We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe you people are the problem and not the hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red South Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Red South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red South Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3010 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #77 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
CT
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Maybe you people are the problem and not the hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a wedding and I was very pleased with my decision. I arrived at the hotel early and was welcomed by a professional staff. Charlie was fantastic and should be reconized by her boss. I understand that some of the rooms are a little outdated, but not my room :). The building is being upgraded. What do you expect complainers? The price was affordable and I can't wait to go back next year for my honeymoon. Thanks for the bottle Charlie. Alonzo & Fabiana R. GREAT JOB RED SOUTH BEACH HOTEL!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedHotel, Front Office Manager at Red South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Phenomenal! Charlie is a rock star, thank you for recognizing her. The Red South Beach lifestyle enhances and not defines. We take pride in providing our guest with a boutique hotel experience. We are currently adding modern touches to the room fixtures. We truly value your business and feedback. We are looking forward to your return. If I may be of assistance on our future stay, please contact me at: Miriam@redsouthbeach.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    362
    186
    71
    70
See reviews for
147
371
34
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Wow..don't let the photos fool you. Run down and shows it's age! Ant infestation problem for sure! Decor is neat but many upgrades needed. Our room stayed about 80-82 degrees all night long. A/C couldn't keep up. I called the desk at midnight to ask why I couldn't put the air setting below 72 and he stated it is preset....no going below that. Uncomfortable nights sleep to say the least! The elevator was very sketchy and very slow. Two things I will say...is that the in house restaurant was fabulous! Very good food and the only reason I'm giving it an average rating. Also, Charlie (female) at the front desk was super friendly and helped us with tour info. She gets 5 stars!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Went to south beach for a girls weekend. Stayed at Red South Beach Hotel. Right next to the beach, rooms very clean, staff VERY FRIENDLY! Cant complain had such a great time. The bathroom shower head has changing colors when you move the temperature. Alarm clock changes colors. Friendly tip, when you find a parking spot do NOT move out of it. Very hard to find any parking. But its south beach. Had a great time RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL VERY HIGHLY!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedHotel, Front Office Manager at Red South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Fantastic! We are delighted to have been a part of your girls’ weekend. We are conveniently located for you to enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Our team is here to create a unique experience for you to escape and rejuvenate in. Our boutique hotel has fun and festive surprise details. Parking is always an issue in such a metropolitan city like Miami. We love feedback and feedback like yours is invaluable! We hope to have you back to Red South Beach soon and continue making memories together. If I may of assistance on your future stay, please do not hesitate to contact me at: Miriam@redsouthbeach.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel from 04-8-13 until 04-13-13 was a good deal for the price and close to the beach, cheap food ,supermarket, Gift shop store, subway.

1-At the entrance a employee help us with our bags never introduce I was scared he was a thief.
2- Receptionist was nice and helpful they hold my bags until check in time.
3- not always employee in the reception a few time was alone early like around 7pm.
4-I mention its my Bday and next day my hubbys hoping getting at least a free drink nahhhhhh.
5- Not welcome drink.
6-The room its small but we knew this, was in front on the construction very loud but I'm used to very loud places its wasn't bad for us, the bed very noise embarrassing noisy, the offered us another Rm my husband refused, Rm 421
7- pool very cold empty due to this fact, dirty and not service at all. not music
8- Employee not that friendly wasn't affect me.
9-Elevator clean new and fast
10-bathroom well packed and clean.
11- Towel some of them old.
12 beach chair its park chair. Rentals available in the beach.
13-Bartender moody and watery drinks.
14-wifi ok free drink vodka and juice.
15-didnt use the rest. .Was always empty (check my other review to tips where to eat)
16- Away from the action its ok for us we like to sleep and avoid crowds in late night time.
I do recommend this hotel for budge travelers and short stay only..

Room Tip: room in front of the hotel face the construction and are very loud, AC only go down to 71 degrees, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Red for a wedding, which was across the street at the much pricier Palm. The Red is an older hotel, which shows, but was still very comfortable. The petite queen room was smaller than expected, but clean. The decore throughout the hotel is very cool, all reds and whites. The front desk staff were exceedingly friendly, although the service in the restaurant, Barok, was slow and inattentive. All in all, a nice place to stay, and a good value in South Beach.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedHotel, Front Office Manager at Red South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for providing us with the review of your stay. We appreciate your patronage especially having so many choices. We are an Art Deco building with boutique accommodations and plenty of charm. We are delighted that you enjoy the contemporary design of the hotel. We value you recognizing our front desk team. They enjoy what they do and it shows. We will communicate to our restaurant team to improve on service. We hope to see you back soon at Red South Beach. If I may be of assistance on your future stay contact me: Miriam@redsouthbeach.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I got this hotel through Priceline. In the past it has always worked out for us. This time did not!!! I can't believe this hole in the wall is listed under 3 stars. I would give it a 1/2 at best. It was dirty, cheap, unsafe, and the walls are paper thin. We wanted a place on the beach to rest up after a cruise and my husband had some business in the area. The 1st room they gave us was out in the stairwell (creepy) and the toilet was broken. Moved us to another room...we think the door was unlocked and someone had been using the room for the shower. Bathroom window was wide open, soap and shampoo in the shower was used, and there was a hair band on the floor. They said they had no other place to put us but in the first room after the toilet was fixed. The person in the adjoining room tried to get into our room 2 times and then had their TV on all night. I got priceline on the phone and the staff lied to them saying they have a parking lot 2 blocks away and just didn't understand why we were not happy. Our Credit Card company said we could leave and they would fight it for us but it was after 10pm and we couldn't find another place. We did get a refund from priceline on the other two nights. The manager was so rude and wouldn't budge on giving us any money back for the nightmare night that we did stay. I asked her for at least a bottle of water and she wouldn't even give us that. DO NOT STAY HERE, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!! Shame on Priceline for giving this place their business. Oh and the A/C only goes down to 71. So it was hot on top of it all!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedHotel, Front Office Manager at Red South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We regret that hear about the series of hiccups you experience. Your feedback is a vital resource for our team. I would like to set up a time to discuss this matter with you. Please contact me at your earliest convenience Miriam@redsouthbeach.com. I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed two days at the Red South Beach Hotel. It was terrible. The whole hotel was dirty with plenty of cockroaches crawling in the dining area and the bathroom. On top of that, the staff was rude; they had an attitude and didn't service their guests at all. There's no parking and the bathroom was really small. So my advice : don't stay here. There are plenty of better hotels in the same price range.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedHotel, Front Office Manager at Red South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I regret that you did not enjoy your stay at Red South Beach. Our goal is for every guest to stay in a pristine room, enjoy relaxing accommodations, and receive personal service. I would like to discuss your stay in detail, please contact me at: Miriam@redsoutbeach.com . I look forward to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red South Beach Hotel

Address: 3010 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#77 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red South Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only half a block from the white sands and clear blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean, the chic Red South Beach Hotel offers guests the perfect setting to escape, entertain and rejuvenate while discovering Miami, Florida. Conveniently situated at the gateway to South Beach, the newly renovated boutique hotel artfully blends baroque elements with contemporary finishes to evoke a sense of stylish beauty and sophistication. Guests can spend the day basking in the warm Miami Beach weather at the outdoor swimming pool while enjoying delicious food and beverages from Barok, the on-site bar and restaurant. Guests can also take advantage of the hotel's beach chairs and towels, daily happy hour, high speed Wi-Fi, loanable laptops, fitness room and concierge services. Offering three room types to suit traveler needs, the Red South Beach Hotel features welcoming personal service, a contemporary ambiance, brand-new furniture, comfortable pillow-top mattresses and eco-friendly toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Red South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habana Libre Beach Hotel
Habana Libre Beach Miami
Habana Libre Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.