We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Palms Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Palms Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advance Purchase $224
Ranked #53 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great staff and excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Was here for only 2 nights on business. Did not see or use much of the grounds, and saw just 10 minutes of sun (walked through a gate to the boardwalk right onto the beach).

Was impressed by the courteous and professional staff at every turn - from the front desk to the servers. The on site restaurant Essensia was truly wonderful and delicious. Waitstaff very welcoming, knowledgeable and pleasant. Must have the Amazone Paiche fish if they have it.

Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Little amenities - turn down sheets at night, little chocolates, robes, Aveda shower products - nice. The area surrounding the hotel on Collins Avenue is a bit desolate - not much action or activity there. Hotel is its own "oasis" as another reviewer put it.

I would come back, though prices are bit high if one cannot expense it. Would definitely at least come back to the restaurant for a meal - really excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms with 2 double beds seem bit cramped. Ask for king if traveling on own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EBarkey, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear NY, NY
Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to share with us your Palms experiences! I am elated to hear that you found our hotel to be a tropical ‘oasis’ amidst the Miami Beach scene, as that is exactly how I feel upon arriving each and every day. Please contact me directly the next time your travels bring you back to Miami as I would be pleased to assist you with your reservations; either for another stay or for dining in Essensia. Regards Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    490
    360
    98
    60
    50
See reviews for
210
461
30
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Overall, The Palms Hotel & Spa decent place. No major complaints, although for the price, I really expected more. It did not live up to the impressions on the website. The lobby is attractive and has a comfortable atmosphere. The reception staff is friendly. There is a pianist playing in the evenings from 4-7.

Regarding parking, to park at the hotel is $29/day, and it will take approx 30-45 mins to get your car (and he expects a tip). We found street parking, which is free from 6pm-8am. At 8am, you can buy an 10-hr parking pass for $1/hr and put it on your dashboard. Worst part is you have to wake up at 7:50, but street parking is not hard to find.

There is a Keurig machine on the dresser with free Keurig coffee, sugar, and creamer. There is a card on the bed, stating that it uses a great deal of electricity and water to wash sheets and towels, so it is recommended that guests not have sheets changed every day. We asked for our sheets changed on our 3rd day. The cleaning staff was friendly, but I noticed out of the corner of my eye that the drinking glasses were washed with her bare hands and water. Also, she asked if we're checking out the next day. When we said that we are, she mentioned to us that she wouldn't be here tomorrow (implying that we should tip her now. We did.)

There is only one pool, and it is 4'6"-5' deep. During the day, it mostly contains small children. The pool area is open 24 hours, clean, and the pool is an average pool. No complaints about the pool, other than its kiddiepool-type feeling. There is no hot tub. The grounds are beautiful, complete with hammocks, chairs, umbrellas, small tables, and free towels. But don't try to bring your own beverages to the pool. You can only have beverages purchased poolside (ranging in price from $6-$16) with 18% gratuity added "for your convenience"). Pool attendants are friendly, and offer frozen washcloths if you'd like to cool down without going swimming.

The beach is nice, also with chairs, umbrellas, and beach-side restaurant service if you want it. The beach attendants are friendly, and also offer frozen towels.

I can't speak to quality of the hotel restaurant food because we did not eat there. I can say that it's quite pricey (and 18% gratuity is added to the bill, "for your convenience").

I was looking forward to the spa, but I simply could not justify the insanely high prices, plus the 20% service fee (not including gratuity). We went to Bodies Kneaded in downtown Miami Beach, and for half the price, had great massages and facials.

The bathroom is clean, though there is some wear-and-tear in the shower. Also, there was no bathtub in our room. Yes, there are Aveda products in the bathroom, but the bottles are so small that if you are 2 people traveling, each person will only get one use out of each bottle. And they are not automatically replenished unless you ask (even if you do decide to have regular housekeeping done on a daily basis, which is a question I asked even though we only had our sheets changed once).

The shower pressure is weak, and, despite being turned all the way to the hottest setting, was only lukewarm for the duration of my shower...Until, at the end, the water was hot. I stayed in a few extra minutes to warm up.

The room is small, but not claustrophobic. The hallway (at least on the 3rd floor) smelled like mold, cigarettes, and cleaning products. The room itself was stuffy the entire time. This is probably our largest complaint. The windows do not open (for obvious safety reasons), but there's no exhaust or ventilation system in the room. In order to eradicate the stuffy smell/feeling, you must turn the thermostat way down, which makes the room freezing. And as soon as it gets back to a normal temp., the room smells. Perhaps it's the carpeting. It felt very wet and sticky every time we came back to the room.

The bed is clean, and comfortable .

If you need a refrigerator, you will be charged $10/day unless you need it for medications or breast milk. But you are not told that. You have to specifically say that you need a refrigerator for medicines or breast milk, and ask if there is still a charge. There is no charge if you need a fridge for those 2 reasons.

We came here for a short, relaxing getaway from our hectic work and student lives, and we were not disappointed per se, but I don't think we would come back to this hotel again. It wasn't horrible, but for the prices they charge, you'd think it was more upscale than it actually is. I would not recommend this hotel to friends, but again, it wasn't a total disaster. I would look elsewhere if you're planning to visit Miami Beach.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EBarkey, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your detailed and very thorough review of your recent stay with us. I appreciate the positive comments and highlights of your stay with regards to our friendly staff, beautiful grounds and guest amenities / offerings. Unfortunately, I regret to hear that you did not find value to your overall stay and these experiences. We do sincerely value all of our guests and each individual perspective and appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns. Hopefully we may have the pleasure of being able to welcome you back once again as our guest in the near future. Sincerest regards Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Just got back from three nights at The Palms Hotel and Spa. My wife and I found everything to be perfect. Room (oceanfront king) was immaculate, and cleaning service that spruced up the room in the morning and turned the sheets down at night did a great job. Pool and grounds were very nice, and every staff member we encountered greeted us with a "good morning" or "good evening" and a smile. The lobby and common areas of the resort were splendid, and had a classy, old world charm to them. We visited many other hotels along the strip while we were there, and concluded that The Palms was the hotel for us for our return visit. The only downside, and this is not the fault of The Palms, was the full blown construction project going on next door, which made lounging by the pool a bit problematic. Again, no fault of the hotel, but future travelers might want to take notice. We will be going back!!!!

Room Tip: Recommend oceanfront rooms above the fourth floor to have a clear view of the ocean. Also, if trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EBarkey, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
T C, It was an absolute pleasure to have had you as our guest and we truly appreciate your sincere compliments to our staff’s genuine hospitality and service. Please contact me directly the next time your travels bring you back to the Miami Beach area, as it would be my pleasure to assist with your reservations and in welcoming you back to our “perfect oasis.” Sincerely Elena (ebarkey@thepalmshotel.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is an older hotel that has been updated and still retains it's old Miami Beach charm. A real nice place right on the beach. Walking into the hotel lobby is like stepping back in time all that is missing is a cigarette girl walking around

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I was looking forward to having a nice and relaxing stay at the Palms, they are very polite and
accommodating at time of booking, however once you arrive and ask for further assistance, very different story. To get a cleaner to clean the room was a chore in itself.
Their cuisine is very basic inc.breakfasts are very expensive and not worth the price.
I had a lovely breakfast at the front porch, it was magnificent and true value for money.
They will try to charge you for every single thing, even though it is offered free by another member of staff.in conclusion i will not be staying at this bumpy hotel again

Room Tip: the red might be a better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EBarkey, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for being our recent guest at the Palms and for your lovely comments regarding our magnificent breakfasts in Essensia and your Reservation booking experience. I do sincerely regret to hear, however, that we failed to exceed your expectations for an overall relaxing stay and would love the opportunity to further discuss your stay with you in detail, if you would like to contact me at ebarkey@thepalmshotel.com. I look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Only our second trip to the US and we stayed at The Palms for 6 days to see Miami. Perhaps we are spoilt by the fact that we usually holiday in Asia - but we found the Palms pretty middle of the road, especially for the price. Room is clean and comfortable, if a bit small - definitely not a space you would want to sit in for long. Communal areas are attractively done but all feel a bit cold. Enjoyed the breakfast. Drinks are overpriced - and so is the food. Main problem for us were the staff. A few - mainly at breakfast - seemed to work for their 18% compulsory service charge on everything, but most didn't seem to give a damn. Getting a drink was hard work, poolside service (towels, cold drinks etc.,) seemed a chore. Sitting at the beach seemed to prove a nuisance e.g. At 5 pm the table is removed (asking you to remove the glasses you are drinking from) and then a 15 minute warning is given that you need to vacate the area as they are leaving. All felt pretty uncaring - unless of course there was money involved and then everyone perked up rapidly. Sad really as our last US experience was in NY and everything was completely the opposite. I guess you can never tell. I'd always been told that the whole service ethic in the
US was something we could all learn from. based on this experience The Palms should take a few lessons from any hotel we have ever stayed in in Asia!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EBarkey, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Mark H, I am truly disappointed to hear that you found your experiences to be middle of the road while you were our guest at the Palms. Although our outlets do have a standard 18% gratuity added, as is common among all of the hotels in our area, we do hold our team members and standards of service to the highest degree of importance and value our guests and our dedication to genuine hospitality. I sincerely apologize if at any point during your stay we gave you a different impression. Had we been made aware of your concerns during your stay we certainly would have addressed them personally with the team members and yourself directly, as we strive to continually improve on our guest services with each and every guest interaction. Thank you for sharing your comments and hopefully you will allow us the opportunity to regain your loyalty in the future for another stay and more memorable Palms experience. Sincerely, Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel reception is decorated in the style of a tropical resort of the forties or fifties, but the rooms are totaly modern, with all that is needed. Rooms are not huge, but are estetically designed and very clean. The view from our room in the 5th floor is beautiful, the sea, palms and the pool area. The hotel has a large veranda, close to the bar and the restaurant, a magical place. You can sit there at all times, have a drink or eat something light, and enjoy yourself.
The swimming pool area is also nice and friendly.
The overall feeling in the hotel is that although you see people around, it is not crowded.
The personnel is helful and quick. I recommend it warmly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel & Spa

Address: 3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us welcome you with genuine service and laid-back sophistication at our serene oceanfront resort, set in the heart of Miami Beach. Soul-reviving AVEDA spa experiences, natural gourmet cuisine at Essensia and newly renovated rooms, all inspired by the beautiful nature surrounding our sanctuary. Discover Miami Beach’s award-winning independent beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel Miami Beach
The Palms Hotel And Spa
Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms South Beach
The Palms South Beach
Miami The Palms
Palms Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.