We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money or time” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Palms Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Palms Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advance Purchase $180
Ranked #54 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
abelelz
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not worth the money or time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I've been to Miami Beach/South Beach several times and I was very disappointed. After reading a lot of these reviews, I felt safe in staying at the Palm Hotel but it was a REAL let down. I requested a room away from the nearby construction and was put in a special needs (handicap) room right in front of the elevator... talk about noisy! I went down to the desk and was told by the manager that "I" had requested that room (I didn't of course). I was switched but all the rooms are much smaller than in the pictures and the bathrooms even smaller. Definitely not the star rating it's getting.
They emptied the trash and cleaned the bathroom but that was it... never vacuumed my room as there was the same small trash on the floor every day. The hotel is WAY, WAY overpriced. There isn't much around that area and the hotel website says you can take the boardwalk to the main area of Southbeach. It's true but takes about 25 minutes to do so, very far from all the action including Lincoln Ave.
At the end of check out, they tell me that I still owe $75 dollars to cover the beach towels, coffee maker and pool amenities for my week stay. Shouldn't that be included in the cost of the room???? Absolutely ridiculous! I paid but for that $75 dollars and lack of attention, they are getting my "Honest" but negative review on all the major travel sites. Shame on the hotel. Really not worth the money or time.

Room Tip: Don't get a room by the elevator!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for being our recent guest. I do sincerely regret to hear, however, that we failed to exceed your expectations for an overall relaxing stay and would love the opportunity to further discuss your stay with you in detail (name on the reservation and dates of stay) if you would kindly contact me at alma@thepalmshotel.com. I look forward to hearing from you and addressing all areas of concern with our Team.
Sincerely,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    402
    113
    62
    56
See reviews for
251
527
35
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We saw mixed reviews, so we stopped by to check it out.
We tried to get a drink on their beautiful porch, but created departmental chaos and had to order drinks from the bar and bring them to the porch where we were ignored.

In talking with guests and our own backyard experience, the take home is this: it's like a cruise ship. Small unimpressive rooms with sealed windows. Beautiful public spaces. Most guests loved the pool area but suggest you avoid it M-F because of Construction Jack hammers next door. I found it to be noisy.

This hotel really has a higher than average price point for what you get. They need to put together a "buy two and get the 3rd night free deal until the construction goes away.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your experience at The Palms Hotel & Spa. We are pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful public spaces and regret that you seem not to have had a pleasant experience at our Lounge. If you would like to tell us more details of what happened, I will be pleased to address it with the Department Head. My email is alma@thepalmshotel.com. Regarding the construction next door, we do advise our guests that intermittent noise may be heard outside of the hotel; however, our tropical and laid-back ambiance and our beautiful beach continue to provide an enjoyable retreat to our guests. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly in order to ensure that any areas of concern you may have may be addressed and improved.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I have been looking forward to stet at the palms for the longest time. I finally received a special offer for an early bird special and I decided to book it for my vacation in Florida. Low and behold I arrive and they assign me a room I'm not kidding smaller than the smallest cabin on a cruise ship. The entire bathroom is the size of my shower at home. I can't rotate my torso in the shower without opening the door and I needed to sit sideways on the toilet to use it. I'm sorry bit this is not a leading hotel of the world by any means. When I went to the front desk to complain the asistant manager tells me with a smirk on his face that I got a good rate. In other words what I deserve the crapyest room in the hotel? He than proceeds to mention we ate boutique hotel and that's the way to rooms are. Well I felt obligated to share this with all my friends on trip advisor. If you want a Luxary experience and a comfortable room. This is not the Place.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Palms Hotel & Spa. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. I am truly disappointed that your stay was not exactly as you had anticipated and I apologize for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We value our guests’ feedback and appreciate the opportunity to address any issues that may occur. Please be assured that what you may have experienced is completely atypical to a standard stay at The Palms and guest satisfaction is paramount to us. We hope that when your travels bring you back to Miami to welcome you as our valued guest for another stay so that you may experience The Palms in it’s true light.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Booked an ocean view room for 3 days with $50 resort credit per night to use at spa or restaurant Essencia. First they gave us a room with no oceanview whatsoever, 4th floor all you see is trees and a roof under construction. By the way there is a hotel building next door making terrible noise very disturbing. We were told there were no other rooms available, after making a little scene, they found a room on the 8th floor with ocean view which is what we paid for. The food is horrible at the Essencia, we had breakfast buffet and it was horrible, tasteless and limited food, more on the line of a continental breakfast. The room has dirty carpet and dirty curtains and the shower ground was disgusting. The outside, and pool area needs to be renovated. All staff , with few exceptions, are rude, the staff at the beach specially, they are nasty. We had in-room dinning, the food was horrible, plus they forgot to bring silverware, and they brought 20 minutes later the food was really cold by then. In addition to all, when the bill came they did not apply the $50 resort credit because we did not go to the restaurant for dinner, although we spent $700 in food at the pool, beach and in-room dinning, which are all food made by their only restaurant in the property. After arguing at the lobby with manager, he gave us a partial credit. Honestly for this kind of money go to a Ritz Carlton or 5 star marriot resort that stands behind customer service satisfaction.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. I sincerely regret to hear about the various inconveniences you encountered while being our guests and the unfortunate staff interactions with our beach team, as that is certainly not the level of customer service that we stride to provide our valued guests. Our Training & Development Specialist has been made aware and I have also shared your comments with our Housekeeping Director and F&B Director for their immediate review. Thank you for your feedback. For our future guests, we have clarified under the restrictions of The Resort Escape Package that the credit is only redeemable towards any spa service or dinner at Essensia. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to regain your faith in our genuine hospitality and service the next time your travels bring you back to the Miami Beach area. Please contact me directly (alma@thepalmshotel.com) if you have any other concerns or so that I may handle the details of your future reservation. We look forward to providing you with the high level of service and personal attention that The Palms is known for.
Sincerely,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

well I like too much the hotel, is classic, nice pool , beutiful breakfast, beach just crossing the door which is heaven, the only think that my parents and I didn´t like was the fact we have to wait for our room on friday march 22 for more than 4 hours which is totally bad we came from another trip very tired and that was a dissapoinment and we had to waiting at the lobby , pool , well not cool ...but for the rest the hotel is super nice

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for not only choosing to stay at The Palms Hotel & Spa but also for taking the time to review our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you and your family as our guests. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our property, pool and Essensia. I was able to locate you reservation and regret that you had to wait for your room but I am also glad that it was ready one hour before our check in time. Unfortunately, the room type requested and our occupancy the day of your arrival didn’t allow for the room to be ready in the morning. Please accept our apologies and be assured that guest satisfaction is paramount and everyone in our staff is highly dedicated to providing all of our Guests with excellent service and with warm hospitality. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Palms Hotel & Spa.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I just returned from my first trip to South Beach and already can't wait to go back to The Palms. Whether relaxing in the hammocks by the beautiful pool in the garden or enjoying delicious drinks and dishes on the pristine beach steps from the hotel, it was one of the most romantic and relaxing vacations I've ever had.

The hotel staff had great recommendations for restaurants and bars, plus bent over backwards to help find us a different room configuration (due to a mix-up on the third-party booking site's end). They even sent over a bottle of wine afterward! And the hotel beds will give you the best night's sleep you've ever had!!! (The Godiva chocolates on the pillow each night were an extra sweet treat.)

Highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a romantic or family-friendly weekend in Miami! A 5 minutes via cab from the heart of South Beach - you're close enough to all the action but far enough to enjoy a more relaxing experience during the daytime.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the north side of the hotel to avoid construction noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests during your first trip to South Beach! Thank you for taking the time to review The Palms Hotel & Spa. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our beautiful pool and garden areas, delicious food, hotel beds, and helpful staff. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to The Palms Hotel & Spa on your next and many more visits to Miami Beach!
Warm Regards,
Alma Cue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We paid the double room with breakfast for 2 : 444$ the night (350€)

We arrived at 10pm in a room so dirty that it was impossible to use the bathroom
We just when to bed the bedsheets looked cleaned. We asked the receptionist to come up and
We showed the him how dirty was this room. In fact it hasn't been cleaned at all. He said he couldn't do anything we couldn't have another room. We had to wait up to the next morning.
The next morning we ask the cleaning lady who couldn't understand a word of English to clean the room. we came back in the afternoon to pack out or luggage. As the room was always so dirty I wend to the next shop, I bought some cleaning stuff and I cleaned the room myself.

The second problem came the next morning as we wanted to use the swimming pool or lie down on the beach and that we realized that an hotel next door was being build. So it was impossible to use the hotel premises for the noise from the construction was so loud. So we had to to pay to get a chair in an other hotel more quite.

The hotel boost to be next to the beach but forget to say that it is impossible to open the window
Impossible to get some fresh air we have to live on air conditioning all the time, which is a nuisance and a pity since we are a few foots from the see.

There is no isolation between the rooms you can follow your neighbor in their more intimate
Life.

The must stupid thing arrived on our fifth days : as we entered our room at 10 pm coming back from the restaurant. We were surprised to see in our room a suit case an handbag which did not belong to us. They've obviously been brought there by mistake. Not very conscientious the hotel personal. I tried to call the reception but I had only an answering machine.

This hotel spoiled our holidays.

For sure this hotel needs a real manager and needs to be renovated, for this price without being able to open the window and without balcony is ridiculous.

Room Tip: Can be used as overnight stop. The girls in the spa are very professional. But there is no Sauna !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for being our recent guest at The Palms Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to review our hotel. I sincerely regret to hear about the various inconveniences you encountered while being our guest and that we failed to exceed your expectations for an overall relaxing stay. I would love the opportunity to further discuss your stay with you in detail, if you would please be so kind to contact me at alma@thepalmshotel.com. I look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel & Spa

Address: 3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us welcome you with genuine service and laid-back sophistication at our serene oceanfront resort, set in the heart of Miami Beach. Soul-reviving AVEDA spa experiences, natural gourmet cuisine at Essensia and newly renovated rooms, all inspired by the beautiful nature surrounding our sanctuary. Discover Miami Beach’s award-winning independent beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel And Spa
The Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms South Beach
The Palms South Beach
Miami The Palms
Palms Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.