We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat little historic boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Claridge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Claridge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Claridge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3500 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Neat little historic boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel was nice and small. Rooms are on the smaller side but we were not going for huge rooms. Bathroom faucets could be a little updated. The cleaning could be slightly better. The front desk staff was really helpful - and this was for any time for the day. I stayed at Fontainebleau for part of my trip and I feel the customer service at this hotel was far superior.

The Jacuzzi did not function properly (there was no pool).

I was pleasantly surprised to find out that this hotel is on the national historic hotel registry.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen V, Front Office Manager at Claridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hi Ishaq,

You would be pleased to know that our hotel is undergoing a lot of changes which involve both aesthetic and operations sides of our property. Thank you for taking the time to leave this comment and I hope that you will visit us again soon to see all these changes first-hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    180
    88
    44
    48
See reviews for
76
205
19
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Well maintained older hotel with all the amenities except an outdoor pool. Very good onsite restaurant serving breakfast lunch and dinner. Staff is helpful and friendly. This quiet hotel is about ten minutes north of South Beach action.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen V, Front Office Manager at Claridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Esteemed guest,

I want to thank you for your kind comment and for choosing us as your destination hotel in Miami Beach. Please come back soon and bring friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I chose the Claridge for our week-long stay in Miami Beach; we've had our fill of chain hotels and we were interested in the Art Deco architecture on Collins Avenue. This hotel had many good points but a few points that could be improved:

Positives:
-This hotel is directly across the street from the beach and there's not many other hotels in the area, so our section of the sand felt almost private.
-Front desk staff were accommodating and the gentleman who works in the evenings was wonderful with assisting with suggestions on places to go.
-Room is very clean and well air-conditioned. Housekeeping staff did an excellent job of making sure we had what was needed.

Negatives:
-This hotel is not in close proximity to restaurants or other attractions, so we had to take a cab or walk 20 blocks to eat or do anything besides lay on the beach. We didn't mind the walking as we like to exercise, but this would be difficult on less able-bodied individuals.
-The gentleman who worked in the restaurant was extremely nice but did not speak English, so it was difficult to order anything. We chose one cocktail that we could communicate and stuck with that the duration of our stay. We ate the breakfast buffet one morning and did not return as it left a lot to be desired. Restaurant was open odd hours and often did not have a chef. I feel it's especially important at a hotel that is relatively segregated from the rest of Miami Beach to have a good restaurant with English-speaking staff (at least those who will be waiting on customers). This was the biggest complaint I heard from other visitors to the hotel.
-We asked for beach towels and chairs (which is what the resort fee covers) and we were told there were no towels. We were given one chair and an umbrella. Thankfully we had brought our own beach towels from home as back-up and were able to use those.

All in all, our experience at the Claridge was relatively good. Our stay wasn't expensive compared to other hotels in Miami Beach, but I think we may choose a location closer to food and activities next time.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen V, Front Office Manager at Claridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. Our hotel is currently undergoing a lot of changes and most of the things which you considered that have impacted you stay in a negative way are in the process of changing. We have recently hired new staff for the restaurant (all English-speaking) and have replenished our inventory of beach chairs and towels. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future as within a few short months our lovely hotel will look and feel completely different than during your last stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here two nights on a Travelzoo deal. Access to the hotel involves parking temporarily in front of the hotel and dragging your luggage up about ten stairs into the lobby. The hotel charges $22 per day for off-street parking. However there is a municipal parking lot across the street where you can park from 8am to 6pm for $10, with no charge to park overnight. The elevator is old and slow. Our room was large, and the mattress comfortable, if old. The bedside lights provide plenty of light for reading, which is most unusual these days. The two chairs in the room were uncomfortable. The air conditioning was effective. The plumbing is old and very noisy, particularly bothersome at night. The breakfast buffet is expensive for its content, although the scrambled eggs were better than one finds at hotels providing free buffet breakfasts. There was no decaf coffee available sadly!
This hotel is quite a ways north of South Beach, so if enjoying the nightlife is your goal, look for a hotel a few miles further south. On the other hand, access to a lovely beach is just across the street past the parking lot. A few blocks north on the boardwalk is a delightful tiki bar operated Carrabbas.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen V, Front Office Manager at Claridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback, especially the bit about decaf coffee - I will make sure to suggest that it should be included on our restaurant's menu. We hope to have you as our guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verndale MN
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

When we made reservations, we were forced to buy a recreation service of 2 beach chairs, an umbrella, and towels for $67.00 per room for the week. We said we didn't want it being our daughter lived a half a mile away, but was told it was part of the deal, fine! The first morning, about 9:00 we went to the lobby to get the beach equip. they had one filthy chair, one broken chair, a VERY cheap umbrella, but did have towels. They said every thing was out already, fine! We took the poor equipment to the beach, we were the only ones from the Calridge there! Every day for a week, that is all they had! So much for the two chairs per room. When we checked out we wanted the &67.00 rec. fee taken off the bill being we had very poor recreation service. They said they would take off one day of the service. I said no, your going to take off the whole amount and I was going to review them. They took off the rec. bill, but we were met with one lie after another. For this reason I would NOT recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Our room was fine, big negative issue wit management
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen V, Front Office Manager at Claridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Esteemed guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this comment for us, it is very important to us to know how our guests think about their stay in our hotel. And even though your stay with us seems to not have met your expectations, I want to inform you that we have recently replenished our inventory of beach chairs and beach towels. Our hotel generally does not offer umbrellas but sometimes guests leave theirs behind and we pay it forward and offer them to guests who are currently staying in our hotel. Thank you again for staying with us and we do hope that you will give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Highlights: reception staff were very helpful whatever our query - travelling in to Miami, finding a bus, help to get on the internet; checking in and checking out. Our room had twin Queen beds which were very comfortable. The room was lovely with a small balcony on the front looking out to the sea. The bathroom was fine and the air con good. We loved the hotel architecture - I think it's around 1910 - 1920 and unspoiled. In all we actually really loved this hotel. The pool/hot tub was fun too and access to the beach perfect.
Lowlight - the restaurant - dinner was ok but we thought breakfast was only average with very little choice. If the hotel addressed this then it would definitely be a little gem. Good value nonetheless and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a front room with balcony - 2 Queen beds - and it was a delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen V, Front Office Manager at Claridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear AliBaliLeeds,

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks so much for leaving this review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I am a traveler who like anybody wants good value for money when booking a hotel.
Booked this hotel for 1 night stay after reading the reviews and wanting to stay in a different environment than regular chain hotels. Paid about $125 including the resort fees.
I was not impressed by the hotel.
Lets talk of good things first:
Location: Good location, on the north side of south beach. So away from the night life for those who want a peaceful night. You can reach the hub of south beach by bus or cab for 10$. Those who want to stay in all the night life activity, this is not for you. But I shall still suggest you to book a hotel in the proper south beach area as anybody who wants to come to Miami beach would eventually want to stroll in that area. That's what I did. I reached hotel at 10 PM and went to the main South beach area for couple of hours. So i guess I chose the wrong location. Good thing is that the street entrance to the beach and board walk is just opposite the hotel. So you can reach beach for sun bathing in just 3 minutes. Also the bus stand is opposite the hotel for those who want to use public transport.
Other good things- room was clean, bed was comfortable, AC was effective

Now the reasons why I wont stay here again-
When you enter the hotel, it looked like a dead place..agree that its supposed to be a heritage hotel..but that does not mean compromise on the liveliness.
Person at the reception was fine, nothing great. Though I must admit that the lady at the reception the next day morning while checking out was very pleasant.
The major problem was with the room- The most annoying part- the Wi Fi did not work in the room. Did not capture signal. When I told this to reception, they simply showed surprise, offering no solutions. I could not use the internet...
The rooms were small..no complaint because I guess all Miami Beach hotel rooms are small...but what about the design lay out?? The bathroom was tiny, and the wash basin of the bathroom was placed inside the room !!
No place for Coffee maker, so they kept it in the cabin below the washbasin with no plug point below. So I had to place it up next to washbasin to plug it to make the coffee.
Small make shift wooden Almira which can at most hold 3-4 hangers. No place to keep the luggage. No study desk. The water bottle in the room was labelled for $4.99 + tax...Better bring your own bottled. water.
The central lobby jacuzzi that the hotel boasts of is just not attractive. And it opens at 10 am in morning. So no early birds.
Not worth the price. It should be fine if the the price was 30 $ cheaper.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen V, Front Office Manager at Claridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guest,

I regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us even though it seems that you liked the hotel overall except a few details regarding amenities and room layout. It is true that some of our rooms do have the sinks inside the room but that is because the hotel has been originally built in old Spanish style and none of its structure has been altered during the renovation in 2001. As for the WiFi - during our sold out days the signal strength tends to be weaker, depending on how many of our guests are connected to the hotel network. We are actively working to improve this situation and to make sure that this will not affect our guests' stay with us in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us and we hope that you will give us another chance in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Claridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claridge Hotel

Address: 3500 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Claridge Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridge Hotel has become the third hotel in Miami Beach to be invited to join Historic Hotels of America. A program of the National Trust for Historic Preservation, Historic Hotels of America (HHA) identifies quality hotels that have faithfully maintained their historic integrity, architecture and ambiance. Be among the first to discover one of the best kept secrets in South Beach, The Claridge Hotel. Sensual Mediterranean architecture and our unique atrium lobby envelopes the essence of our boutique hotel. Imagine waking up in one of the most famous cities around the globe, Miami Beach where you are just steps away from the sun, sand and pristine waters. Come experience the mystery first hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Claridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge Hotel Miami Beach
Clarion Miami Beach
Miami Beach Clarion
Claridge Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.