We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the right price for the area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Claridge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Claridge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Claridge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3500 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Salt Lake City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the right price for the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I was travelling on business and wanted to avoid staying downtown, since this hotel is only 1 mile away from where I needed to be. The hotel room I stayed in was small - no desk to work at, but fairly clean and comfortable. Truly a boutique hotel and good for a nice romantic weekend. There is NOTHING within a reasonable walking distance as far as food goes. I couldn't find the little market others had mentioned.

The only complaint I have is the restaurant. I decided to try the breakfast buffet, wow what a huge disappointment. It cost $11.95 and was for cold eggs, paper thin bacon and heat serve sausage. The worst part is that here I am in Florida and they only served Tang instead of orange juice. It is no wonder that no one is ever in the restaurant, since if you try the breakfast, you sure wouldn't come back for dinner.

The buildings around the hotel are all under renovation, so the beach is nice and quiet. If you want something more quiet and less expensive then this is the one for you. However, you will have to drive or take a taxi to get to the action. I walked one night and it was about 2 miles round trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica M, General Manager at Claridge Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this comment and for your kind words. We hope to see you again during your next trip to Miami Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    180
    89
    44
    48
See reviews for
77
205
19
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

my wife and I came to this hotel for our anniversary. I know she has written a review but thought I needed to add to it. we had an amazing time at this hotel - great location, amazing room and fantastic service. the staff were all friendly and kind and went above and beyond to make our stay special. we have become friends with the staff and it was a shame to come home. we will miss them all and look forward to our return when we can see them again. I'd also like to say how one of the staff there (named Jesse Garcia) made our stay that little bit more special with organising our car hire, arranging tickets for us to see Miami heat in game 1 of the finals and giving great advise on places to visit. he took us under his wing and took care of our every need from start to finish. he was a fine example of a young man and i'm sure he will have a great future in this line of work. thank u again to all the staff at the claridge hotel, Miami. we look forward to our return

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica M, General Manager at Claridge Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Esteemed Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing the Claridge as your destination hotel in Miami Beach! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again for your 11th anniversary (or sooner)! We greatly appreciate your kind words - it is guests like you who make us strive to provide the best service possible and to go above and beyond in order to make all of our guests' stay with us as memorable as possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I came for Memorial day weekend, looking to party! The hotel is FAR away from where everything take place! I would recommend hotels in the 1200-1300-1400's on Collins! Washington or Ocean street ! (if youre looking to be in the mix)
There is a small convenient store located across the street from Claridge Hotel. However, there are no food places near! (No vending machines in hotel) There is a small restaurants located in the hotel.. (I ordered a spicy pork quesadilla, and my meat wasnt done; it was pink)
The hotel itself appear shabby on outside! However its small, quiet & nice inside! The rooms are small! very small! I stayed in the Junior Suite (small!!) not what i expected! (Pool, small!!) The staff was nice! (Would I stay @ hotel again.. no) Pricey for it to be so small.

Room Tip: Rooms are SMALL! I had stayed in a Junior Suite! & that room was SMALL! (the picture on website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica M, General Manager at Claridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear guest,
We regret that you were disappointed with your stay with us. Our hotel has only 50 rooms so it might seem small to someone who might have stayed in 150+ rooms properties. All of our Junior Suites measure 375 square feet which is a quite comfortable space to accommodate up to 4 people; a Junior Suite is comprised of a bedroom and a sitting area which has a pullout couch (not to be confused with a One Bedroom Suite which normally has a bedroom and a living area but this room type is not available in our hotel). We do not have a pool but a Jacuzzi which is actually larger than a normal size Jacuzzi and also has an infinity waterfall (the actual size of the Jacuzzi is 16 feet by 9 feet). The architecture of the hotel is done in an old-continent Spanish style, which might not be what you have expected. I do, however, apologize if your experience with our restaurant was not a good one; we are in the process of improving the menu and the restaurant operating procedures so if you will ever want to return to Miami Beach and give us another try I am certain that you will see those changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Friendly staff, big comfortable rooms, and free...water in the lobby. In the end of May you need it.
Free internet in the lobby BUT NOT IN THE ROOM.I was waiting during my entire stay and signal never came. It is 20 blocks from the busy and active Art Deco Ocean Drive os South Miamio Beach or 10 dollarsaway by taxi ride . Is somehow located in "central Miami Beach"
A good option for those who dont mind to be right in the action.

Room Tip: in the early hours book the taxi to the airport from the previous day. (33 USD)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica M, General Manager at Claridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
I want to personally take the time to thank you for your kind words. Our hotel is minutes away from South Beach by car or public transportation and we think that our location offers the best of both worlds to our guests: the peace and quiet of the mid-beach during the day and the option of partying in South Beach in the evening and returning to a quiet room at night for a good night's sleep. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We came here for our 10th wedding anniversary and will definitely go back!! Lovely hotel - quaint, traditional and each room is different. Friendly & helpful staff especially those on reception - Jesse helped us sort out lots of extras (hiring a mustang and miami heat tickets!) and was genuine. Breakfast was lovely (didn't eat dinner there so can't comment on that). The location was perfect - right near the beach and a lovely walk down the boardwalk to south beach and ocean drive. Far away enough to not be disturbed by noise but near enough to walk down to. Loved the jacuzzi spa after all the walking to relax in! We are saving up to come again!!

Room Tip: All are different but we loved ours (210)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica M, General Manager at Claridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Esteemed guest,
Thank you so much for your stellar review! We are very happy to know that you had such a good time during your stay with us and that we are already working on making your next anniversary even better than your 10th!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed here with a couple friends for a week. It is a gorgeous boutique hotel. The service was great the whole time, Jesse at the front desk was very helpful and welcoming. When we arrived, we were offered to upgrade our room to the penthouse level. The quality of the room was excellent, beautiful Mediterranean style decor. Our room was connected to a cool furnished balcony that overlooked Miami Beach! Location is pretty good, some South Beach is walkable, while other parts require a very short cab ride or drive. Overall I was pleasantly surprised on how great everything turned out and I would definitely stay again. Certainly a hidden gem in the South Beach area, highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica M, General Manager at Claridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept a heartfelt 'Thank You!' on the behalf of all the staff at the Claridge hotel! We are all very happy that we were able to meet (and exceed) your expectations as we strive to offer all of our guests a memorable experience during their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great customer service! Kudos to Carmen, Rosa and Jesse the front desk was welcoming and even knew our names. You don't find that at the big hotels. They were very helpful and very accommodating to our needs. We were celebrating 5 year anniversary of being cancer free and was welcomed with a smile and "congratulations". The room was nice.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica M, General Manager at Claridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Esteemed Guest,

All of the staff at the Claridge hotel is very grateful for your fantastic review - thank you! We hope that you will make our hotel your home away from home again in the near future and that we will be able to out-do ourselves by offering you another spectacular stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claridge Hotel

Address: 3500 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#103 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Claridge Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridge Hotel has become the third hotel in Miami Beach to be invited to join Historic Hotels of America. A program of the National Trust for Historic Preservation, Historic Hotels of America (HHA) identifies quality hotels that have faithfully maintained their historic integrity, architecture and ambiance. Be among the first to discover one of the best kept secrets in South Beach, The Claridge Hotel. Sensual Mediterranean architecture and our unique atrium lobby envelopes the essence of our boutique hotel. Imagine waking up in one of the most famous cities around the globe, Miami Beach where you are just steps away from the sun, sand and pristine waters. Come experience the mystery first hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Claridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge Hotel Miami Beach
Clarion Miami Beach
Miami Beach Clarion
Claridge Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.