We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Claridge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Claridge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Claridge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3500 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Lancashire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just ok..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as our first stop on a 2 week holiday to South Florida. The staff were friendly on arrival, and our room was spacious and well equipped, if a little tired. The beach (which is nice) is across the busy street, but other than than that, not much in the area. The boardwalk all the way into South Beach is very pleasant - probably about a mile and a half.
The main complaint we had was the level of service, which is surprising considering how good this was elsewhere we stayed. Two examples; we returned one evening at 9.30, and were told we couldn't have a drink - the bar was closed. We found a bar up the street, and on returning at 10.30 several people were still having a drink in the restaurant. Seems they would serve you a drink if if you'd had a meal, but not otherwise!
Similarly, we were told breakfast was from 7am. On the day we were leaving we wanted to be away early, so went down to breakfast at 8am, but were told they weren't ready to start serving yet! We went to a small cafe across the road, where 7 or 8 other guests were also doing the same. Claridge seem to be missing out on some income......
All in all, not bad, but wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica M, Manager at Claridge Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for not having provided the level of service you expected from us, we do have a Bar/Lounge on site that is open until 10 pm .We hope you give us an opportunity to make it up to you during a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    205
    96
    52
    50
See reviews for
76
205
19
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

First off, the area where this hotel is located is really not inviting. It is not right on the beach but on a pretty busy road. There are no restaurants close by and they are about to tear down a hotel on the opposite site of the street which really didn't add to the overall impression when we first arrived.

We had breakfast booked for the entire week and on Christmas morning we found out that there is no breakfast that day. They sent us to a shop nearby were they apparently serve breakfast which they didn't. It was closed. The other mornings the breakfast was cold and the service was not good.

At least on 2 days, the Jacuzzi was not working properly.

The bill didn't seem to be correct. When I raised my concern, the person at the front desk clearly had no idea what actually was on the bill and could not explain. He said that he would take this up to management. A few weeks later they charged my credit card with an amount I never agreed to.

I may have been able to overlook those things, had I booked an inexpensive hotel. But for the price they charge I cannot recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a three night three day stay at this hotel arriving on New Year's Eve. We had room on the first floor that was very clean although poorly situated between the kitchen and hotel use bathroom. The room was very bright and we were pleasantly surprised that there was a mini-fridge.

The surrounding area is very quiet and there are very few shops/restaurants in the immediate area. The beach is located right across the street so make sure to ask for beach towels. I would suggest walking the 1.8mi south on the boardwalk to Lincoln Road for any shopping/dining as our restaurant experience at the Claridge was sub-par and over-priced. There is also a bus stop right across the street as well as a Deco Bike station if you don't want to walk.

The staff, especially Jesse Garcia, were very friendly.

The only downsides to this hotel were the lack of amenities (strange spa on the first floor of the hotel) and the extremely loud night staff that woke us up every morning at 5am with their joking banter (the hotel room doors are wood and the sound really travels.) Watch out for the $10/day amenities fee on your bill as there aren't really any amenities for it to cover.

We would probably stay there again but definitely not on the first floor!

Room Tip: Make sure to select a room not on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Well where do i begin, this was our first time in Miami 6 night stay at this wonderful hotel - GOOD POINTS: The hotel its self was beautiful, we stayed in two rooms first room on 2nd floor room: 215 it was lovely, lots of space and very clean - we were then upgraded to the penthouse suite 4th floor room: 401 it was fantastic, view was amazing and again big room and very clean. We had 3 evening meals at the hotel and they were lovely, great choice and cooked/served well. The beach is just across the road which was really good - hotel offered towels. Really nice feature if the hotel they have a lovely Jacuzzi which is a bonus and nice way to wind down after a busy, hot day in Miami. The service of this hotel is without a doubt the best part from front desk to the waitresses they were always there 24/7 to help you. Eloy Ramirez - this guy is fantastic and is asset to this hotel, he instantly puts you at ease and goes out of his way to make you feel comfortable, he made our holiday experience extra special he helped us with all our tours and recommended places to go and where to eat, he was on hand day or night and did anything for us. A very friendly and helpful gentleman. This hotel is like a home from home. We liked the fact we were away from all the hustle and bustle of Miami as there not many restaurants or shops within walking distance, but for $10 you can get a cab into the heart of the town with plenty going on, it’s nice to come back at night to a small quite hotel and relax.

BAD POINT: The only bad point we found with this hotel was the breakfast it was disappointing we couldn’t order from the menu as no chef in the morning, so only had buffet option which we found was always cold with not much choice. This is the only thing that lets the hotel down, but I suppose it can’t all be perfect and maybe it’s something the hotel can work on and look into.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to stay in Miami whether it is for business or vacation. We are looking forward to returning to the hotel in the summer. This hotel has the wow factor and in our eyes one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

Well done to all at the Claridge Hotel :)

Room Tip: When booking a room - try and request a beach facing view as you won’t be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Overall experience was great - the hotel itself is beautiful and a great escape from the "cookie cutter" rooms at most hotels - the decor and colors take you away to another place - very romantic and memorable. Staff is superb and extremely helpful - Eloy Ramirez the front office manager would be an incredible asset to any business that deals with the demanding public - he instantly puts you at ease and goes out of his way to make you feel comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a different experience while on business or vacation. When I am in Miami I look forward to calling the Claridge Hotel my home away from home.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor open onto a huge rooftop patio that offers great views and plenty of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

When my Husband checked in at The Claridge Hotel (if thats what you can call it) the guy on reception said your room is on the 1st floor if you don't like it we can move you but we are full at the moment. i have never been to a Hotel as out dated and dirty.The pool was directly outside our room and had an over powering smell of chlorine,i said to my husband lets go outside and get a drink my head is pounding.We sat outside to get some fresh air. The waitress did not even know what a cafe latte was i ended up with a an expresso.i put my hands on the table and it was filthy, i said thats it i cannot stay at this so called Hotel.we had a walk down the road and booked into the Courtyard Marriott an absolute palace from where we had come from.we went back to the Faulty Towers (sorry The Claridge Hotel) and told the guy on reception we were leaving we had found somewhere else he then said we could have a lovely suite ( i dont know where that appeared from because they were fully booked) so we lost a lot of money because we had to pay for the other hotel. so please please please do not waste your money on this place.

Room Tip: sorry no good rooms
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Hotel is walking distance to the beach. The surrounding area is quiet and somewhat deserted compared to other parts of Miami Beach -- not many restaurants or shops within walking distance. The room was clean, and the look of the hotel is nice; staff are friendly. Sound insulation is not great, so some noise can be heard from other rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Claridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claridge Hotel

Address: 3500 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#103 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Claridge Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridge Hotel has become the third hotel in Miami Beach to be invited to join Historic Hotels of America. A program of the National Trust for Historic Preservation, Historic Hotels of America (HHA) identifies quality hotels that have faithfully maintained their historic integrity, architecture and ambiance. Be among the first to discover one of the best kept secrets in South Beach, The Claridge Hotel. Sensual Mediterranean architecture and our unique atrium lobby envelopes the essence of our boutique hotel. Imagine waking up in one of the most famous cities around the globe, Miami Beach where you are just steps away from the sun, sand and pristine waters. Come experience the mystery first hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Claridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge Hotel Miami Beach
Clarion Miami Beach
Miami Beach Clarion
Claridge Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.