We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it, Love it, Love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claridge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Claridge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Claridge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3500 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Concord, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love it, Love it, Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

I've stayed at The Claridge Miami several times and love it more each time. This spot is not for the flashy or faint of heart. It's absolutely darling, the Mediterranean decor is inviting, warm and filled with comfort. A short walk across the street to watch the sunrise/set, relax on the beach or conquer the waves, makes it the perfect spot. There's plenty to do a short distance at south - where else - beach... a 15 minute walk or take the bus, it's too easy to shop, party, get a nice meal and return to a quiet environment that makes leaves you relaxed and ready to start over in the morning.
This is by far my favorite hotel to date - because I love to travel I've visited 62 cities and stayed in at least 40... this is my favorite spot for relaxing and good fun.
PS... Tim, Melissa, Carlos and John were great, thanks for taking such good care of us!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    205
    96
    52
    50
See reviews for
76
205
19
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PARIS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

All depends what's important for you!
positive points: close to a wonderful beach, convenient and cheap (to Miami Beach stds) parking lot just in front of the hotel, cleanliness ok, sort of "mediterranean" style (we ARE European!)
negative points: jacuzzi in lobby (close to rooms)+paper thin walls= noise, vague musty/disinfectant odor in room, very small and bad lit mirror in bathroom, small room, view on hotel parking lot (room on rear), useless staff at front desk (no help, no smile, a "hi" only from time to time, old bed (squick when you sit on it), paying wi-fi (did not ask for that reason).
The hotel is located up north Collins, but was not an inconvenience for us, as we were looking for a quiet area in the first place and we had a car (SoBe is just 10 mns, but you have to spend more time finding a parking space over there for sure!)
hotel OK for a couple of nights

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights and had a very pleasant stay. Located across the road from the beach and maybe 15minute walk to Lincoln Road. However I did use the bus service and this was fine. Staff were very helpful. Didn't get to eat in the restaurant at night

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hounslow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

The Claridge was located about 1.5 miles away from South Beach so we had to travel in by car and park for $20. Their own parking was about $20 a day. The rooms were ok although my friends who stayed in a similar room had their sink in the room vs the bathroom. Overall it was ok. However for 3 days out of 4, we didn't get the morning paper. When we complained they asked us to speak to Housekeeping who weren't around. There was no FREE wifi either. It was $8 a day. The service in the restaurant for breakfast was absolutely awful. They took half an hour to take the orders and then another 45 mins to deliver! There were only 5 tables occupied yet I could hear them talk about how busy it was. In the kitchen they were bickering about something.

There are better hotels then this one around. I'd avoid it if possible. It certainly didn't live up to the reviews from previous for us.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiBeachGM, General Manager at Claridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2010
We take our service very seriously and very personally at the Claridge Hotel! I was saddened to read your review. If I may address a couple of points: 1) Our WiFi has never been free; if you would point out where you saw it advertised as free, my staff (or I) would be happy to refund the WiFi charges that you paid. 2) Our restaurant will be under new management come mid-April, 2010. I apologize that you felt the pain of that transition, that we are in at the moment. Most Guests do not, but obviously you have. 3) The morning paper is only delivered Mon-Fri, as USA today doesn't publish on the weekends. That may have been the problem with your situation, but in any case, it should have been explained better to you, rather than suggesting you call Housekeeping. All in all, I understand your disappointment and would be very appreciative to talk with you further. It matters to us. Sincerely,
Jeff Lehman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brazil
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

hotel ans location are ok but the showers are horrible... almost wothout water... I needed to pay to wash my wifes hair

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiBeachGM, General Manager at Claridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
I am sorry to hear that you had a problem with the shower or water pressure in your room. If we had the opportunity to correct the problem while you were here, I am sure that we could have solved the issue. Occasionally the water pressure from the City drops off temporarily, but we can always increase our intake when we are notified that this has happened. Please contact me directly the next time that you are visiting Miami Beach and I will personally see to it that your stay is flawless, a more typical Claridge experience! We take our Guests and our service very seriously and very personally at the Claridge.
Sincerely,
Jeff Lehman, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly suburbs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

The boutique hotel is on a historic registry of some sort. It is tastefully decorated with earth tones, tiles, terracotta & a nice blend of rattans and dark woods. There is a lovely 3 story interior court yard in the center of the lobby w/ an inside jacuzzi/spa type pool.

Generous size rooms w/ similar earth tone decor. Very clean. The bed & bedding was perfect ! Plenty of pillows, No lumps no bumps, fresh smelling and bright white. The bathroom was a bit tight but clean & functional w/ a hair dryer, toiletries & plenty of towels and HOT water. The guest room doors are a beautiful antique dark wood and very heavy so when they close they tend to be loud since the floors are tile it sounds even louder. The street is alittle busy so if you get a room near the front of the hotel you can hear the traffic. ask for a room to the rear and no problem. No coffee maker in the room.

The hotel staff was very friendly & extra helpful ~ The food was very good. We did appys as a late dinner. The chef, the restaurant manager & bartender came out and chatted with us during the evening. They were fun, knowledgeable and aimed to please.

We stayed here 2 days before a cruise departure. It was ProBowl & the town was jumping. The hotel is approx 15 blocks from the heart of the action of Miami-South Beach. Just fine for us since they were prepping for the Super Bowl & it was bustling.

There is a waterfront boardwalk across the street. You can easily walk to the heart of the action of SOBE in one direction or into Miami in the other direction. If you are not up to a walk you can safely take a local bus ( $2.00 or a day pass for $5.00 ) or cab.

Our return flight was cancelled 2 days. Now it was Super Bowl weekend. We called & explained 7 were able to secure one of the last rooms at the same rate we had previously paid.

All in all a nice visit.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

The hotel is nice inside, but it is quite a distance to the South Beach main area, and our sleep was disturbed several times by a constant high pitched whistle sound that went on all night. Next time we'd like to stay within walking distance to the nicer area and make sure our room is quiet at night.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Claridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claridge Hotel

Address: 3500 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Claridge Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridge Hotel has become the third hotel in Miami Beach to be invited to join Historic Hotels of America. A program of the National Trust for Historic Preservation, Historic Hotels of America (HHA) identifies quality hotels that have faithfully maintained their historic integrity, architecture and ambiance. Be among the first to discover one of the best kept secrets in South Beach, The Claridge Hotel. Sensual Mediterranean architecture and our unique atrium lobby envelopes the essence of our boutique hotel. Imagine waking up in one of the most famous cities around the globe, Miami Beach where you are just steps away from the sun, sand and pristine waters. Come experience the mystery first hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Claridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge Hotel Miami Beach
Clarion Miami Beach
Miami Beach Clarion
Claridge Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.