We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Service, Charming "Historic Property"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Grand Vacations Club at South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Grand Vacations Club at South Beach to your Saves list
Hilton Grand Vacations Club at South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1430 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X POINTS PACKAGE
Ranked #18 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Kansas City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Service, Charming "Historic Property"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed two nights March 4-6, 2013. The title sums up the good about this hotel. I would stay here again, but I would also want to look at other properties.

Location: Although it is not "on" the beach, it is right across from a gorgeous park with multiple access points to the beach. Not to worry -- it is still so close that there is no need to wear shoes! One block the other way is Collins Ave with plenty of tony and off-beat shops and restaurants. One could easily spend a week at this hotel and never need or want to go farther than a few blocks away. The beach across the way is clean and well kept too.

Service: Check-in was a snap. And Alex the doorman/valet was polite, prompt and always smiling. First class all the way. We were on the first floor which meant going up five steps to a landing. Multiple times the doorman popped over to help us lift our stroller (containing a sleeping baby) up the five steps to the landing.

Room Description: Clean and fresh. Our room was a true suite with a separate living/kitchen room, bedroom and bathroom, which had access to both the bedroom and the living area. The space was decorated with tasteful and comfy period furniture including a living room with both an arm chair and a couch. They kitchen had everything one could want including a fridge, oven/stove, microwave, and dishwasher. We were able to boil pacifiers on the stove and wash fresh fruit in the included colander!

Other Consideration: Something that people may not appreciate if they are trying to book a hotel in South Beach -- the buildings on Ocean Drive are historic art deco buildings -- and they cannot be completely gutted/remodeled. An historic building definitely has its charm, however, one may notice a couple things here and there that betray its age, such as the small elevator and that some doorways are a little more narrow than usual. But this in no way should deter someone from staying here! It is a high class property with new looking granite counters, clean carpet, shower, bedding, etc. Although the architecture may "look" older, it doesn't "feel" old.

Rating/In the end, I believe this place deserves a solid 4 rating. After all, if I get a good night of sleep at a place then they are more than halfway to an "Excellent" rating. This place was both comfortable and charming. If you only go to one hotel in Miami in your life, or if money is no object, than this location would be a good choice. But if I am ever lucky enough to return to South Beach, then I would probably scope out more affordable options too, including locations with a pool.

Room Tip: Avoid room at the back - our room was at the back of the building, and given the small amount of roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    147
    30
    11
    7
See reviews for
138
191
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Fantastic location in a classic art deco building.
There are few facilities, with a small hot tub on top floor.
The room was very nice, large enough and some nice freebys in the fridge.
The location couldn't be better with the beach just across the street and every restaurant, coffee houses etc... within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for the building on the left, high up.,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Have come to attend a friends wedding at Vizcaya Museum and Gardens and are using some HGVC points to stay in the middle of the action on South Beach. Definitely no shortage of people watching on Ocean Drive!!!!!

We found the hotel to be very "un Hilton" from our other adventures with HGVC. An obvious older building in the Deco District but that is part of its character. 4th floor is best as the fitness room and spa are on that floor in the Ocean Plaza building where we stayed.

Plenty of places to eat the left and right of the hotel. Front Porch Cafe is a good choice for breakfast's if you are not fixing in your room. We did both. They are renovating this September but seems some of it is already done in our room. 1 BR rooms were very comfortable and roomy with the kitchenettes.

2 TV's, large bath room area's all made for a nice visit.
Plenty of Stores, small markets nearby to stock up the fridge in the room.
The beach is directly across the street as well as grassy park areas. So is Starbucks for coffee and nice stroll down by the beach in the a.m. or evening.

We used the big bus company to get a nice overview of south beach, as well as the city side and the Biscayne bay boat tour to check out how the rich and famous live.

Cheapest parking was at Collins & 16th and only a short walk to the hotel. $16/24hr vs $30/day at the hotel.

If we need to come back to South Beach we'd use Ocean Plaza bldg again. The upcoming renovation will add to the place a lot I think.

Room Tip: 4th Floor in Ocean Plaza Bldg. Fitness and spa (not a full pool) are on this floor. 1401 & 2 c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations Club at South Beach, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments about your stay and your experience on our property. We are looking forward to your next visit. Our renovation in September will definitely add to the style of our property and to the comfort of our guests.

Eva Borsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We are vacation club owners at SoBe and vacation here every year. One unusual thing is that there is very little turnover in the staff. That means they are happy and well taken care of. so we are well taken care of. Alex is a fixture and has been there almost as long as we have. Alex will make sure your stay is going well. Very clean and the rooms were upgraded about 10 yrs ago, very nice and now i believe they are being remodeled again.

keep in mind these are all historical 40's art deco bldgs so there is only so much renovation that can be done by law.

great place to stay on Ocean Dr, love it here

Rick And Peggy

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Last year we spent 5 days in this hotel, 2 adults and 2 children. It was tight, with a single bedroom and an adjacent living room/kitchenette. Although it was very clean, it was still very dated, beyond the "Art-Deco" dated. The rooms were not facing the main street (at least ours wasn't) and that was a shame, as it is very scenic. The hotel is at the end of the strip, so you're missing much of the action, but this could be a good thing if you're looking for a quiet space. There is no restaurant or room service available in the hotel, so you'd have to rely on either buying/cooking in the hotel kitchenette, or eating out. The food in the vicinity is good, but a bit pricy. All-in-all, it was more suitable (Miami and the hotel) for couples or young folks than children or teens. No pool, just a jacuzzi on the roof-top.

Room Tip: If you're interested in the night life, pick a hotel further to the left of this. There's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations Club at South Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay at our property. We understand that our facility has some limitations in amenities and services, and while we do not have a restaurant on site, there are many choices in the area that cater to all taste and budget. We hope you enjoyed the location, and the personalized service our staff is so proud to provide. Our property will be going through major renovation beginning in September this year, and once again we will try to capture the art deco characteristic of this unique area. We hope to see you again in the future.

Eva Borsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I need to start off my saying, I love this place and can't wait to go back! The staff is great, very friendly and wiling to help you with everything. The rooms were clean and comfortable. But the one thing that I loved was the closeness to the beach. You step outside and cross the street and the entrance to the beach is right there. HEAVEN! Every morning walk outside, eat breakfast al a local restaurant, then go straight to the beach.

I recommend this location to everyone. Can't want to go back! I'm glad I'm a Hilton Grand Vacation member.

Room Tip: There is a hot tub on the roof and no restaurant, but there are several near by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

the title says it all
the title says it all
the title says it all
the title says it all
the title says it all
the title says it all
the title says it all
the title says it all
the title says it all
Don't make it difficult to submit a review

Room Tip: Self-catering condo, so no restaurant. Older, Art Deco building with no external facilities, except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations Club at South Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback about your stay at our property. We hope to see you again in the future.

Eva Borsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations Club at South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations Club at South Beach

Address: 1430 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Grand Vacations Club at South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at South Beach enjoys a premier address on Ocean Drive in the heart of the world-renowned Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Known for its local hotspots and activities, your anticipated South Beach experience will be full of sun-soaked beaches, trendy boutiques, and pulsating nightlife, and all just steps from your private front porch. Cross Ocean Drive and you'll find yourself on white sand beaches fringed by tropical palm trees and highlighted by the mesmerizing blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The one and two-bedroom suites at the hotel reflect the historical elegance and timeless appeal of this classic motif which makes South Beach one of the most unique of all destinations. Each suite is tastefully inspired by the colors and designs of the Art Deco era and features a well-equipped kitchen with a stove top, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, and all utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations Club at South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Miami Beach
Miami Beach Hilton Hotel
Hilton Vacations Club Miami
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Grand Vacations Club at South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.