We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Claridge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Claridge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Claridge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3500 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Sapulpa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
“Stay somewhere else!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We just stayed here this past weekend...Nov. 16-18, 2012. What we searched for was a nice hotel, semi-quiet area, a GREAT comfortable bed, and a hot tub! What we got was a poor, run-down hotel in a semi-quiet area with the worst bed ever, and a broken hot tub. I would never stay here again, and would highly recommend that you seek out another hotel as well. Even the restaurant in the hotel was horrible. Lots of hidden charges at checkout.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    180
    88
    44
    48
See reviews for
76
205
19
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from Miami where we had a really great time, we stayed at the claridge hotel which was very nice,we booked a standard room but when we checked the size it was to small I then called the hotel to upgrade to a junior suit but when we were shown the room it never came up to the expectation as it looked out on to the car park at the rear side of the hotel so we were not at all impressed.when we asked to be move to another room we were told that the hotels 50 rooms were fully booked but and as soon as another room became available we would be moved. The staff were very helpfull the hotel was very rustic but clean we were moved to the 2 nd floor with a balcony which was a lot bigger and more comfortable.we are hoping to go Back and would stay there again as we did not want to be in the hub of everything we did not mind walking or taking the bus to

Room Tip: Upgrade if u are not entirely happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel was okay with a reasonably sized room and bathroom only a shower however a bus ride away from the hub of south beach but we rented bikes which you can get opposite the hotel this was a 3 star accommodation so don't expect high standard fittings It was a little tired looking but a lovely building the staff were friendly enough and we ate once in the restaurant food was good we were given a free glass of wine too but we didn't try the breakfast don't drink the water in the room 5 dollars a bottle!! No pool although a jacuzzi in th hotel itself which closed at 10 pm thank god as it could get noisy all in all we enjoyed our stay but would have preferred to have been nearer to Lincoln road and a beach side facing hotel with a pool

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at this lovely listed Claridge boutique hotel, i didn't want to stay in a high raised hotel, and in the thick of all the activities, so this was ideal for my 50th birthday. this hotel does not give any of the comforts the bigger hotels offer, there is no airport shuttle service, you'll have to pay the flat $32 taxi fare to get there, ( don't listen to your travel provider, they will only email a request to the hotel for a shuttle service, but you won't get it, they'll request anything to get your money) there is a resort tax of $9 for each day you stay at the hotel, we were not best please to having to pay another fee, this covers the towels, wi fi and other odds and ends, so please read the fine print before you get there, you can refuse the service and do without, the rooms are medium sized, but some do over look the parking bay, if your not happy with that, ask to be moved, they are very happy to do so, the Breakfast buffet i recommend you stay clear of, do what we did, walk a few blocks up to the Lincoln road area, you'll thank me for it. Don't drink the bottled water in the rooms, you'll pay just under $6!!!!! buy your own water (Walgreen stores sell 2 x 1ltr Evian water for $4) there's a free ice machine at hotel's basement floor, just ask at reception for directions. The room phones are free, providing you call locally starting with 305, ideal for takeaways. Hotel parking will cost you $22 a day before tax, and that's it, i loved the hotel, i will be back, but wiser the next time

Room Tip: always ask for the room with a balcony over looking the sea front, if it's available, they'l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and was treated like royalty!! Arrived early on day of check in and rather than send us away for a few hours Eloy ( the manager ) had our room prepared immediately , and to top it off upgraded us to a junior suite !! Everybody was extremely helpful, room was always spotless , location was excellent, away from bustle but still close to everything, staff were always willing to go the extra mile, I couldn't have asked for more, thank you for an amazing stay, already organising my next trip to Miami for next year and I'll definitely be staying at the Claridge, my home away from home :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 3 days (Thank heavens it wasnt longer) before flying out to Antigua. Firstly let me say how i was disgusted to see 2 bottles of water on the sideboard in our room would have cost us $4.99 plus tax per bottle if we had opened one, we obviously didnt. Should this not have been complimentary ??. The price and food in the so called restaraunt was disgusting, the hash browns and waffles were cold and tasteless and the rest of the breakfast wasnt much better. We didnt have an evening meal while we were there has we wouldnt pay the price for a meal that we thought would be as horrible as the breakfast was. A bottle of wine cost $31 (over the road the same wine cost $9 a bottle at the shop), I got a bottle of Becks lager on my arrival and that cost me $9. Also if you want a taxi you have to get one yourself as the reception dont get you one. Lincoln Road and the rest of the main shops are miles away from here and are a long walk away too. We would definetley not stay here again and would advise anyone thinking about staying to avoid and find somewhere else.
We couldnt wait to leave !!

Room Tip: Avoid the Claridge Hotel in Miami.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here over the Labor Day weekend. We booked the stay the same day, so when we got to the hotel our reservation wasn't in yet, but no worries, the nice lady at the front desk found it and also allowed us to check in early, which was a huge bonus. The room rate was very reasonable for South Beach. I will say it is approximately 2 miles north from all the clubs and shopping, BUT...it is directly across from the beach. Taxis are readily available and it was sort of nice to be able to have the beach across the street and not be too far from the action for such a good nightly rate. They also have an indoor jacuzzi which is really neat. As soon as we checked in we changed and walked across the street to the beach. It was nice! South Beach is such a gorgeous beach. Oh and feel free to go topless...LOL...other people feel free to do as such. I will note that we had a personal issue in the middle (very middle) of the night and the gentleman at the front desk was VERY NICE and PERSONABLE and not at all rude to us. He was very helpful and kind. I can't say enought about this hotel as far as the staff goes. The room was small - but it is expected in South Beach - almost like NYC - you aren't in NYC to stay in the rooms and you aren't in South Beach to be in your room! The most important thing was that it was very clean and had really nice furnishings. We thought our shower didn't work and so we called downstairs and maintenance came right away. LOL We weren't pulling the knob the right way. We were a little embarassed but reassured in knowing they were attentive to our needs. I would recommend this hotel if you want a good, clean stay in South Beach right across from the beach. Alot of reviews on other hotels complained about the smell and them being run down...this hotel is neither. You can party all night at the clubs, take a taxi back and get a good nights rest without all the noise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Claridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claridge Hotel

Address: 3500 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Claridge Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridge Hotel has become the third hotel in Miami Beach to be invited to join Historic Hotels of America. A program of the National Trust for Historic Preservation, Historic Hotels of America (HHA) identifies quality hotels that have faithfully maintained their historic integrity, architecture and ambiance. Be among the first to discover one of the best kept secrets in South Beach, The Claridge Hotel. Sensual Mediterranean architecture and our unique atrium lobby envelopes the essence of our boutique hotel. Imagine waking up in one of the most famous cities around the globe, Miami Beach where you are just steps away from the sun, sand and pristine waters. Come experience the mystery first hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Claridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge Hotel Miami Beach
Clarion Miami Beach
Miami Beach Clarion
Claridge Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.