We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at The Palms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Palms Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Palms Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Stay at The Palms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had our wedding here and stayed here for several nights before and after. We really enjoyed our stay. The service could be a little slow, but everyone is very polite, professional and helpful and the slower pace is kind of appropriate with the Caribbean feel of the hotel. That is why we chose the hotel for our wedding. It's very beautiful with clean, spacious rooms and great bathrooms/showers. The garden and pool area are beautiful and you are right on the beach. There was construction going on next door, which we really didn't seem to notice after our initial drive up to the hotel. Really enjoyed the cocktails by the pool and our wedding was fabulous. Had a great time and would definitely recommend the hotel for a stay or for a wedding.

Room Tip: Ocean view is always a plus! It's a little extra, but I think it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    377
    103
    59
    54
See reviews for
236
484
31
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a very nice hotel and feels very comfortable with the old Florida charm. There is construction going on with a new condo being built next door but that is not the fault of this hotel. There was little noise before 9 or after 5 so the people that complained on here shouldn't blame the hotel. The hotel is very clean, modern, and the staff is very friendly. It is right on the beach, close to many things to do within walking or short cab ride. The restaurant downstairs is excellent with plenty of choice. Additionally, the covered porch is very nice in the evening for a glass of wine and relaxing. There is also plenty of lounge space for getting sun with four separate areas to lay out, and, as a bonus, the pool never shuts down at night. You can also walk right out and watch the sun come up.

We paid extra for an ocean view room which I probably wouldn't do again. I'd rather have a balcony to sit out on. The room was large, plenty of space, plenty of toiletries (Aveda products) and a separate toilet/shower. The shower was one of the best I've had in a hotel, very powerful and always hot. Air conditioning worked great.

Only complaint is from the service level. When we got there, it took over an hour to get our luggage to our room, over an hour for room service, and when we left, over an hour for a bellhop (we finally left the bags and went downstairs) and had called ahead to have our car ready and it wasn't there (took about hour twenty minutes). Its sad that the service level isn't there yet because this is an amazing hotel that is worth staying at. I'd come back again for a nice long weekend as I can look past these issues, but for someone catching a plane, it could be tough.

Room Tip: We ate at Fiorito's Argentinian restaurant. This place is worth the 4 mile cab ride. It was aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

In April we decided to visit Miami Beach again and there was no question which hotel we wanted to stay at. The Palms once again exceeded our expectations. The location is just far enough away from the hectic area of Miami Beach for total relaxation but close enough to walk to fun restaurants and shops. This time we booked massages at the Spa and the accommodations were very nice. My other half booked a haircut and received the royal treatment! You felt pampered from the moment you walked in. Once again we had a delicious meal at the hotel restaurant Essensia, enjoyed the gorgeous porch for drinks and snacks and we looked forward to the amazing breakfast buffet every morning. The beds and linens are super comfortable and I slept like a baby. While we had a very nice deluxe ocean view room, my recommendation would be to try to book early and get one of the 4 balcony rooms as that was the only thing that we missed having this time. We really enjoyed the beautiful sunsets seen from the Bayside suite.
I can't say enough about the friendly staff who tend to your every need. They are all top notch! The only drawback is the construction that we saw last time we were there in October. It seemed a little louder this time but hopefully they will complete that job soon and the Palms can have the total uninterrupted tranquility that they strive for at this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to book one of the Balcony rooms. The sunsets over the Bay are breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from a four night stay at the Palms in South Beach. Aside from a mix-up with our room upon check in (we booked through a third party and had requested a king bed; one wasn't available), we had a lovely stay at the hotel. Nestor was very helpful and ended up upgrading us to an oceanfront king room for the remaining three nights of our stay. Beautiful property with attentive pool staff. Pristine beach with chairs and umbrellas included in the resort fee. The food and drinks at the pool/beach were excellent and the breakfast buffet was delicious (especially enjoyed the made-to-order omelettes). We ate at Essensia on our last night and were very impressed with the food and service. We didn't try the spa or fitness facilities, but both looked nice. Rooms were stylish and clean, shower was lovely, bed was very comfortable. Overall, a perfect vacation. We'll be back to stay the Palms again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to family or friends.

Room Tip: We were on the eighth floor around the corner from the elevator facing the ocean and had no complain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My first stay at this hotel was 10 years ago with a boyfriend and it was perfect for us. Very romantic, private, and just far enough away from the hectic stretch on Collins in South Beach to avoid the herds of people, but close enough to walk.

This stay at the hotel, which was this week, it was just me, by myself, on a personal mini-vacation. I needed a retreat for some R&R (beach, sleep and personal time away from work and people). It is just as perfect for a solo trip as it is for a romantic weekend for a couple, for a family vacation, or for a girls/guys weekend (there was a bachelor party there when I went with some of the best looking guys I've ever seen). I would even consider having a wedding here.

Plus, the beds/pillows in the rooms are magnificent and the staff is of the best I have yet to experience anywhere. The Bellmen, the Cleaning Staff, the Valets, the Front Desk, the Operator, the Beach/Pool Waiters, etc... all are very good at what they do and go out of their way for the guests. The best part about it all is the nightly turn-down service so when you come in at night, they have removed any trash from the day, turned on the bed lamp and cleaned up any dirty towels.

Truly, the only bad thing I have to say about this place is that there is construction going on right next door, whcih can get quite loud. However, I live in New York City and am used to noise, so I barely even noticed it. But if you are sensitive to loud construction noise, you may want to consider staying at a different hotel until the construction is completed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights during a conference. The hotel is just OK. You may walk through the hotel's garden to the nice beach promenade. The staff are attentive and the valet parking is around $ 30.00 per day.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Pros: The gardens on the property were beautiful and the hotel had this old world charm, although in places it is showing its age and needs to be refurbished. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the food at Essensia is very good, although expensive.
Cons: There were no beach umbrellas which was very disappointing as we were unable to be by the ocean as it was extremely hot and sunny. This was our main reason for travelling to Florida. The construction from the hotel going up beside it is terrible. If we could have been in the shade by the ocean, this would not have mattered as it was far enough away that the noise would not be an issue. However, we were forced to try to find two places by the pool in the shade and listen to construction which was hardly what you want on a holiday. There was a wedding there on our last night and the noise from the reception was very loud all night keeping us awake. There are no balconies and the windows in the room don't open. The rooms are very small. The area it is in has nothing close by to walk to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel & Spa

Address: 3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us welcome you with genuine service and laid-back sophistication at our serene oceanfront resort, set in the heart of Miami Beach. Soul-reviving AVEDA spa experiences, natural gourmet cuisine at Essensia and newly renovated rooms, all inspired by the beautiful nature surrounding our sanctuary. Discover Miami Beach’s award-winning independent beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel And Spa
The Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms South Beach
The Palms South Beach
Miami The Palms
Palms Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;