We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EXPERIENCE EVER” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Claridge's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Claridge's to your Saves list
Casa Claridge's
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3500 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Formerly Claridge Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #40 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EXPERIENCE EVER”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EXPERIENCE EVER.

When you walk in with a reservation and confirmation in your hand, this hotel refuses to get you a room and claims that they 'could not find the reservation in the system.'

Will NOT recommend this place to anyone - in case your reservation gets "lost in the system" too, better find somewhere that treats their customers better.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    22
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
31
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I agree that the staff is well intended but are limited in knowledge. We booked a bus tour and was told the bus was air conditioned which was false. We are attempting to get a refund. Our room was selected by the staff and we were placed on the noisy side of the hotel where a high rise construction hotel is in progress ( their own project said the staff). The hotel was almost empty so I saw no reason to place anyone on the noisy construction side. The room was noisy and a large construction light pointed at our room windows all night long coming through the shutters (no black out curtains). There was one small mirror over the vanity and no other mirror for your spouse to primp. Very poor lighting to read in bed unless you include the obnoxious construction
light at night ( that's a joke ! ). We will not revisit this hotel as there are many other fine properties nearby that we checked out while here with lower rates that have a pool.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Great hotel, the staff were super helpful on arrival (Jose) and showed is to out tooms after check in.
The hotel itself is very nice, clean, comfy, lovely decor, especially in the longe area.... Good job!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The good:

Welcome drink on arrival!

Nice section of the beach laid out for guests.

Cool Art Deco/historic hotel

Good front end service

Comfortable bed

Excellent TV - lots of HD channels

The bad:

Slow room service - fries were stone cold when they arrived. Hamburger was pretty decent and the wine was enjoyable

$15 charge for a cover/umbrella on the beach is a bit of a rip off.

Our used/finished room service tray was outside of our room for 4-5 hours which is insane -- staff walking past ignoring its presence.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal,Quebec
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This boutique hotel is extremely clean and comfortable. It's located in the northern part of South Beach where it's a lot more quiet. It's about 20 blocks away from the action , a 25 minute walk. The beach area located across the street is on a beautiful quiet stretch and one of the nicest beach and ocean fronts that we've ever visited in the entire Caribbean. By the afternoon you can walk out 150 years in the sand with water below your waist. Nearby Tiki Bar at the Courtside Marriot was great, as well as breakfast outdoors at the Croyden Hotel. Unfortunately there was a lot of construction around during our stay however this seems to be common all over South Beach and obviously no fault of the hotel. There is no pool or gym however with the beach as calm as it is , a pool is not needed and the boardwalk at the beach goes on for miles if you want a walking workout. We really enjoyed our stay and the staff was great.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side will be quieter due to the present construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is staffed by well meaning, but poorly trained people. I spent a weekend there and was appalled by the lack of attention to detail - I paid for a room with breakfast but was charged for everything we ate at breakfast. I asked for coffee to be brought to the room and was handed a carafe with paper cups (no lids) after 2 phones calls. No tray, no sugar, nothing.

The interior design photographs well, but the rooms feel sparse and uncurated. Just very very plain. The terrace doesn't have chairs but does feature a dead plant. Weird. The bathrooms - well - there's a reason they aren't photographed on the website. They are a mismatched, out of date collection of god knows what which makes you feel like you are staying at your aunt' summer home which was only redone in the 90s. From the cheap step in tub, to the plastic shower valve, it's just odd.

I wrote the hotel to complain and politely ask to at least be reimbursed for my breakfast charges (I paid $584/night) but didn't receive a response. I sent a follow up email, but never heard back. I have chalked it up to poor service from an almost-cute hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited Casa Claridge end of October 2014. We managed a great deal through TravelZoo due to construction next door - and across the street - and half a block down... Seems most of Collins ave is being built up or re-built, so we can't call it "quieter", but still a nice location away from the busier South Beach (SOBE).

There are enough restaurants and small stores to get what you need for a short stay. Also just one $2 bus ride to the more scenic SOBE (15th ave and lower) or shopping on Lincoln (past 17th).

The hotel itself has tremendous style as a refurbished older building with traditional doors and woodwork. Also has an open mezzanine that brings a lot of natural light into a sitting area. One drawback is that the older doors and frames are terrible for soundproofing.

There's a small restaurant with a small breakfast menu focused on quality. Great coffee. Also a small wrap-around patio to watch traffic or the construction going on next door.

The best part was that the hotel is one short block from the beach and boardwalk. There is a small park called 36th Street Park, but - you guessed it - it's under construction! The hotel provides beach chairs and towels, umbrella optional ($5).

All of the hotel staff were accommodating and friendly. Not as fancy or with as many amenities as bigger hotels down the road, but a great place to stay in Miami Beach.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the south (35th St) side. Construction next door starts promptly at 7:30 AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy A, General Manager at Casa Claridge's, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the great feedback, T D! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our unique and tranquil environment here in Miami Beach. We pride ourselves in personalized service and ensuring that each guest has a unique and unforgettable experience. I will absolutely share your feedback with my staff so they are aware that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that you are able to return and enjoy another retreat with us. Please contact me directly and I am more than happy to find you a serene room on the north side where the construction will not impact your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Claridge's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Claridge's

Address: 3500 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Claridge's 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our philosophy is simple: we have set out to create the kind of place we ourselves would love to discover in the heart of one of America's greatest destinations - Miami Beach. Stylish, relaxed and easy, Casa Claridge is more a home than a hotel, welcoming its guests to a whole new Miami experience by combining art and leisure in a charming residential atmosphere. Casa Claridge is your perfect getaway steps away from the beach. Built in 1930 as El Paraiso Apartments, the building's design, decor and amenities are steeped in Miami Beach's early Spanish architectural roots and feature a soothing Mediterranean flare. Featuring only fifty guest rooms and suites set in both beautiful and intimate surroundings, we pride ourselves in offering the true essence of hospitality with a friendly and thoughtful service. The hotel is ideally located within a short distance to the center of South Beach allowing guests to benefit from the shopping, dining, sightseeing and nightlife offer, and still have a calm place to return to by the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Claridge's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge Hotel Miami Beach
Clarion Miami Beach
Miami Beach Clarion
Claridge Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Claridge's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.