We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location with Friendly Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Aqua Hotel and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Beaufort, South Carolina
1 review
“Great Location with Friendly Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The staff was great always welcoming us with a smile. The hotel is in a great location but I have been in jails with nicer bathrooms then #224 at the Aqua. The staff was very friendly and responsive to our maintenance requests. Jessica at the front desk went above and beyond scanning and emailing documents for me in a very timely manner while helping other guests. Hopefully if we stay next year the owners will invest in new toilets, anything would be an upgrade from the pots we had to piss in.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    138
    102
    54
    86
See reviews for
110
140
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed at the Aqua hotel in South Beach over New Years Eve and feel it was the best value for the money and especially location. It's right in the center of everything on Collins Ave, within a few blocks of everything. We only stayed for one night but it was the perfect place and deal to stay somewhere in the midst of all the activity for the holiday. It was the cheapest deal we found compared to everything else in South Beach for that time of year and it was a great value. Nothing fancy, room was very simple but very spacious and clean so it was perfect. The 2nd floor also has a nice little 'patio' like area overlooking Collins Ave. The only "problem" we really had, and this mostly refers to the ladies is that there were pretty much no mirrors in the room. Only one face mirror in the bathroom and that's it. This was a challenge when getting ready to go out it was a little difficult, especially if there's more than one person and if you want to see what you look like. This would be the only suggestion we would make.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room and the only complaint was that there were no mirrors in the room. Onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaarina, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The location of the hotel is great at a reasonable price and a well working Wifi, but anything more is a nice surprise. We had two rooms, both extremely cold due to A/C that could not be adjusted. Both rooms were very worn, the showers in both hardly working.
We asked several times for an extra towel that we never received.
Breakfast ends officially at 9:30 but well before that they did not have e.g. croissants available anymore so we headed to the nearest bakery. Other than one person at the reception, the staff was negligent.
So if you are only after a great location at affordable price, this may still be an option for you.

Room Tip: You can move your bed(s) away from the strong A/C flow in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This hotel is really cheap compared to the hotels location, it got great wifi in the rooms, the staff where ok, some couldnt speak that good english (pretty odd?) but the location is just perfect, 2 minutes to the beach , 2 minutes to ocean drive. everything is nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent. It's right in the middle of everything and only 3 minutes on foot to the beach. The hotel is old but has an updated look and chic interior design to fit in with the whole South Beach vibe. The quality of bed, room and service are average at best. My bed was sagging in the center and the bathroom smelled like clorox. No parking space but a valet service is available. Text or call 15 min before to get your car back. You don't really know where they park your car so be sure to have every valuable with you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Yes, maybe the rooms at the Aqua are a bit less fashionably appointed as the ones promoted by the hotel. Nevertheless, they are spacious, comfortable and clean. I've stayed at several hotels in Miami Beach over almost two decades, and this is the only one I've repeated and will keep staying at. Way less noisy (and much less expensive) than those on Ocean Drive, the Aqua is still two blocks away from all the action. The pool is tiny and you probably won't use it, since the beach is literally 100 mt away from your room. The breakfast isn't lush at all, but it is enough, and still beats not having one. Probably the Aqua's best feature is its service. Everybody goes out of their way to provide guests with every comfort they can. Especially Mei-Lin (not sure how her name is spelled), who will help guests in every possible way. If you are looking for a comfortable experience in Miami Beach, can do without any luxuries, and are travelling on somewhat of a budget, I'd say look no further.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are quieter, especially those at the back of the property, with fewer gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed with a friend for about 5 days. Staff was friendly, caring and helped us with advises or directions when asked. Positive is that is really close to the beach.
We choosed the hotel after doing a research on the web and based on the pictures and the rates we decided to go there. Nothing we found was like the pictures (bathroom with absent tiles, lack of paint, poor cleaning service, breakfast place was small and hard to find a table at 7:30 am because it was full, coffee was really disgusting, room tv was 14`, etc.
Not sure we will come back, no matter the rates.

Room Tip: Close to the beach, low rates, building needs cleaning and some work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aqua Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel and Suites

Address: 1530 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Miami's hip South Beach, the Aqua Hotel is a refreshingly intimate and modern boutique hotel with access to the best Miami has to offer. Welcoming guests to the ultimate tropical escape, the Aqua's romantic surroundings, hip accommodations and first-class service promise to make your stay on South Beach memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and getaroom.com so you can book your Aqua Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.