We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful collection in a cool setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wolfsonian - Florida International University

The Wolfsonian - Florida International University
1001 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
305-531-1001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 157 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Wolfsonian–FIU is a museum, library, and research center in the heart of Miami's historic Art Deco district that uses nearly 120,000 objects to illustrate the persuasive power of art and design.
St, Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delightful collection in a cool setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Mitchell Wolfson has exactly the eclectic yet focused taste that I love. He found beauty in surprising places so the exhibits linked ideas and objects in new ways. I could not believe how beautiful the special exhibit on Wiener Werkstatte postcards was. Very cool gift shop and cafe combined. I will definitely return someday and share this find with others.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the museum - especially the Wiener Werkstatte exhibition. Thank you for mentioning how much you liked the gift shop and cafe, too! We can't wait to have you back!

-The Wolfsonian-FIU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    103
    35
    13
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Something different in Miami Beach other than the beach. The finest work of the finest stained glass artist of the 20C”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We went just to see the Geneva window. Harry Clarke was one of the finest stained glass artists of the 20C and amongst the best of any century. He was Irish. This window was commissioned in 1925 for the League of Nations building in Geneva and depicts scenes from Irish literature.

It is a jewel.

If you have never looked at stained glass before or even been interested you cannot fail to be impressed by this, it is quite simply magnificent.

The window is much smaller than I imagined, but very accessible, you can walk right up to it. The lighting in the museum is subdued, soft, low so that the luminescence comes through. The micro-detail is beautifully done and like all great art works, you can see something new every time you look at it. There is a definite streak of Beardsley type eroticism, indeed, very much so, but also strong, perhaps startling realism. I can see why a newly minted government informed by an idyllic vision of Ireland would not like it.

It is a wonderful piece and Ireland should mourn its loss and Miami celebrate its gain

The museum itself is dedicated to 20C artefacts, lots of posters from the 1920s and 1930s, of all political colours, which I found interesting, almost as an anthropological study, humans do not change much.

There were sadly few visitors, which was great for us. Uninterrupted viewing, no hassle.

There not much proper parking within miles unless you are lucky, which I was.

The staff could not have been more helpful, particularly the receptionist. There is a little cafe in the museum shop.

A very satisfying experience and worth the frustration of enduring the roadworks inspired traffic jam of epic proportions.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the museum - and in particular the Clark window. It truly is magnificent. So happy to hear how much you enjoyed your visit. We understand parking is a problem for some people, but are glad that your experience was so fantastic. Come see us again when you are in the area!

-The Wolfsonian-FIU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Oustanding Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We toured the museum with an excellent docent. The collections are spectacular with superb displays. The art deco and art nouveaux collections are wonderful. The museum is a real find.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the museum - especially the art deco and art nouveau objects. Also happy that you were able to tour the museum with our docent and had a great time. Come see us again when you are in the area!

-The Wolfsonian-FIU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A museum that makes you think”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Look, we are museum hounds...and this was a free for all eye opener. Dedicated to labor and what man makes, it is a decorative arts museum with a twist. Interesting objects, juxtaposed in interesting ways, and never boring. This time we as special exhibits on wiener werkstatte postcards, fabulous, and the other on expositions on labor...hard to describe but interesting. Go...it is a real change from art deco architecture and $25 drinks.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the museum - especially our special exhibitions. So happy to hear how much you enjoyed the change of pace... Come see us again when you are in the area!

-The Wolfsonian-FIU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“ok .. I didn't get any of it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

we went to visit this museum based on the review... well... I visited the place in less than 10 min and left running outside! It is contemporary, nothing special except if you want to see Leicester sign, a 1950 table chair... It looked like a collection from someone who loves the early century (20th) items.. but coming from Europe, I'm not getting excited by something that is less than 100 years old!! nothing special unless you are one of those people who loves early century collections :o)
Personally, it wasn't my thing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review and for visiting the museum. Indeed it is a unique collection -- and with a focus on the time period of 1885-1945, we most certainly love early 20th century objects! Changing exhibitions let us explore new ideas our collection can be interpreted and presented, but we're sorry you didn't enjoy your visit.

Thanks again for visiting,
-The Wolfsonian-FIU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wolfsonian - Florida International University also viewed

 

Been to The Wolfsonian - Florida International University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.