We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Noise !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Palms Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Palms Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advance Purchase $224
Ranked #53 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Horrible Noise !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The noise from the building under construction next door south is indeed unacceptable. From 8 to 5 we couldn't stay at verandas, cafes, pool area etc. Fortunately they gave us a room with city view on the other side of the building - dark, facing another window front - but at least silent. Reduction or compensation? "Sorry, unfortunately we dont do that" was the friendly reply.

However, the staff is friendly indeed. The rooms are nice re furniture, function and all is well cared.

Nice hotel under unbearable circumstances. Never no more as long the construction area is next door....

Room Tip: If you dont mind the noise outside ask - in advance by phone first and foremost - if they can give y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate your positive comments about our friendly staff, well cared for rooms and nice hotel. We are looking forward to the enhancement to the surrounding areas this new property will bring, however, I regret that during your stay intermittent noise disturbances were heard outside of our property. Our tropical settings and luxurious amenities within the hotel continue to be of great charm and enjoyment to all of our current guests. Our staff is truly dedicated to ensuring that each guest has a unique experience and receives the very best in our genuine hospitality and care, along with an amazing serene experience in our tropical settings. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you to our city.
With warm regards,
The Palms Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    490
    360
    98
    60
    50
See reviews for
210
461
30
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Had a business stay there. Nice location, very friendly service, beautiful terrace, garden (big palms and bamboo, lawn, designed carribean style), pool and bar - did a walk along the boardwalk and found only one more hotel with a comparable flair and beauty! Beach directly cross the pedestrian Boardwalk (1 minute) with all service from hotel if requested. Kitchen is excellent, even Bio (!), wonderful breakfast with individually cooked eggs, waffles, etc. on terrace. Rooms modern and big, bathroom and toilet separate, beds exceptially comfortable. Unfortunately no window to be opened, no fresh air (upgrade to balcony suite $600 per night!), AC worked fine, ceiling fan additional. Seminar rooms in the basement well equipped, fine service, AC too cold and draughty, no fresh air possible. Luxury Spa and gym in the basement with direct access to pool and garden. Nice restaurant, but expensive.

Walk down to South Beach and Ocean Drive (center of nightlife) ca. 2 miles via Boardwalk along the beach or via Collin Ave (business, stores, hotels, etc.). Taxi ca. $9-10 alternatively. 30 minutes per taxi to the airport.

Summary: To be recommended for superior accomodation, family or business, 4 stars out of 5 !

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle Park, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

the hotel itself is lovely. the decor, rooms, beds and linens, lounge, veranda seating, beach, pool, etc. were all upscale and had a real eco kind of feel. however, i paid $2.70 for a lukewarm cup of decaf, and the room was unbearably noisy. there was a bang when the a/c kicked off and a loud drilling/ humming sound that was probably the elevator. when i made the reservation, i asked for a quiet room since my fiance has sensitive ears and reiterated te request when we arrived at the front desk. the construction next door -ahighrise going up - stopped for the day at 8:00 pm. we did eat at a cuban hole in the wall about two blocks away on collins which was fantastic! i would not stay here again.

Room Tip: did not use spa or $31.00 per person breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

There were 39 of us for a company outing / meeting and we loved The Palms.

Service was fantastic from check in to the events team. They had total flexibility of where and when we did things and meals. During our stay we had everything we needed and felt as if we were the only ones at the resort.

The hotel itself has not lost the feel of a Floridian resort but has been completely upgraded. We loved the very tropical and intimate feel of the pool area and tiki bar. You are right on the beach and they have a hut out there as well. Running down the boardwalk was awesome.

Rooms were small side but neat and modern. The one issue and this is with most South Beach older hotels is there are no balconies, except on top floor.

Also the porches surrounding the back are so relaxing and great place for coffee or drink.

If you are hosting an event and want a low key, reasonable price resort, keep this place on your list.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel and private beach were nice - good decor, turn down service, etc. Most staff were very attentive. Location was close enough to South Beach, but far enough away to avoid overly young and rowdy crowds. Maid service could be a little inconsistent, though. Spa service was good, not great.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel service was excellent from housekeeping to the bar and everything in between, and frankly this is rare in Miami from my week here. The rooms are clean and they have an amazing 'eco' loo that I have never seen anywhere before. Only downside is that next door is currently a building site that means a quiet day by the pool or an outside lunch is out of the question Mon-Fri at least.

Room Tip: Beach facing is obv a plus but if you are on the very top floors the city view is also interesting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

A friend recommend The Palms Hotel and Spa that lives in South Beach and I'm so glad she did. We had an extremely spacious ocean front room with spectacular views of the ocean. I especially oved the seperate his and her bathrooms. It made getting ready for the evening so easy. The staff was friendly and very attentive. The Sunday brunch was affordable and delicious. The outdoor set up reminded me of Robin Curose Island. The macaws were a hoot. The pool was warm enough to swim in in the middle of January. There were hammocks set up under palm trees to realx under. The servers by the pool made the best cocktails. The Aveda spa had a variety of services to choose from. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for an ocean front room! Well worth the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel & Spa

Address: 3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us welcome you with genuine service and laid-back sophistication at our serene oceanfront resort, set in the heart of Miami Beach. Soul-reviving AVEDA spa experiences, natural gourmet cuisine at Essensia and newly renovated rooms, all inspired by the beautiful nature surrounding our sanctuary. Discover Miami Beach’s award-winning independent beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel Miami Beach
The Palms Hotel And Spa
Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms South Beach
The Palms South Beach
Miami The Palms
Palms Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.