We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found a great deal, otherwise just average for the $$” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chelsea to your Saves list
Hotel Chelsea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
CLEARWATER
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Found a great deal, otherwise just average for the $$”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We ended up in Miami for a night, so booked here through a discount site for $70, versus the $206 regular rate. The hotel is very old and trendy, with a bar in the lobby and an outside covered patio, really quaint. There was one woman at the very tiny check-in desk and we waited an hour to get checked in. She was great, but too too busy. The room was smaller, as would be expected in an older hotel, but the beds were also small. They were comfortable, though. Unfortunately, we could hear the bumping from the lobby bar until about 4 am. If you want to party, great spot. For sleeping, not so much. Cleanliness I would rank a 6 out of ten. Centrally located in South Beach, but at full price, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Good Afternoon MARY M!!

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! Here at Hotel Chelsea we offer unbeatable prices! The building is indeed a historic Art Deco building. We chose to keep certain things in the hotel unchanged in order to highlight this history. Boutique hotels are usually smaller then your average hotels. Once again thank you for sharing your feedback!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    148
    103
    70
    96
See reviews for
40
137
39
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Chelsea for one night (a Monday). We chose it because of the low price (especially compared to other days of the week when it was over $200 a room per night). Check-in took a little while, and they actually imprinted our credit card, which seemed a little out-of-date. There is a $17 per night "resort fee" that is charged, so be ready for that. There is also no parking except valet ($39 per night) so we ended up unloading our bags and parking two blocks away in a public garage that was about $20 for the night. The rooms of the hotel are small and the bathroom was tiny, but well-appointed. You can tell that they've updated the rooms (loved the bamboo flooring) but the bones of the hotel are quite old. It is a boutique hotel, so you should expect the smaller than usual spaces, but it takes some getting used to. The hotel is in a great spot...we walked over to Ocean Drive with no problems and were able to see much of the area on foot, due to the location of the hotel. I'd stay again if I was in town!

Room Tip: Third floor room was nice and away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Good Afternoon phoebe K,

We would like to thank you for the lovely feedback you shared with us! HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!! Thank you for choosing to stay with us, for such a lovely occasion! Maxine's offers delicious breakfast, largely portioned, at a reasonable price. Eddie and Guy are absolutely amazing, and all of our guests think so as well. We hope to have you stay with us again, in the near future.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

If you ever dreamed of sleeping in the most comfortable bed ever, the Chelsea hotel is the place to be! Great staff all very pleasant, they make you feel like family! Rooms are extremely clean and free happy hour drinks from 7-8pm! Great location you'll have loads of fun!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Great review RRunner66!! Thank you for staying with us! We are delighted to read that you had such a great time! Please come back again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Daytona, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The hotel is in a good location although parking is a couple of blocks away. Large room and bathroom with a good sized bed.
The bar is expensive and hotel is noisy and frequented by hookers. Staff on desk weren't interested in listening to our complaints and I have subsequently had an additional charge despite not using anything from room mini bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Good Day Mrsf60,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your honest feedback! Hotel Chelsea is located in an excellent location, just blocks from everything you will want to be apart of! Our staff is always assisting guests in making sure their time with us, is nothing but satisfying! It's unfortunate to read that is not what you experienced. You can contact me directly in regards to the charge on your card. I will make sure to take care of it!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed after asking for our money back at "Century Hotel" Great staff.. We told them put situation and that we had checked out the pervious hotel because of horrible bugs and dirtiness and they immediately when someone checkout had a room available for us. Very appreciated by the staff and I will be coming back

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Good Evening danygurl07,

There is nothing that we love to read more then lovely 5 star feedback! We are terribly sorry that you had such a negative experience in your previous hotel! I am very glad that we were able to provide you with the opposite! We would definitely love to have you stay with us again when visiting South Beach!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

It is a good hotel, clean and spacious rooms, everyday fresh towels. Very nice staff, we arrived early to the hotel and they allowed us to leave our luggage so we could begin enjoying our vacation in SB. This hotel is close to the beach , restaurants and stores. I can recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Hello there EvaBoh,

We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback, regarding your recent stay! We are content to know that you had such a great time here! We allow all guests to drop their luggage off, so they can start to enjoy their vacation! We are located in the heart of South Beach, around all the action. Please come back again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Conveniently located hotel, only 2 blocks away from the beach. The gift shops are right across the street and there are plenty of affordable restaurants as well as a convenience store in the vicinity. The room was spacious and had a cute charm to it, although it was a little dim for my taste. Amenities included complimentary beach towels, free wi-fi, and a happy hour (1 hr of free cocktails w/ vodka, gin or rum) - BIG PLUS!!! We stayed at the patio during happy hour which was quite delightful and relaxing. Valet parking was $32, a bit pricey but that was expected. Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. I would definitely recommend it and would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hello there Kristel R,

Thank you for the time you took to provide us with your feedback! We are just blocks away from all the hottest bars, restaurants, clubs, beach, etc. We offer great money saving amenities when you choose to stay with us! We hope that you would come back to stay with us again in the future!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chelsea

Address: 944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Chelsea Miami
Chelsea Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.