We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red South Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Red South Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3010 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here as part of a fly-drive around Florida. Got the deal on Last minute as a secret hotel. Read some pretty damning reviews before we arrived but quite frankly they are well off-the-mark in my opinion.

Location - so you are 2 mins walk from the beach. Hotel supplies towels and fold-up seats to take- you can rent a parasol for $12 a day from the group with the orange deckchairs located just north of the jib. Be warned - the lady less than 5 metres away from us had her bag stolen whilst we were there - so they are some accomplished covert vagabonds in operation- just leave your valuables in the complimentary room safe! It will take you about 25 mins to walk to the main area of South Beach/Ocean Drive- which we enjoyed as it is away from the all the noise and lets you walk off the numerous cocktails you will most likely consume. We parked on the street 2 blocks away- $1/hr- 8am to 6pm, just need to top up in the morning.

Rooms very nice and red- kind of cool! There was noise in the corridors on one night when some fellow residents were trying to wake their sleeping friend, who presumably had the only room key, but you need to remember this is Miami Beach and not a health spa. All resolved quickly anyway.

There is some construction work going on over the road- but it's far enough away to not be an issue- there lots going on all the place actually.

Staff very friendly.

Pleasantly surprised and recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedHotel, Front Office Manager at Red South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Fantastic!! We appreciate you taking your time to provide with your feedback. Although there are things that are out of our control such as the construction, we take all opportunities to turn negative experiences around. We are centrally locating from the heart of SoBe. I agree that with your travel tip about using safe for values. Our rooms are spacious with fun surprising details. Thank you for acknowledging our team members. They strive to provide our guest with personalize service. We value your business and are delighted that you were pleasantly surprise. We hope that next time your travels bring you to South Beach you choose Red as your home away from home. If I may of assistance on your future stay please contact me: Miriam@redsouthbeach.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    404
    204
    75
    73
See reviews for
171
418
42
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Red hotel was gorgeous. Beds were comfortable. Charlie at the front desk couldn't be more helpful and Jose at the door I swear never sleeps. Didn't LOVE the neighborhood but it was handy- small cafe, liquor store, souveneir shop, market within a block or so walk, across the street from a lovely part of the beach. There was alot of construction during our stay but it wasn't so bad that it ruined anything. Cab ride to Lincoln Road and true south beach was less than $10.

Room Tip: Cabana Rooms LOOK nice but I wouldn't bother....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedHotel, Front Office Manager at Red South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. We welcome your kind words about Charlie and Jose! We are in and up and coming area of South Beach. We are glad that the construction did not impact your vacation negatively. We have close convenient shops such as the market, café and souvenir. We hope to welcome you back to Red soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn ny
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night at this property, clean and bright ( red). One block from south beach would stay again for a short stay. There is no parking at this property so beware ( metered street parking available).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedHotel, Front Office Manager at Red South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed our pristine and fun accommodations. We hope that you choose Red South Beach for short or long stays. We are currently looking for a solution on the parking for our guests. We hope to have this resolve soon. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We loved this hotel. We went down to attend a wedding across the street. The Red was very vibrant and fun in decor. The outside lounge area and pool were very clean and comfortable. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful, even while the out up with my wife and screwing up our room keys about 4 times in 4 hours(long but funny story). Our room was beautiful and always clean, the room was small but we were there for the wedding and the beach and really only needed enough room to sleep and shower.( i prefer this over wasting money on wasted space we don't need). The location great right across the street to the beach and boardwalk and just a block or 2 from a little grocery store with the best lunch counter(great food large portions and cheap) We will be back the next time we go to south beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedHotel, Front Office Manager at Red South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel amenities. Our outside lounge area and pool are a place of escape. We will communicate your acknowledgement to our team members. We offer pristine rooms for your to relax and enjoy. Our location to ideal for exploring and discovering the Magic City! We hope to see back soon at Red South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel was beautiful when we got there we were upgraded to a suite,because the rooms were full,we didn't complain:) the staff was very nice and hotel very clean,also food was good we had breakfast and it was tasty.parking is a bit of a prob,but once you do find parking the trick is to pay it up for the day and it goes to the next morn around 8 am (note they reaiiy didn't check the meters) close to the beach,the hotel will give you a big beach towel and chairs upon request. we were there for the music fest, so we took car service to 8 st only cost 10 dollars that included tip.watch some of the cabbies like to take there time and go around the mulberry bush,its a straight run down collins to most happening spots. leave your car parked for parking where all the action is, is a pain.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have stayed at the Red South Beach htel each year for a total of 4 years. One summer i stayed twice.. Recently i booked a trip through the website and paid n full. When i arrived, i was checked in by Marianna ( a hispanic lady with braces) who appeared to be irritated. I assumed the irritation was work related and did not take it personally. Marianna stated that there was an 89. fee upon check in. I was familiar with the 50. deposit which is returned upon check out but questions the 89. Marianna had an attitude rushed me and began to get smart with me. I asked for Charlie (a friendly woman) who is always there. Charlie was initially friendly but when i asked to have our room changed, she became irritated. The second room had a huge dead roach in the center of the room, the toilet was nasty and had rings of dirt inside, there was a dead bug on our window and house keeping didnt come on our second day until our second call to the front desk...Ive always had a great experience at this location but to pay 600 for 3 nights and to be treated like i was being done a favor by the staff, made me unahppy. Needless to say, i won't be coming back... I hoped this helped autumnllee@gmail.com

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My friend and I stayed here in April for a girl's weekend.

Location:
We wanted to be in SOBE so we could go to the beach, go out to clubs and walk around. The beach was across the street, we were very close to Fontainebleau/clubs, and we walked the 5 miles to Nikki Beach. The 5 mile walk was beautiful on the beach, and the taxi cab ride back was cheap.

Staff:
The hotel staff was super friendly, and was always willing to help us when we had questions.

Rooms:
Our room was a corner room, so I think it was slightly larger than the average room, but it still closely resembled the room in the 360 view on their website. The walls are relatively thin- we got a call from the front desk asking us to turn down our television at night. The bed was really comfortable and the room was clean. We could have used more lighting in the room, but not a big deal.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red South Beach Hotel

Address: 3010 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red South Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only half a block from the white sands and clear blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean, the chic Red South Beach Hotel offers guests the perfect setting to escape, entertain and rejuvenate while discovering Miami, Florida. Conveniently situated at the gateway to South Beach, the newly renovated boutique hotel artfully blends baroque elements with contemporary finishes to evoke a sense of stylish beauty and sophistication. Guests can spend the day basking in the warm Miami Beach weather at the outdoor swimming pool while enjoying delicious food and beverages from Barok, the on-site bar and restaurant. Guests can also take advantage of the hotel's beach chairs and towels, daily happy hour, high speed Wi-Fi, loanable laptops, fitness room and concierge services. Offering three room types to suit traveler needs, the Red South Beach Hotel features welcoming personal service, a contemporary ambiance, brand-new furniture, comfortable pillow-top mattresses and eco-friendly toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habana Libre Beach Hotel
Habana Libre Beach Miami
Habana Libre Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.