We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Palms Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Palms Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advance Purchase $224
Ranked #53 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Only our second trip to the US and we stayed at The Palms for 6 days to see Miami. Perhaps we are spoilt by the fact that we usually holiday in Asia - but we found the Palms pretty middle of the road, especially for the price. Room is clean and comfortable, if a bit small - definitely not a space you would want to sit in for long. Communal areas are attractively done but all feel a bit cold. Enjoyed the breakfast. Drinks are overpriced - and so is the food. Main problem for us were the staff. A few - mainly at breakfast - seemed to work for their 18% compulsory service charge on everything, but most didn't seem to give a damn. Getting a drink was hard work, poolside service (towels, cold drinks etc.,) seemed a chore. Sitting at the beach seemed to prove a nuisance e.g. At 5 pm the table is removed (asking you to remove the glasses you are drinking from) and then a 15 minute warning is given that you need to vacate the area as they are leaving. All felt pretty uncaring - unless of course there was money involved and then everyone perked up rapidly. Sad really as our last US experience was in NY and everything was completely the opposite. I guess you can never tell. I'd always been told that the whole service ethic in the
US was something we could all learn from. based on this experience The Palms should take a few lessons from any hotel we have ever stayed in in Asia!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EBarkey, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Mark H, I am truly disappointed to hear that you found your experiences to be middle of the road while you were our guest at the Palms. Although our outlets do have a standard 18% gratuity added, as is common among all of the hotels in our area, we do hold our team members and standards of service to the highest degree of importance and value our guests and our dedication to genuine hospitality. I sincerely apologize if at any point during your stay we gave you a different impression. Had we been made aware of your concerns during your stay we certainly would have addressed them personally with the team members and yourself directly, as we strive to continually improve on our guest services with each and every guest interaction. Thank you for sharing your comments and hopefully you will allow us the opportunity to regain your loyalty in the future for another stay and more memorable Palms experience. Sincerely, Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    490
    360
    98
    60
    50
See reviews for
210
461
30
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel reception is decorated in the style of a tropical resort of the forties or fifties, but the rooms are totaly modern, with all that is needed. Rooms are not huge, but are estetically designed and very clean. The view from our room in the 5th floor is beautiful, the sea, palms and the pool area. The hotel has a large veranda, close to the bar and the restaurant, a magical place. You can sit there at all times, have a drink or eat something light, and enjoy yourself.
The swimming pool area is also nice and friendly.
The overall feeling in the hotel is that although you see people around, it is not crowded.
The personnel is helful and quick. I recommend it warmly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at The Palms on Collins Ave every year for 5 years now - always enjoyable. Interesting lobby, old school charm, yet intimate. Great pool area to find some R&R. The bar off the lobby is good and the restaurant is more than good. The buffet breakfasts are a must. Parking is a real challenge even for the capable valets. It is a bit far from South Beach, so it is quiet, but that is not a bad thing.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel grounds are beautiful and the heated pool is awesome (it's also open 24 hours). The rooms are very cute but certainly on the small side.
The only problem here is the staff. Some of them (housekeeping, valet, pool bar) were nice, but others (front desk, restaurant inside the hotel) were plain rude and had no manners at all...for the price you pay, rude staff is simply unacceptable.
I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EBarkey, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear guest, I sincerely regret to hear that you experienced poor guest service from members of our own team during your stay. At the Palms we truly value our guests and our commitment to excellence and have zero tolerance for poor behavior. I am truly disappointed to hear that this was your experience as I firmly believe in our amazing group of dedicated and friendly professionals / team members and would love to speak with you further to personally address your past stay experiences. Once again, my sincerest apologies and look forward to speaking with you soon. Elena (ebarkey@thepalmshotel.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Second time at The Palms. After 3 years all the experience was even better. Mention should be made to all the staff, always kind and professional, specially Mr Altan who was very helpful to us. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Street views for lower prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We spent 3 nights in that hotel. The hotel looks newer, the rooms look spacier at the website. I was disappointed when I first got into the room. We stayed in a ocean view room. The view was really nice. Too bad the windows could not be opened.
The Air conditions of the hotel make the hotel cooler than needed. There is a valet service and you have to wait for your car at least for 15 minutes.
It was the first three days of our honeymoon and I was expecting a better place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EBarkey, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear guests, I regret to hear that you did not find value to your stay with us. All of our guestrooms are continually renovated and upgraded so that we can provide our guests with the very best in luxury amenities and comfort so I am disappointed to hear that this was not your perception. Should you wish to discuss any areas of concern with our service or your stay please feel free to contact me directly at ebarkey@thepalmshotel.com. I hope you continued to have an amazing honeymoon celebration and perhaps you will give us another opportunity in the future to celebrate an anniversary or special moment in time with us. We would look forward to ensuring an incredible Palms experience awaits you... Sincerely Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at the Palms and overall we were pretty satisfied. On the positive side (aside from a good location)
- really nice and attentive staff
- nice ambiance at the pool and beach
- nice public spaces
- cool washcloths brought to you at poolside (and drink samples!)
- nice breakfast buffet
- complimentary newspapers and included wifi
- reasonable price
On the negative side:
- no early check in (not a minute early, regardless of what time you got there)
- small guestroom with noise from hallway and adjacent room heard (I did try to shut off an alarm clocjk that was in an adjacent room)
- Construction at next door property
Overall, I would recommend this hotel with the caveats listed above.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel & Spa

Address: 3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us welcome you with genuine service and laid-back sophistication at our serene oceanfront resort, set in the heart of Miami Beach. Soul-reviving AVEDA spa experiences, natural gourmet cuisine at Essensia and newly renovated rooms, all inspired by the beautiful nature surrounding our sanctuary. Discover Miami Beach’s award-winning independent beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel Miami Beach
The Palms Hotel And Spa
Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms South Beach
The Palms South Beach
Miami The Palms
Palms Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.