We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Claridge Hotel Miami” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Claridge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Claridge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Claridge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3500 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Claridge Hotel Miami”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed for two nights prior to our Caribbean Cruise
The Hotel looked very nice in our brochure, but quaint and shabby are close !!
The Hotel is desperate for a complete re fit !!
The Hotel is surrounded by re development and demolition ..... it needs to join in .

Room Tip: Somewhere else !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen V, Front Office Manager at Claridge Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Drew,

Thank you for the feedback, we greatly appreciate it. You will be glad to know that our hotel is in fact undergoing massive changes and in a few short months it will resurface with a completely new look. That being said, I regret that your experience while staying with us seems to have been less than satisfactory but I want to invite you back any time next year so you could enjoy the new Claridge and its improved services!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    200
    91
    52
    48
See reviews for
72
199
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was a weekend stay for a wedding. We booked through Hotwire and were unable to see the name of the hotel until after we booked. Would not have booked here if we had known and been able to do research. Staying on the first floor was very noisy. The lighting at the sink had to "warm up" before it properly lit the area. The floor seemed to always be wet. I understand that it's one of the historic hotels of America, but it seriously needs some TLC. Not at all impressed with this hotel. The only good thing is that it's a short walk across the street to the beach. This part of the beach is nice as it's not crowded.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen V, Front Office Manager at Claridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear MsFeNC,

I would like to apologize to you on the behalf of our hotel for the fact that your stay with us seems to have been less than satisfactory. We are well aware that some things within our operation need improvement which is why our hotel is undergoing some great changes. That TLC which you've mentioned in your comment is happening as we speak so I hope that you will give us another chance and come visit us again soon and see these changes for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

If I could give it a 0 I would! We were supposed to have a view, we ended up on the second floor corner, next to the construction. Our air conditioner vent in the ceiling leaked terribly the entire time, had towels and waste can to hold the water, but couldn't even stand at the sink without getting dripped on. Had an adjoining room with people coming in at 1, could here him being sick in the bathroom.... Most of the staff didn't speak English and when we complained about the room they did nothing. Oh yes and you pay an $11 fee for chairs on the beach, even though it was closed with a red flag alert. They pretty much ruined our stay in Miami.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen V, Front Office Manager at Claridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hello Pat,

I am terribly sorry that your stay with us seems to not have been a good one. I do want to thank you for your feedback and I also want to mention to you that we are in the process of fixing all of the things which have gone wrong during you stay. Our hotel is undergoing some great changes and I hope you will give us a second chance so we could make up for your last stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, GA, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights on a Travelzoo special that also included $50 total credit in the hotel restaurant. Reservations and a very friendly check-in staff went perfect. We requested a top floor room several weeks in advance and got it. It was a corner room, well lit, and had a lovely color coordinated decor. The room was very spacious, had two queen beds, two chairs, a mini refrig and bar area, and two closets with in room safe. The toilet and tub/shower combo were separate, and the sink was in the room with the beds. But that was not a problem because the room was large. Our room 314 was near the elevator, but there was no noise problem. Rooms on the 1st floor (lobby and restaurant area) might have a noise issue, so book 2nd or 3rd floors to be safe. There is also a small conference room with library and internet area. There is a small work out area in the basement, and a small pool, but not for swimming. The sitting room on the 1st floor is also inviting, which overlooks the pool below. The hotel was built in 1930, and completely renovated in 2000. It has a pleasant Spanish ambiance inside. The ocean is 200 feet away, across Collins Ave., and the hotel furnishes beach towels and chairs if you want them. There is a $22 per day charge for parking, but we used the lot across the street. It is well lit and safe, and is free from 6:00pm to 8:00am. It is $1 per hour otherwise, with a 3 hour maximum on the pay to park ticket, but can be renewed every 3 hours. It is a 1-2 mile walk to South Beach along a lovely ocean side boardwalk. Or one can drive there and park in the area. There is also a bus stop directly across the street from the hotel. The restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner, and the food and service were good. We found out that the hotel was recently sold, and perhaps the old owners accounted for the negative reviews on Tripadvisor. We found nothing inconveniently negative about it now.
It is situated on Collins Ave. There is a slight noise issue from the traffic, but when the A/C is running you do not notice it. The A/C is louder than average for a hotel room, but not really a major issue. Give the Claridge Hotel a try. The people who run it now are very accommodating.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor (Room 314 excellent)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen V, Front Office Manager at Claridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Mr. F,

I am very happy that both you and your lovely wife enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the wonderful feedback, it was great to have you as our guests and I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel was nice and small. Rooms are on the smaller side but we were not going for huge rooms. Bathroom faucets could be a little updated. The cleaning could be slightly better. The front desk staff was really helpful - and this was for any time for the day. I stayed at Fontainebleau for part of my trip and I feel the customer service at this hotel was far superior.

The Jacuzzi did not function properly (there was no pool).

I was pleasantly surprised to find out that this hotel is on the national historic hotel registry.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen V, Front Office Manager at Claridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hi Ishaq,

You would be pleased to know that our hotel is undergoing a lot of changes which involve both aesthetic and operations sides of our property. Thank you for taking the time to leave this comment and I hope that you will visit us again soon to see all these changes first-hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Well maintained older hotel with all the amenities except an outdoor pool. Very good onsite restaurant serving breakfast lunch and dinner. Staff is helpful and friendly. This quiet hotel is about ten minutes north of South Beach action.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen V, Front Office Manager at Claridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Esteemed guest,

I want to thank you for your kind comment and for choosing us as your destination hotel in Miami Beach. Please come back soon and bring friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I chose the Claridge for our week-long stay in Miami Beach; we've had our fill of chain hotels and we were interested in the Art Deco architecture on Collins Avenue. This hotel had many good points but a few points that could be improved:

Positives:
-This hotel is directly across the street from the beach and there's not many other hotels in the area, so our section of the sand felt almost private.
-Front desk staff were accommodating and the gentleman who works in the evenings was wonderful with assisting with suggestions on places to go.
-Room is very clean and well air-conditioned. Housekeeping staff did an excellent job of making sure we had what was needed.

Negatives:
-This hotel is not in close proximity to restaurants or other attractions, so we had to take a cab or walk 20 blocks to eat or do anything besides lay on the beach. We didn't mind the walking as we like to exercise, but this would be difficult on less able-bodied individuals.
-The gentleman who worked in the restaurant was extremely nice but did not speak English, so it was difficult to order anything. We chose one cocktail that we could communicate and stuck with that the duration of our stay. We ate the breakfast buffet one morning and did not return as it left a lot to be desired. Restaurant was open odd hours and often did not have a chef. I feel it's especially important at a hotel that is relatively segregated from the rest of Miami Beach to have a good restaurant with English-speaking staff (at least those who will be waiting on customers). This was the biggest complaint I heard from other visitors to the hotel.
-We asked for beach towels and chairs (which is what the resort fee covers) and we were told there were no towels. We were given one chair and an umbrella. Thankfully we had brought our own beach towels from home as back-up and were able to use those.

All in all, our experience at the Claridge was relatively good. Our stay wasn't expensive compared to other hotels in Miami Beach, but I think we may choose a location closer to food and activities next time.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen V, Front Office Manager at Claridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. Our hotel is currently undergoing a lot of changes and most of the things which you considered that have impacted you stay in a negative way are in the process of changing. We have recently hired new staff for the restaurant (all English-speaking) and have replenished our inventory of beach chairs and towels. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future as within a few short months our lovely hotel will look and feel completely different than during your last stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Claridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claridge Hotel

Also Known As:
Claridge Hotel Miami Beach
Clarion Miami Beach
Miami Beach Clarion
Claridge Miami Beach
Address: 3500 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Claridge Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridge Hotel has become the third hotel in Miami Beach to be invited to join Historic Hotels of America. A program of the National Trust for Historic Preservation, Historic Hotels of America (HHA) identifies quality hotels that have faithfully maintained their historic integrity, architecture and ambiance. Be among the first to discover one of the best kept secrets in South Beach, The Claridge Hotel. Sensual Mediterranean architecture and our unique atrium lobby envelopes the essence of our boutique hotel. Imagine waking up in one of the most famous cities around the globe, Miami Beach where you are just steps away from the sun, sand and pristine waters. Come experience the mystery first hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Claridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.