We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding ..great location South Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chelsea to your Saves list
Hotel Chelsea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Cranston, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding ..great location South Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a real nice Art Deco, Great Value, very clean. Only stayed one night...but sure to be back again. Within walking distance to beach, and shops on Lincoln Avenue and Collins. One word again, OUTSTANDING!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello Peter F,

Thank you for the time you took to provide us with your amazing review! I am extremely glad to read that you had such a wonderful time while staying with us! It seems to me that you were able to enjoy everything that we have to offer, from the location, to our unbeatable price, and the cleanliness. Please come back and stay with us for more then just 1 night, we would love to have you again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    178
    109
    72
    98
See reviews for
47
160
45
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel is in a very convenient location, but far enough from the strip so it's not too noisy for a good night sleep. Beds are comfortable, and the cleaning crew do their job well. It's a cute/nicely decorated hotel. Concierge training was a mess, though; we had 3 rooms and it took an hour to check us in. Design of the rooms are a little strange; AC vent blew air directly onto one of the double beds so our throats were really dry when we woke up. This might not be a problem if you get their 1 king bed room. The showers are not fully enclosed, so the water splashes out every where after each use. If you want to take the airport shuttle, make sure to reserve it with concierge waaay in advance. We didn't reserve until the night before, and there almost weren't enough space for us on the shuttle.

Room Tip: A room facing away from Washington street will guarantee a quieter room. It seems like the rooms fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Good Afternoon Stuffymonsta,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us! I am content to read that you were satisfied with the location of our property! We are close enough to the action, yet far enough when you want to quiet down. Our housekeepers are always hard at work to make sure that each and every room is well cleaned and taken care of. We don't have a Concierge here at the hotel. Sometimes the check in process can take longer then usual if we don't have rooms that are clean and ready to go. Some guests like to check out early which slows things down for the rest of us. We try to do the best that we can to make sure that everything is done smooth and efficiently! We do indeed advise our guests that they need to reserve their seats on the shuttle in advance, as it runs on a first come first serve basis.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Went to South Beach with 2 friends to celebrate my birthday. Check in was smooth. They do want a $100 deposit/Hold on top of the room charge upon check in so be advised! Rooms are small and kinda dark but really clean and cute. It served its purpose! We were in and out all day and given the PERFECT location a few blocks from the beach, right across the street from some FUN clubs and a GREAT little dine in spot, it was great! HAPPY HOUR! take advantage! we met some great ppl in that hour and ended up kickin' it with them the whole time we were in town. THe bartender was AMAZING! Can't remember his name tho.... That shows u how good he was! he kept the drinks coming! Remember this is SOUTH BEACH! And mid-20's early 30's stay here to enjoy all the riff-raff of the clubs and bars. So dont expect to "sleep" like a rock here. I wouldnt say this is a family spot either. GREAT for couples and friends out to just have a good time!
Overall, I loved my stay. I will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Rooms are small regardless but I would suggest no more then 3 grown ppl to a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Good Afternoon ChicTravelGEEK,

Your positive feedback is very much appreciated! Thank you for sharing it with us and all of our future guests! HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY to your friend! :) Like the majority of the hotels we do take a hold for $100 for incidentals. We do offer rooms that are smaller then others, just depends on what the guest is looking for. Some guests know that they are only here to sleep therefore want a smaller room. Others want to spend more time in their room and want something a bit more spacious. We are in the heart of South Beach just a few blocks from all the action, but a few blocks away from it as well when you want to escape it. The complimentary cocktail hour definitely brings everyone together. It's the perfect way to start the night off and get to mingle around with your temporary neighbors. We hope to see you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I am a big review reader so I must admit that past reviews had me nervous about my stay here but all in all it wasnt as bad as some other people make it sound. The room was a decent size. Our room was on the first floor and I didnt hear all the loud music people complain about probably because I was out enjoying Miami!! Who came to sleep? I took advantage of the free happy hour daily and the rum and pineapples never disappointed. The room was cleaned everyday and none of my stuff came up missing. The bed was comfy so no complaints from me, decent price for the location and the location is perfect. Right in the middle of the action but two blocks back from the noise. See you next year Chelsea.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hello there MsAmerika,

We love it when our guests post their positive reviews! Thank you so much for taking your time to provide us with yours! I am extremely glad to read that you had a nice time while staying with us and was content with the size of the room that you were given. I see that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary cocktail hour! It's a perfect time to mingle around and get to know your temporary neighbors. The location of our property can't be beat. We are in the middle of all the action, yet a few blocks away from the noise. We hope that you make us your South Beach hotel, when coming to Miami! :)

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We took the airport shuttle to Chelsea and were notified that we had been "upgraded" to another hotel down the street called White Law. The woman who worked at the front desk was difficult to understand and not very helpful. There was no one available to help us with our bags, so we had to carry them 2 blocks to the White Law. I had to find the bar tender, who was outside mingling, to ask for a glass of water before our walk.
After we got to White Law, we waited at least 10 mins before anyone came to the front desk to check us in. I spent $40 on a double red bull vodka, and was unaware of the cost until after so BEWARE!!!
We made a reservation for the 8am airport shuttle and came down to the lobby at 5 til. We chatted with the self reported "hungover" front desk attendant for several minutes before asking if we should wait outside for the shuttle. He then informed us the shuttle is at Hotel Chelsea so we ran through the streets just in time to meet an unfriendly shuttle driver who demanded to see a receipt from our hotel (which we weren't given) before loading our bags in the van.
All in all, crappy crappy service, but nice place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Good Evening Trekkingbean,

Thank you so much for the time that you took to provide us with your honest feedback! I am glad to see that you were given such a great upgrade from Chelsea to Whitelaw. I would like to apologize on our behalf for having you carry your bags from Chelsea to Whitelaw. We do offer a complimentary electric shuttle for such purposes. I will make sure to inform the front desk agents of this, so that it doesn't happen again! I am sure that the bartender was checking up on guests that were outside to make sure that they were Ok and didn't need anything. I checked with the bartender at Whitelaw and our top shelf Vodka- double with a side of Red Bull comes out to $37 with tax and tip included. This is the best quality Vodka that we have, it would have been way cheaper if you were to have chosen a lower quality Vodka. Our prices at the bar are very normal for a South Beach hotel bar. I will definitely make sure to speak with the front desk agents at Whitelaw as well, to make sure that they are all aware of the shuttle pick up locations.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend who is visiting Miami for her first time ever (multiple for me) were blown by the service and uniqueness of Chelsea. The rooms resemble of what a unique get away should be. We had a temporary setback with one of our rooms but the staff worked with us and transferred us to another room. The rooms were clean and the decor was amazing. Happy hour wasn't nearly as utilized as it should have been seeing drinks are free for an hour from 7-8pm, but the front desk staff were great to us and gave us some great deals to places at Mansion and Tantra. We'll be coming here again on our next voyage to Miami!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Good Afternoon ts9530,

WE LOVE TO SEE 5 STAR FEEDBACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you for sharing yours with us and all of our future guests! I am very pleased to read that you had a great time with us and that the service was beyond satisfactory! I am glad that our staff was able to resolve the drawback that you had in one of your rooms. I can see that you were content with the cleanliness of your room as well as with the decor. We wish you would have been part of the complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8pm. We look forward in having you stay with us again in the future.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel to celebrate our one year anniversary. I chose this hotel for its cute, quaint, boutique style ambience. This hotel looks just like the pictures! :)
Although check-in isn't until 3 PM, we arrived at 10am, so of course, our room wasn't ready yet. We went to eat, walked around, then came back at 1:20 PM, and a room was available. :) The music in the lobby wasn't an issue during our stay. It was actually a nice change. :) The highlight was the open bar from 7 to 8 PM! That was awesome, every evening! :) This hotel is perfectly centralized two blocks away from the beach, clubs, dining, and excitement! :) The staff was more than courteous, always!!! We will defintely return to this chic hotel in the future!! :) thanks for making our 1 yr anniversary, and stay amazing!! :)
Sincerely,
Dena and David Smith

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hello thereDenaDave,

We value all of our guests feedback and especially love to see when there are 5 stars!! :) Congratulations on your 1 year Anniversary!!!!!!!!!!!!!! What a special moment to celebrate, thank you for doing it with us! :) Our check in time is at 3PM but if we do have your room type available we would definitely check you in early. All of our guests absolutely love the complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8PM. It's a perfect way to start the night off right. We are centrally located and just a convenient walk away from all the hot spots. We cannot wait to have you stay with us again in the future.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chelsea

Address: 944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Chelsea Miami
Chelsea Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.