We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Palms Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Palms Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advance Purchase $180
Ranked #54 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Birthday Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was my surprise birthday weekend ........pleasant surprise. The hotel was terrific! The room was spacious with great views. The bar area was great for cocktail. The Aveda Spa massage was a nice way to forget the outside world. The pool cabana was a great way to relax with loungers, fan, TV, fridge with bottle water, fruit plate, snacks and cocktails. Enjoyed the beach as well as a dip in the pool. It made me feel like I was on vacation even though I have lived in Miami my whole life.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    401
    113
    62
    56
See reviews for
251
527
35
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had our wedding here and stayed here for several nights before and after. We really enjoyed our stay. The service could be a little slow, but everyone is very polite, professional and helpful and the slower pace is kind of appropriate with the Caribbean feel of the hotel. That is why we chose the hotel for our wedding. It's very beautiful with clean, spacious rooms and great bathrooms/showers. The garden and pool area are beautiful and you are right on the beach. There was construction going on next door, which we really didn't seem to notice after our initial drive up to the hotel. Really enjoyed the cocktails by the pool and our wedding was fabulous. Had a great time and would definitely recommend the hotel for a stay or for a wedding.

Room Tip: Ocean view is always a plus! It's a little extra, but I think it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a very nice hotel and feels very comfortable with the old Florida charm. There is construction going on with a new condo being built next door but that is not the fault of this hotel. There was little noise before 9 or after 5 so the people that complained on here shouldn't blame the hotel. The hotel is very clean, modern, and the staff is very friendly. It is right on the beach, close to many things to do within walking or short cab ride. The restaurant downstairs is excellent with plenty of choice. Additionally, the covered porch is very nice in the evening for a glass of wine and relaxing. There is also plenty of lounge space for getting sun with four separate areas to lay out, and, as a bonus, the pool never shuts down at night. You can also walk right out and watch the sun come up.

We paid extra for an ocean view room which I probably wouldn't do again. I'd rather have a balcony to sit out on. The room was large, plenty of space, plenty of toiletries (Aveda products) and a separate toilet/shower. The shower was one of the best I've had in a hotel, very powerful and always hot. Air conditioning worked great.

Only complaint is from the service level. When we got there, it took over an hour to get our luggage to our room, over an hour for room service, and when we left, over an hour for a bellhop (we finally left the bags and went downstairs) and had called ahead to have our car ready and it wasn't there (took about hour twenty minutes). Its sad that the service level isn't there yet because this is an amazing hotel that is worth staying at. I'd come back again for a nice long weekend as I can look past these issues, but for someone catching a plane, it could be tough.

Room Tip: We ate at Fiorito's Argentinian restaurant. This place is worth the 4 mile cab ride. It was aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

In April we decided to visit Miami Beach again and there was no question which hotel we wanted to stay at. The Palms once again exceeded our expectations. The location is just far enough away from the hectic area of Miami Beach for total relaxation but close enough to walk to fun restaurants and shops. This time we booked massages at the Spa and the accommodations were very nice. My other half booked a haircut and received the royal treatment! You felt pampered from the moment you walked in. Once again we had a delicious meal at the hotel restaurant Essensia, enjoyed the gorgeous porch for drinks and snacks and we looked forward to the amazing breakfast buffet every morning. The beds and linens are super comfortable and I slept like a baby. While we had a very nice deluxe ocean view room, my recommendation would be to try to book early and get one of the 4 balcony rooms as that was the only thing that we missed having this time. We really enjoyed the beautiful sunsets seen from the Bayside suite.
I can't say enough about the friendly staff who tend to your every need. They are all top notch! The only drawback is the construction that we saw last time we were there in October. It seemed a little louder this time but hopefully they will complete that job soon and the Palms can have the total uninterrupted tranquility that they strive for at this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to book one of the Balcony rooms. The sunsets over the Bay are breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from a four night stay at the Palms in South Beach. Aside from a mix-up with our room upon check in (we booked through a third party and had requested a king bed; one wasn't available), we had a lovely stay at the hotel. Nestor was very helpful and ended up upgrading us to an oceanfront king room for the remaining three nights of our stay. Beautiful property with attentive pool staff. Pristine beach with chairs and umbrellas included in the resort fee. The food and drinks at the pool/beach were excellent and the breakfast buffet was delicious (especially enjoyed the made-to-order omelettes). We ate at Essensia on our last night and were very impressed with the food and service. We didn't try the spa or fitness facilities, but both looked nice. Rooms were stylish and clean, shower was lovely, bed was very comfortable. Overall, a perfect vacation. We'll be back to stay the Palms again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to family or friends.

Room Tip: We were on the eighth floor around the corner from the elevator facing the ocean and had no complain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My first stay at this hotel was 10 years ago with a boyfriend and it was perfect for us. Very romantic, private, and just far enough away from the hectic stretch on Collins in South Beach to avoid the herds of people, but close enough to walk.

This stay at the hotel, which was this week, it was just me, by myself, on a personal mini-vacation. I needed a retreat for some R&R (beach, sleep and personal time away from work and people). It is just as perfect for a solo trip as it is for a romantic weekend for a couple, for a family vacation, or for a girls/guys weekend (there was a bachelor party there when I went with some of the best looking guys I've ever seen). I would even consider having a wedding here.

Plus, the beds/pillows in the rooms are magnificent and the staff is of the best I have yet to experience anywhere. The Bellmen, the Cleaning Staff, the Valets, the Front Desk, the Operator, the Beach/Pool Waiters, etc... all are very good at what they do and go out of their way for the guests. The best part about it all is the nightly turn-down service so when you come in at night, they have removed any trash from the day, turned on the bed lamp and cleaned up any dirty towels.

Truly, the only bad thing I have to say about this place is that there is construction going on right next door, whcih can get quite loud. However, I live in New York City and am used to noise, so I barely even noticed it. But if you are sensitive to loud construction noise, you may want to consider staying at a different hotel until the construction is completed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights during a conference. The hotel is just OK. You may walk through the hotel's garden to the nice beach promenade. The staff are attentive and the valet parking is around $ 30.00 per day.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel & Spa

Address: 3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us welcome you with genuine service and laid-back sophistication at our serene oceanfront resort, set in the heart of Miami Beach. Soul-reviving AVEDA spa experiences, natural gourmet cuisine at Essensia and newly renovated rooms, all inspired by the beautiful nature surrounding our sanctuary. Discover Miami Beach’s award-winning independent beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel And Spa
The Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms South Beach
The Palms South Beach
Miami The Palms
Palms Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.