We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and Different” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Wolfsonian - Florida International University

The Wolfsonian - Florida International University
1001 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
305-531-1001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 153 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Wolfsonian–FIU is a museum, library, and research center in the heart of Miami's historic Art Deco district that uses nearly 120,000 objects to illustrate the persuasive power of art and design.
Girvan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Interesting and Different”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

A well laid out museum over 7 floors. Some floors were closed. It is certainly different and worth a visit if you are interested in how we have developed ove rthe last 150 years

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the museum. Yes, some floors are used for office space and storage for our collection. But we are happy to hear you enjoyed your museum experience. Come see us again when you are in the area!

-The Wolfsonian-FIU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    102
    34
    12
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Fantastic Postcards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We attended the Wolfsonian on Friday night and have a great time viewing the post modern furniture and post cards on display. The Wolfsonian is free on Friday evenings and great little museum to spend an hour in before dinner or drinks down on Lincoln Road

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the museum - especially the furniture collection and postcard exhibition. So happy to hear how much you enjoyed the change of pace and your time in South Beach. Come see us again when you are in the area!

-The Wolfsonian-FIU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“nice alternative to beach, drinking and shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you feel like a bit of culture while in South Beach, check out the Wolfsonian. Nice collection of objets from the 20th century in a cool setting. Good gift shop too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the museum during your time in South Beach. So happy to hear how much you enjoyed the change of pace. :) Come see us again when you are in the area!

-The Wolfsonian-FIU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St, Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delightful collection in a cool setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Mitchell Wolfson has exactly the eclectic yet focused taste that I love. He found beauty in surprising places so the exhibits linked ideas and objects in new ways. I could not believe how beautiful the special exhibit on Wiener Werkstatte postcards was. Very cool gift shop and cafe combined. I will definitely return someday and share this find with others.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the museum - especially the Wiener Werkstatte exhibition. Thank you for mentioning how much you liked the gift shop and cafe, too! We can't wait to have you back!

-The Wolfsonian-FIU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Something different in Miami Beach other than the beach. The finest work of the finest stained glass artist of the 20C”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We went just to see the Geneva window. Harry Clarke was one of the finest stained glass artists of the 20C and amongst the best of any century. He was Irish. This window was commissioned in 1925 for the League of Nations building in Geneva and depicts scenes from Irish literature.

It is a jewel.

If you have never looked at stained glass before or even been interested you cannot fail to be impressed by this, it is quite simply magnificent.

The window is much smaller than I imagined, but very accessible, you can walk right up to it. The lighting in the museum is subdued, soft, low so that the luminescence comes through. The micro-detail is beautifully done and like all great art works, you can see something new every time you look at it. There is a definite streak of Beardsley type eroticism, indeed, very much so, but also strong, perhaps startling realism. I can see why a newly minted government informed by an idyllic vision of Ireland would not like it.

It is a wonderful piece and Ireland should mourn its loss and Miami celebrate its gain

The museum itself is dedicated to 20C artefacts, lots of posters from the 1920s and 1930s, of all political colours, which I found interesting, almost as an anthropological study, humans do not change much.

There were sadly few visitors, which was great for us. Uninterrupted viewing, no hassle.

There not much proper parking within miles unless you are lucky, which I was.

The staff could not have been more helpful, particularly the receptionist. There is a little cafe in the museum shop.

A very satisfying experience and worth the frustration of enduring the roadworks inspired traffic jam of epic proportions.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the museum - and in particular the Clark window. It truly is magnificent. So happy to hear how much you enjoyed your visit. We understand parking is a problem for some people, but are glad that your experience was so fantastic. Come see us again when you are in the area!

-The Wolfsonian-FIU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wolfsonian - Florida International University also viewed

 

Been to The Wolfsonian - Florida International University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.