We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable hotel, with a funky "red" theme” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red South Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Red South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Red South Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3010 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, comfortable hotel, with a funky "red" theme”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

The Red South Beach Hotel is located a block from the beach in a relatively quiet part of Miami Beach. The hotel staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful, quick to offer suggestions on places to eat and directions to nearby points of interest. The rooms are small, but the beds are comfortable and nicely appointed. There's very little table space, and very little room to put your own toiletries in the bathroom. Also, there's very few places to hang clothes and towels to dry. The hotel offers valet parking for $26/day (?), but we found nearby street parking for under $10 a day. The hotel is only a 25-minute drive to the airport. Another nice touch - any guest may borrow portable beach chairs (red of course). Also, guests are offered a complimentary drink at the happy hour from 5 to 7 each evening!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel tend to get a lot of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    401
    202
    75
    73
See reviews for
168
413
42
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I booked a double room for my sister and me during this years Art Basel in Miami. Although this little boutique hotel is a five minute cab ride from the hot spots of South Beach, I think it's ideal. Here's why. The Palms Hotel and Spa is directly across the street from the Red South Beach, and if you book a spa treatment you can use the spa, beach, pool and restaurant all day. It's a gorgeous beach. The Hotel is fantastic and way out of my budget, but our little place across the street The Red South Beach was terrific. The Red's pool is tiny, and the bar is small but lovely. We had a late night snack and some cocktails every night by the pool. The staff could not be nicer, more friendly or more professional. Everyone was very responsive and helpful, always with a smile.
The double room was large enough for two beds, a small table with chairs and a kitchenette. The decor is fun with red accents, large graphic reproductions of parts of classic paintings (our room had huge details from Vermeer paintings over each bed). The effect of the decor is young and chic.
The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom had a nice large shower and plenty of fluffy towels. Speaking of towels, the front desk offered us large towels to take with us to the beach. That Beach! It's gorgeous. There's a boardwalk that runs for a couple of miles along the beach. It's a nice walk.
There is never any trouble getting a taxi outside of the hotel. The door guys are happy to flag one down and are they are there at all hours to greet you and give you a hand.
One problem I had was with the WIFI connection. It kept cutting out and made Skyping or sending email spotty and unpredictable. I would check on this if you need to be in contact via WIFI.
I think the hotel is not in a hip enough spot for partying for those in their early 20's. I don't think it's a good place for kids. I think it's a lively but not noisy, cute, chic, modern boutique hotel, with an excellent staff, in a quiet neighborhood, close to the hot spots, but not next door to them, and across the street from a wonderful fancy hotel and spa...and a gorgeous beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

The staff were very friendly. Rooms are clean and it was very close to the beach and the shops and not too far from Ocean drive. The only little problem we had was that the Air conditioner went off occasionally, but the maintenance was very quick to come in and fix it. I honestly think that the friendly staff made a big difference in making our stay so pleasant!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Definitley would stay at this location again. Rooms and bedding were all very clean. Staff was amazingly helpfull. This was my first trip to south beach and Charlie, the concierge, was extremly knowledgable. She was able to give descriptive details about clubs, dinning, local attractions, and went out of her way to accomidate us. The rest of the hotel staff was very polite and helpfull as well. The location is great for getting to the beach, half block walk, but it is def. on the north end of south beach. Cabs are easily accessible and are not expensive, about 5 dollar cab ride into the main shopping areas of south beach. In my opinon, their resturant was not impressive, although my wife loved the breakfast croisant. Other's have complained about the ac always being on, this was an issue we also had but we asked for the staff to turn it off and they immediately responded by turning the breaker off. We kept the window cracked and the room temperature was very comfortable. Unfortunately there are no stairs in this hotel. While we visited, the second elevator was being serviced for maintenance, so we were left using a single elevator which was very slow. Hotel's pool area was comfortable, quiet, and well kept. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herenow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Noting a complaint about "not being on South Beach", well, Red IS on the northern edge, but it's still South Beach and we were glad that it wasn't actually right in what we call the South Beach mosh pit. ...way too busy down there to get a decent nights sleep and you can walk it or grab a quick cab if you want the total "scene".

We were happily greeted, our room was very cool, bed very comfortable, and a good value given the local rates. The dude below who blabbed off below about it being better to get a major hotel might want to take a look at the lousy ratings many of the "4 and 5 star" hotels get for big money so readers get the real lay of the local land. Red is a mini oasis by comparison.

Oh... Hey Trip Advisors... How come there isn't a "No" box for reviews I DON'T find useful??

Get with it. Fairness isn't your own best trait.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Pros:- Quite an attractive appearance overall. Staff young and enthusiastically friendly and helpful. Continental breakfasts and one dinner satisfactory. Generally clean rooms and public places.

Cons:- Have to agree with Phil M about the A/C. It did not switch off and was annoying. We may also have had the same young waitress as communication was difficult - we had to ask several times for the things we wanted (i.e. orange juice without ice. They served tepid ready-made tea and we were told that it would cost extra to have tea bags + hot water!) We eventually got round this by buying our own tea bags and just asking for hot water. We found that the traffic noise was very loud, Collins Avenue being a main road close to the sea. The hotel was not near South Beach as implied, but we found the buses useful and quick. Unfortunately the hotel across the road was being reconstructed, which meant a lot of noisy building work going on during the day.

However, our biggest complaint was being charged $11 per room per day plus taxes,for various amenities such as free Happy Hour cocktails, towel plus chair for the beach, WiFi and internet access, none of which we particularly wanted. This was not pointed out to us when we checked in but we realised that we had signed up for this after disputing it with reception. My husband signed the form at check-in which he thought had just normal conditions such as no smoking in rooms and public areas. At the end of our stay, having realised we could do nothing about this, my husband had one free cocktail. We went to the beach on our last day, again expecting beach facilities, only to be told by one of the attendants that we should have brought a beach chair and towel from the hotel to the beach!!

One further minor complaint - the door key cards had red arrows on them, which were almost unreadable in the brothel-like lighting in the hallways!

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here on our honeymoon, and were surprised to receive such good and friendly service. We loved the red and white decoration (except the red-light corridor, that would be the only thing didn't like of the hotel)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red South Beach Hotel

Address: 3010 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red South Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only half a block from the white sands and clear blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean, the chic Red South Beach Hotel offers guests the perfect setting to escape, entertain and rejuvenate while discovering Miami, Florida. Conveniently situated at the gateway to South Beach, the newly renovated boutique hotel artfully blends baroque elements with contemporary finishes to evoke a sense of stylish beauty and sophistication. Guests can spend the day basking in the warm Miami Beach weather at the outdoor swimming pool while enjoying delicious food and beverages from Barok, the on-site bar and restaurant. Guests can also take advantage of the hotel's beach chairs and towels, daily happy hour, high speed Wi-Fi, loanable laptops, fitness room and concierge services. Offering three room types to suit traveler needs, the Red South Beach Hotel features welcoming personal service, a contemporary ambiance, brand-new furniture, comfortable pillow-top mattresses and eco-friendly toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habana Libre Beach Hotel
Habana Libre Beach Miami
Habana Libre Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.