We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horribel Construction Noise” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Palms Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Palms Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase $180
Ranked #56 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Berlin, Germany
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Horribel Construction Noise”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We have chosen this hotel because of its nice location and property. But unfortunetely there is a huge cosntruction site next to the hotel which is ruining the whole atmosphere. The builders work even on the wek-ends - starting at 7 in the morning. When we made the booking the reservation department did not mention the construction site at all. At the reception the staff is apologizing but thats it! They say its not there problem. 500 USD for a double room it is simply a rip off! We did not get any compensation and left after 3 days with a headache. The hotel should mention this problem at least on the webiste! DONT GO THERE! It will be nice may be in a year!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    391
    112
    62
    56
See reviews for
247
515
33
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

The Palms is located on Miami Beach. As soon as you pull in the valet, you feel as if you are on vacation. Beautiful palms as expected, lovely ceiling fans. There is a strong British West Indies feel to the place and it is very inviting. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

Rooms are comfortable though they are the reason this is a 4 star rather than 5 star review. They cry out for a balcony! Nice views out the windows but it would be so nice to have been able to sit and enjoy the view. There was an odd arrangement of double doors into the bathroom and separate toilet room which made for some bumping into each other during the mornings.

The location is amazing. A beautiful beach stocked with chairs and umbrellas (no extra fee!). Bar/restaurant service is also available on the beach. The pool area is beautiful and offers outdoor dining from the main restaurant as well as from a pool tiki bar/restaurant.

A boardwalk runs along this part of South Beach and is a lovely place to walk or jog. Good celebrity sightings in the mornings!

Palms is far enough away from the clubby part of SoBe, but close enough to get there if you wish.

Room Tip: The mojitos are to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I went with 3 girlfriends and we just returned this morning from this hotel. It was conveniently located near Lincoln Avenue and Ocean Drive and we even walked our last night to Lincoln Avenue.
It is situated right on the beach and has a very private upscale resort feel to it. Like any big city, you might want to prepare and buy wine, liquor, or beer for the room and a cooler because drinks are $15-20 per glass. I walked 2 blocks to the liquor store and they have a CVS/Walgreens type of place close by as well to get small groceries, water, soda, etc.
Make sure to keep your room key away from smart phones or cell phones and anything that may demagnatize it because mine was demagnatized 4 times and the room was in my friends name so I had to make sure she was nearby to have it reactivated. In other words, the security there is top notch, but can be annoying if you are not listed on the room as a guest as well.
I would definitely stay here again because the food was good that we ordered on the beach or by the pool and the staff was friendly. You could get beach towels each day by the pool and they have a nice boardwalk for walking/running right as you exit the pool through the gate to the beach.
The only main negative is make sure you request to be away from the condos that are under construction so you have a better view. The walls are thin as well for noise at night if people are coming in later at night.

Room Tip: Request away from the hotel or condo under construction if you vacation there this year. It is not l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

i stayed here during febuary with my 5yr old son and my wife for 1 week, this hotel is fantastic!! we went for our 10yr anniversary and i mailled them before and got a commplementry upgrade to an ocean view room and the view was perfect!! thanks for that palms!! the room was of average size and our room only had a shower but that was fine, the breakfasts are very good with an array off hot/cold food and an eggs station with a chef making omlettes/waffles to order, i really enjoyed the smoked salmon and bagels for breakfast, a great touch, the concierge were very good in booking us restaurants and days out, the only down side was we had a little problem with the staff on reception when we arrived as i only had sterling and we had to pay on arrival and they were very confussing and checking in took a while, but dont let that put you off this really is a top hotel and i would definatley go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights (still here for 1 last night) and the people of the spa were a stand out for excellent quality work and a caring attitude. Amy particularly stood out- as well as the spa front desk staff. The rooms overall were excellent as far as decor and cleanliness. The cleaning staff was great. I have to assume room service was a different department because there always seemed to be a dirty room service tray on the third floor. My only complaints were the pool area was not kept as clean as I would have expected, dirty paper napkins scattered on the ground and the service there was poor. (although all other areas of the hotel it was outstanding, such as the restaurant, beach and bar) Also the room we stayed in was above the wedding reception room and it was LOUD! I called to complain and I was told all of South Beach was booked for some wrestling thing so we could not be moved.... I do understand if whole hotel is booked but I had a LOUD salsa band in my hotel room until 2 am. I asked if there was anything that could be done to compensate...they said they would follow up and nothing happened.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriends, hotel is gorgeous compared to some others nearby. There are multiple walkways behind the pool guiding you to the beach and the restaurants. Pool is great with many chairs and an outside bar. Everyone is friendly, thy let us keep our luggage in a locked room since we arrived very early for check in. Would love to stay here again, it's close enough to the restaurants but you don't hear any of the noise which is a major plus. 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We are just returning from our one night Sunday stay at The Palms Hotel and Spa. We checked in smoothly however even though our room should be available 3pm our room was not ready until 4pm. Luckly we ventured out and werent waiting around for our room.

The staff was extremely friendly and professional and our room was clean and spacious. Our room did however face one vacant building so the view was an eye sore. When we went to the beach the next day it was hard to relax with the jackhammering going on from the construction from next door.




  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel & Spa

Address: 3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us welcome you with genuine service and laid-back sophistication at our serene oceanfront resort, set in the heart of Miami Beach. Soul-reviving AVEDA spa experiences, natural gourmet cuisine at Essensia and newly renovated rooms, all inspired by the beautiful nature surrounding our sanctuary. Discover Miami Beach’s award-winning independent beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel Miami Beach
The Palms Hotel And Spa
Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms South Beach
The Palms South Beach
Miami The Palms
Palms Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.