We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could've been better...could've been worse...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red South Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Red South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Red South Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3010 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Could've been better...could've been worse...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

You truly get what you pay for so for that reason and the reviews I read prior to staying here, I knew what to expect.

The good: The service is the best part of this hotel. This begins with the doormen/bellhops to the front desk attendant, Charlie, who was very polite and helpful - she makes it worth it. The beach is (almost) literally across the street - you couldn't get any closer if you tried. The actual location of the hotel isn't too bad either if you want to be further from South Beach's strip - it's just a cab ride away.

The bad: The lobby smells like mildew. Out of the only two elevators there, only one works and it is slow. The hallways have a cheap motel look and I'm leery of any place with really dim lighting as I'm wondering what they are attempting to hide. The bathroom had no ventilation system so taking a hot shower involved leaving the non-screened window open to receive air.

The ugly: We had a suite which included a mini kitchen. Upon inspection of the counter tops, there were tiny bugs everywhere! It was quite disgusting. Also on our first night while getting ready to head out a HUGE roach crawled in through the door crevice. This reminded me why I'm not a fan of dark lights.

Although we didn't see anymore roaches, I'm sure they were there. I don't know that I would stay here again but if good service is what you like, you'll appreciate what they offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    384
    197
    75
    72
See reviews for
164
408
41
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My fiance and I chose to have a private wedding ceremony on the beach in Miami. After looking online for a reasonably priced hotel we decided on The Red Hotel. I must share that we booked a petite queen room. Of course we would have loved a bigger room but for financial reasons we did not book one. Once we arrived at the hotel I was generally speaking to the front desk clerk and sharing with her that we were from Memphis,TN and there for our wedding. Another employee (Charlie, who is the best!!!) overheard and generously upgraded our room to a beautiful suite!!! We were and still are more than greatful!!! The entire staff helped in numerous ways to make our wedding truly special and memorable. The restuarant had great food, the entire staff is extremely friendly, and the location is great! My new husband and I got way more than we ever expected!! We cant wait to visit Miami again and will without a doubt be staying at THE RED HOTEL!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel was really beautifully designed,nice pool, lobby & restaurant the front desk staff was nice but I was disappointed in other aspects of the hotel.

The only elevator they have has two doors. One side where you enter and the other side that opens for your floor. That same door opens on the main floor to an area for staff and equipment or something. It's was really awkward and sometimes you had to wait of the staff to get on from the other side. Being the only elevator it was really,really slow all day with people getting on and off and small.

The room wasn't bad except some little ants I kept seeing and I didn't know it was smoking non-smoking so it smelled like smoke the whole time which kind of sucked because it was a pretty room. I had to keep the window to my room open at night although that was my fault for not asking but there was nothing on the website that gave the option. Some of the staff were a little unprofessional goofing around while guest are around.

The bathroom to my room's sink was built flush up against the wall but the draw wouldn't pull out enough to put stuff in because the door frame blocked it which was disappointing because I needed places in the bathroom to put things. There was a drip in the tube and the knob was difficult to pull out to start the shower.

The safe was up high in the closet which for someone 5'1 like myself made it hard to reach without a chair and there weren't any in my room. I used the luggage stand to balance on. Other then that I would like to come back it's by the beach & rental bikes to ride down to the shopping around.

Room Tip: Ask for smoking or none smoking Pool view rooms can be noisy when windows open because of traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I travel on a regular basis and most of my experiences are good but I couldn't wait to check out of this hotel, after a 6 night stay. The service is just ok nothing to rave about. Pool side service was terrible, the waiters never asked if we wanted to order anything, we had to track them down so that they could our orders. The food in the restaurant was really good. The rooms where clean with comfortable beds and pillows, I did sleep nicely every night. But we couldn't control the temp. in our room they had to switch on and off the blower in some other room when our room got cold. The pool was nice especially with two kids in tow. Water was clean and not freezing. Now for the bad experience and their utter disregard to make good. 7 of us along with my Wife and two kids got stuck in the elevator. We remained calm but my son started to get nervous after about 10 minutes so we needed to get out. Finally after about 20 mintues the doors opened but we noticed that the elevator hadn't been inspected since March of 2011. The certificate was covered with day's weather information. When I returned to the room I called the front desk to speak to manager but of course he was gone and the front desk almost said it was our fault because we had 7 people in the elevator when there was a 5 person limit. They later slipped a note under our door with coupons for complientary breakfast but after we ate it was only 50% off not complimentary. Manager was suppose to call me but never did. Location is good for families but if you want to hang out around Ocean drive or Lincoln Road it's a long way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSouthBeachHotel, Public Relations Manager at Red South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Jesco74,

I am sorry to hear that you and your family were stuck in the elevator. We do our best to post the load limits for our guests. We have a sign both inside and outside the small elevator to inform guests that there is a 5 person limit. Unfortunately some of our guests choose to disregard posted warning notices. As I read your review is seems there were 7 people plus you and your family. The elevator was down for 7min 45 seconds according to the elevator memory log. Having said that I am happy to announce that this past week we began a complete modernization of the elevators. We have begun with the small elevator and once complete we will begin on the large elevator. We are very excited that we will soon have new elevators to serve our guests. I am also sorry for your misunderstanding of the breakfast. The breakfast vouchers are for a free continental or simple cooked breakfast or you can choose to order a la cart and receive 50% off your bill. I am upset to hear that you had some negative experiences, we never like our guests to leave unhappy and I am sorry that we weren’t able to give you a fantastic experience. Hopefully if you return you can ride the new elevators all day long without any problems. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We arrived very late but were offered supper by the pool with a logia chair for my granddaughter to sleep on whilst we ate the most delicious meal. Rooms etc quirky small but very clean and convenient.staff very helpful

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Rooms look great on website but were the size of a matchbox. The walls were paper thin. It really wasn't my money worth.
These rooms were a waste of money.
Not to mention I paid for the first night with my card to hold the room. When I got there they tried to charge me again. So because if their mishap. I didn't trust to use my card, so we decided to pay with cash for the remaining of the stay. At checkout they tried to charge me for another night. I was beyond pissed with this hotel. I will not recommend anyone to stay here. It's not worth it!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I checked in on Saturday, September 8, 2012, fresh off a 7-day cruise. We were quite a bit early to check in, but they gladly stored our luggage and suggested a few places we might like to see. Upon arriving back after lunch, our room was ready. Nury Gomez at the front desk, took care of our paperwork, provided us with additional brochures and hotel information along with our keys and off we went to our room. The luggage was promptly brought to our room by the bellman and we attempted to get setttled down in our room but unfortunately, there was a problem with our A/C unit. Just as soon as we reported this to the front desk, the always pleasant and upbeat Concierge Charlie, showed us to another room. And this was a great upgrade! Not only was the room more spacious, it came with a king-size bed, a kitchenette, and a pool-side view! As the Hotel's name is Red South Beach, the rooms are furnished in red and white furniture and linens. Some travellers mentioned problems with the elevator but there is a sign on the elevator which states no more than 5 people are allowed. If you follow these instructions you won't have a problem. Nonetheless, there are 2 elevators for your use. The room was clean and comfortable and the bathrooms were cleaned as well. The staff were welcoming and polite and the bellmen Jose', Ceasar, and Andrew, just to name a few, were always willing to assist you with anything. The hotel is only a bus ride away from Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive but you can walk it just as easy. The beach is a block away and the hotel provides a beach towel and chair for your use. You are also provided a complimentary drink during happy hour every night. We didn't have an opportunity to use the hotel's restaurant as we were out most of the day. However, just out the door of the hotel and to the right a couple of blocks, there is a liquor store, a subway restaurant, an outstanding Cuban restaurant Tropical Beach Cafe (where we ate just about every meal), a small grocery store, and a souvenir shop. Our after-cruise vacation to South Beach turned out to be just what we needed to come down off of cruise-mode before flying back home. We will definitely visit again. Thanks again to everyone who made our visit to South Beach memorable!

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the front of the building for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red South Beach Hotel

Address: 3010 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red South Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only half a block from the white sands and clear blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean, the chic Red South Beach Hotel offers guests the perfect setting to escape, entertain and rejuvenate while discovering Miami, Florida. Conveniently situated at the gateway to South Beach, the newly renovated boutique hotel artfully blends baroque elements with contemporary finishes to evoke a sense of stylish beauty and sophistication. Guests can spend the day basking in the warm Miami Beach weather at the outdoor swimming pool while enjoying delicious food and beverages from Barok, the on-site bar and restaurant. Guests can also take advantage of the hotel's beach chairs and towels, daily happy hour, high speed Wi-Fi, loanable laptops, fitness room and concierge services. Offering three room types to suit traveler needs, the Red South Beach Hotel features welcoming personal service, a contemporary ambiance, brand-new furniture, comfortable pillow-top mattresses and eco-friendly toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Red South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habana Libre Beach Hotel
Habana Libre Beach Miami
Habana Libre Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.