surprise! Thank you!

There is a small bar area beside the pool, with a snack menu.
The one surprising, and disappointing, thing was that the pool bar closed at 6.00pm every evening. Why so early? It was July, daylight, why force customers to go to the main hotel bar with their swimming gear to get the end of day beer? We noticed many confused customers being refused, and being told to go to the bar.

Anyway, apart from that, we loved the hotel! It is very comfortable, and well looked after. Fully recommendable!



Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for being our recent guest and taking the time to review The Palms Hotel & Spa. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our property and your feedback on the pool bar hours. To clarify, the Tiki bar is opened daily from 10:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. and Tuesdays from 10:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Thank you again for recommending the hotel and I will share your feedback with our F&B Director.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    490
    360
    98
    60
    50
See reviews for
210
461
30
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

For my daughers 16th birthday getaway, we stayed at the Palms Hotel & Spa for three days. Thirty minutes after we checked into our room the head of the concierge knocked on our door to welcome us and asked us if we needed anything to contact her. What a welcoming way to start our vacation. The room was spotless clean, and the city view was beautiful as well. The pool and access to the beach was very helpful. We took amazing pictures by the rocks in the ocean water and the large waves added to the scenic photos. My daughter had an open air massage and she rated the service beyond five stars. If you want to relax either by the pool or at the beach, recieve great customer service and be worried-free...then The Palms Hotel & Spa is worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. Thank you for taking the time to review The Palms Hotel & Spa. We appreciate your lovely words regarding our cleanliness, spa customer service, and Concierge. We look forward to welcoming you back for many, many more future celebrations!
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We chose this hotel not being aware that it was not centrally located in Miami Beach. We thought it was much closer to Ocean Drive, and that you can just walk down to there in a matter of minutes. It turned out it is about a 20 min walk, but would recommend a cab, which is quite inexpensive. However, this in the end got to be an advantage, since it was a much quieter neighbourhood, with a much quieter strip of beach. We really enjoyed this, and in turn it was a much better vacation because of that fact. The staff was nice, check in was fast, and coincierge was helpful. Have to give a special praise to the manager and staff of the bar. Rooms were not too big, but not too bad. They were clean, and the view was spectacular (we opted for the sea view - I'm not sure if you can even get a city view or if all rooms were like this.) Go for the higher floors. If you are looking for a quiet location in Miami Beach, this is a definite recommendation.

Room Tip: Upper floor is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We booked an ocean view family suite - 2 adjoining rooms online. When we arrived at first we were told that we didn't really understand what we booked. It was just 2 double beds. After I was able to find the confirming email they were agreed, and said our rooms weren't ready yet. Later we were told they didn't have our rooms but had upgraded us to a suite. The oceanfront suite was beautiful with an amazing balcony. If it was for 2 it would have been perfect, but for 4 of us it was very tight and had only 1 bathroom which was split - shower in the bedroom, toilet in the living area. It was not at all comfortable and kids had a pullout and a cot. I thought the hotel should have made more of an effort, but did give us a few hour later check out.

The spa was wonderful - great staff and therapists. The beach and pool area is beautiful. Its a good walk to Lincoln Rd, but enjoyable especially after a nice dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Palms Hotel & Spa. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our Spa and staff but regret the inconvenience experienced with the room type. I am glad that you were upgraded; however, your satisfaction is priority at The Palms and I would like to discuss this matter further. Please email me at alma@thepalmshotel.com
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Myself & my husband stayed in The Palms for 5 nights in June. It was to finish off a 3 week holiday in The States & celebrated our 3rd Wedding Anniversary while staying there. We decided not to pay the extra for a sea view & opted for the city view. We were pleased with the choice when we found out that none of the rooms in this hotel have balconies which is the only reason we would've wanted a sea view. We were situated in a corner room, it was spacious & we liked the modern decor. The toilet was separate to the bathroom & had a quirky Eco water saving device!

The whole hotel had a lovely relaxed feel & was immaculately clean. Breakfast was included in our stay & we were very grateful when we saw it the first morning. There were most things that you would ever want for breakfast no matter what part of the world you were from. Including an omelette & waffle station. The staff in the hotel could not be faulted & were very polite & attentive.

The only negative point we have after staying here is something that is actually out of the hotel's control. The building next door to The Palms is under going major building work. This means it can be noisy while lying round the pool in working hours! It was constant which meant after a few days we didn't notice it but we heard new arrivals talking about it. I just feel that people who are due to stay there should be aware of this.

Overall, we had a wonderful time in Miami & The Palms and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was my 5th visit to Miami, a city I've grown to love!! But this visit has been the best of all and that is basically down to my experience at the Palms Hotel & Spa, the accommodation is just amazing only surpassed by the friendliness of the staff. I must say a very big Thank-you to everyone, the lovely girl who is the Concierge, the lovely guys on the front desk, the bellboy's who got my ice, the ladies who would look after us at breakfast, everyone was just absolutely lovely. Again, thank-you so much!!!!
PS - the breakfast is amazing, must thank Peter for his amazing omelettes and w

Room Tip: If you have a City view room it's probably best to make sure you have it on the 5th or 6th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a beautiful, family run hotel (hard to find anymore) on the beach in Miami Beach, Florida. The public rooms are comfortable and have different smaller areas to sit in and the outside sitting area is surrounded by beautiful plantings. You can't see the beach from the public areas but it is easily accessible. The hotel is right on the boardwalk, which takes you "downtown" where there are lots of restaurants, shops, amazing people watching and the ocean always in view. The Palm's beach is like everyone's along there, umbrellas, beach chairs and beach towels available.

We only had lunch at the hotel but it was really good and beautifully presented.

I really really liked that they had free internet throughout the property. It bugs me when I pay a lot for a hotel and then get charged for the internet. It is like charging for the TV. That being said, they also charge a 'resort fee', which basically is the same thing.

The rooms are nice sized and ours had a great view of the ocean. I like the layout, with one little room with a toilet and sink and across the hall another little room with the shower and another sink. I was with two other women, there for a wedding, so it was nice to have two sinks so we could all get ready at the same time. Everything was in good shape, nothing worn down or shabby. The one semi negative is that you get charged for early check in ($100) and also get charged for late checkout (cost depends on how late you stay). They also knocked early the morning we were checking out, I think to hurry us along a little. That hasn't happened to me before. But, those are tiny irritants.... All in all, I thought this was an excellent hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room, facing the ocean, was very quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: They don't change towels every day which I really like. However, the shower uses a LOT of water. All the cups for water are plastic....
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel & Spa

Address: 3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us welcome you with genuine service and laid-back sophistication at our serene oceanfront resort, set in the heart of Miami Beach. Soul-reviving AVEDA spa experiences, natural gourmet cuisine at Essensia and newly renovated rooms, all inspired by the beautiful nature surrounding our sanctuary. Discover Miami Beach’s award-winning independent beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel Miami Beach
The Palms Hotel And Spa
Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms South Beach
The Palms South Beach
Miami The Palms
Palms Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.