We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD COSTUMER SERVICE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red South Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Red South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red South Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3010 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #80 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
1 review
“GOOD COSTUMER SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stay at the Red South Beach hotel, and it was fun. The Front Desk Staff was exceptional, we had few issues with the AC in our room, but when we spoke with the Front Desk Manager (Rafael) he took care right way. I think is new as a Manager there, but he seems like he has a lot experience in hospitality, he was on top the game, a mean this guy was calling to our room all the time to make suer we were happy. The property is beautiful, new renovation, o sure we will recommend this hotel to our friends in New York.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    362
    185
    71
    67
See reviews for
156
382
36
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

I traveled Miami for business last week and stayed at the Red Southbeach. The first thing you should know if you're considering staying at Red is that it's not a big resort-style hotel; rather, it's an updated 1950's era "classic" hotel. The rooms are small-ish and no-frills, but the bed was comfortable and the room generally fit my needs. As other people have reported, there are no coffeemakers in the room, which means that you'll have to go across the street to the neighboring hotel's gift shop for your caffine fix or wait for the hotel's restaurant to open (or get a bottled coffee drink to stick in the fridge so you have something to tide you over.) Otherwise, however, I was quite pleased by my stay - the staff was very friendly and attentive, the restaurant was high-quality and the food was excellent.

The hotel is about 15 blocks from the main "walking around area" of South Beach - this can be a nice stroll if you're in the mood, or you can take public transportation. If you've got a car, there is a municipal lot between the hotel and this area - parking is pretty limited in the area itself.

The beach is just a block away, but at the time I stayed at Red beach access was blocked by construction. Not a big deal, though, head two blocks down the road and use one of the other hotel's beach access. The water and the sand aren't far away at all!

There's a great little cafe down the road from Red that's a wonderful breakfast spot - the Tropical Beach Cafe. Great food and VERY affordable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedHotel, General Manager at Red South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
Dear T & H – Thank you for your kind words in regards to our staff, we are very happy that you had a pleasant stay. Your description of our hotel as “classic” was well put. The hotel was built in the Art Deco era and began accommodating guests in 1939. The hotel has changed personalities and names many times in it's 71 years of operation. Over the past year the hotel has undergone another personality change with many upgrades and we are happy to now be Red South Beach Hotel. We are grateful for your comments and suggestions, and we do listen. We have now installed coffee makers in every room. Thank you for suggestions – our guests also thank you as they enjoy a nice cup of coffee in their room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

We stayed five nights at Red South Beach.
The hotel is located right on Collins Avenue. the hotel is trendy, and confortable. with a wonderful restaurant with inside and outside poolside seating with great viewing.
the service was amazing, the staff was friendly all the time. We loved the free laptop use. The bartender was very attentive with our drinks. Can not wait to go back

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedHotel, General Manager at Red South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
Dear Siviagglare 23 – We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of our loaner laptops, and to enjoy some cocktails at the bar. Thank you for acknowledging our friendly staff and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

This is a funky little hotel but seriously lacking in customer service. Jerry the valet and Charlie at the front desk are great but the rest of the staff seemed very unfriendly. Plumbing in the room not good at all but we found the room to be clean. This hotel is a long walk from the happening area in south beach and will cost about $8 cab ride to get to good shopping and dining. The is a very nice beach nearby across the street. The hotel is overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

The place was ok. On the plus side: the bed was comfortable, there was a flat-screen television, there was free wifi, there was a fridge, microwave and iron in the room and the lobby was attractive and comfortable. On the negative side: the bathroom was small, not clean and the door interfered with using the vanity, the dark hallways, the slow elevator and the unheated pool and the location is not great. I would stay here again if I could get a room for less than $100/night.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

My partner and I stayed over the Christmas period. We decided to stay a little further away from Ocean Drive, which we've stayed several times before, to avoid the madness. This hotel ticked all the boxes. It is around a 20 minute walk or 5 Minute taxi ride from Ocean Drive, but is only one street off beach access; nice. It also has a pool, with plenty of privacy from the street. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and our room was clean and comfortable with a lovely view of Miami City. The elevators are a tad slow at times, but after staying in other deco buildings in Miami, this seems to be the common. I certainly never felt unsafe, or in danger riding in them, as some reviews have suggested.
After wandering around South Beach most of the day, we decided to have an easy night and eat at the hotel restaurant. We weren't disappointed. The menu is Italian and the food we had was definitely very tasty; I highly recommend the tiramisu!
Overall our stay was enjoyable, and the hotel pleasant. The complementary breakfast is a little basic, and there are a few more red lights in the hotel that would be off-putting for some, but the location is good, the place is clean, and is reasonably priced. I can honestly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Went there for four nights in January 2011 with my girlfriend.

Contrary to what i've read in some other reviews the rooms were fine and clean, although a bit small.
The lobby and pool area look exactly as kitschy as on the pictures but are overall quite nice. Staff was friendly although 20$/d for valet parking is a bit steep for my taste.
The beach is close and beautiful. Shops and restaurants are a bit sparse in the area, so expect at least a 15 min walk south along the gorgeous boardwalk before getting any nightlife or shopping.

So far so good, but the breakfast is another story. The two mini croissants and the dry baguette can hardly be called breakfast. Especially if they serve two people with only one tiny portion of butter and jam. Also the breakfast area felt very dirty, the plastic tablecloth was sticky. We encountered several dirty forks and chipped cups during our stay. We were actually shocked the first day.

All in all we only went to the breakfast twice and got us something else on the other days. The whole impression the hotel made on us would probably have been different if we hadn't booked it with the expectation of getting a nice breakfast (like atthe other two hotels we stayed in). Why include a breakfast if it will only disappoint.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red South Beach Hotel

Address: 3010 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#80 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red South Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only half a block from the white sands and clear blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean, the chic Red South Beach Hotel offers guests the perfect setting to escape, entertain and rejuvenate while discovering Miami, Florida. Conveniently situated at the gateway to South Beach, the newly renovated boutique hotel artfully blends baroque elements with contemporary finishes to evoke a sense of stylish beauty and sophistication. Guests can spend the day basking in the warm Miami Beach weather at the outdoor swimming pool while enjoying delicious food and beverages from Barok, the on-site bar and restaurant. Guests can also take advantage of the hotel's beach chairs and towels, daily happy hour, high speed Wi-Fi, loanable laptops, fitness room and concierge services. Offering three room types to suit traveler needs, the Red South Beach Hotel features welcoming personal service, a contemporary ambiance, brand-new furniture, comfortable pillow-top mattresses and eco-friendly toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Red South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habana Libre Beach Hotel
Habana Libre Beach Miami
Habana Libre Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.