We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Boutique Mall with great service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red South Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Red South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com HotelTravel.com
and 9 more sites!
Red South Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3010 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Formerly Habana Libre Beach Resort) (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unique Boutique Mall with great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We arrived January 31st. We were greeted by the welcome team. They took our bags for us and waited patiently while we got checked in. The attendants at the front desk were informative and helpful. When booking the hotel we knew the room would be small, so we weren't surprised by the size. We had a king standard room with a kitchenette and bathroom. The bathroom was tiny but we didn't mind because we weren't going to be in there for long periods of time. We had a bit of an ocean view which was nice. There is a hotel being built right across the street, so there was lots of noise. They weren't working around the clock, so it didn't really bother me. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. This is always important to me. :) The boardwalk and ocean is one block away. It is beautiful!! I had a nice run on the boardwalk and felt safe. The hotel is not right in the middle of all the action but within walking distance. I preferred to stay outside of the nightlife so it'd be more peaceful. My husband and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedHotel, Front Office Manager at Red South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review. On behalf our entire team at Red South Beach we thank you for recognizing the work they do. Although there are things that we cannot control such as the nearby construction we do our best to extend great service with smiling faces to our guests.
We hope to see you back soon at Red South Beach. If you need any help on your next trip to Miami contact me: Miriam@redsouthbeach.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    328
    174
    67
    67
See reviews for
132
342
29
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Lovely boutique. Nicely appointed room beautifully furnished. Breakfast included. Free Wi-Fi. Helpful and very friendly staff. Cozy bar with inside and outside seating. A block from the beach. Sunshine. All good. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Was less that please with room and cheap feel it gave for the price for the night, lobby and pool area give great impression of property. Rooms are less than what thought, dobut would stay here again unless they fix the cheap feel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a nice, clean and comfortable hotel for the money. It is a little off the beaten path from all the hotels and bars, but still walkable and the service is very good. It's also a bit quieter than the hotels in the heart of SB.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedHotel, Front Office Manager at Red South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your kind about our staff. We are a prime location to the beach and short walk from the hustle and bustle. We look forward to your return in the near future. If I may be of assistance for your future stay do not hesitate to contact me: Miriam@redsouthbeach.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewitt, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I've seen some outstanding reviews and I can't believe I was at the same hotel. It was so noisy in the pool and outdoor restaurant I couldn't hear myself talk. The street and construction noise are deafening. We had a pool side room and the black out shade did keep out the noise. I had to call the front desk three times to find out how to work the stopper in the sink. The beds were small and lumpy. The room was old and run down. There was a large closet that was nice for changing with a refrigerator and a safe. The television was a very old 25 inch. The location to the beach was good for me because I prefer being away from the populated beach areas. The food and service in the restaurant were very good but I wouldn't recommend eating outside. My teenagers hated it. I definitely would not stay here or recommend it. It's just not for me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedHotel, Front Office Manager at Red South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We appreciate your comments on your recent stay. We apologize for the hiccups you experience during your stay. Our entire Red South Beach team strives to provide a warm, relax and welcoming atmosphere for our guests. It is unfortunate that this was not the experience you had.
Although there are things that are out of control, we are always happy to find solutions for our guests. We will coach our front desk team to ensure that guest issues are resolve quickly and thoroughly. Thank you for the feedback on the condition of the room we will definitely take this into account to streamline our maintenance program. I agree our restaurant Barok does offer a scrumptious menu.
We would appreciate the opportunity to extend a memorable stay in the future. If I may be of assistance please do not hesitate to contact me: Miriam@redsouthbeach.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

i had intended to stay elsewhere but the hotel ended up being closed for renovations and my travel agent suggested red as it had a few of my key requirements - parking and breakfast. both which were sub bar. the breakfast was a croissant, the parking expensive (valet) and any time you needed your car you needed to give them at least an hour notice, upon which they will still not have it in time for you. the location isnt too bad, a nice walk to ocean drive, but i like a walk. i would recommend the location if you didnt want to be right in the middle of the party scene. the pluses for us were the lobby decor and the rooms were nice but that is about it. and the biggest downfalls were the smell throughout the hotel - it stank and the slowness/incapable lifts - we had to use the fire escape to get to our tour bus!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedHotel, Front Office Manager at Red South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent stay. Our restaurant Barok offers a lovely continental breakfast which included pastry basket: baggett , Danish , muffin, croissant, jams and your choice of hot. You also have the option of selecting of the menu for a 50% discount. Our valet parking cost is comparable to the hotels in the area. We have recently secured a closer parking area. We have cut the wait time drastically to 7-10 minutes. We have also completed a modernization of our elevator on December 22, 2012. We are delighted that you enjoyed the proximity to the beach and our room accommodations. We would love for you to return to Red South Beach and enjoy these new amenities. If you need any assistance on a future stay please feel free to contact me personally: Miriam@redsouthbeach.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I was happily surprised by the cool and trendy atmosphere at this hotel. I went during the Christmas holidays and I could not believe how comfortable I felt. It seemed like it was a friend's house and I felt welcome from the moment I set foot in. I also enjoyed the restaurant downstairs which could easily compete with high-end restaurants.
Thank you RED!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedHotel, Front Office Manager at Red South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your feedback about your recent stay. We are thrilled that you were happily surprised and enjoyed your stay. We are happy that you were able to sample the tasty treats from Barok. We hope to see you in the near future, please feel to contact me personally for any help on your future stay:Miriam@redsouthbeach.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red South Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Habana Libre Beach Hotel
Habana Libre Beach Miami
Habana Libre Beach Resort
Address: 3010 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Formerly Habana Libre Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red South Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across from the beach, Red South Beach is perfectly located only steps from the fine dining and nightlife of South Beach, convenient from Miami International Airport and the Port of Miami. After a renovation, the Red South Beach now boasts freshly refurbished guest rooms featuring crisp white linens, oversized pillows, and Natura Green amenities. Stay productive with complimentary wireless internet, even by the pool. Forgot your laptop, no worries, we'll loan you one. Stay a night, a week or longer. This is your new home away from home in Miami Beach. Your four legged friends are welcome too. The perfect break from the ordinary, Red South Beach is the perfect backdrop for making memories in South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Red South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.