We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“came out feeling eh....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fairwind Hotel and Suites

Fairwind Hotel and Suites
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fairwind Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Fairwind Hotel and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #182 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“came out feeling eh....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2007

When I received this hotel on priceline and found horrible reviews on tripadvisor, I found myself dreading the stay at this hotel. The complaints did have some merit - the hotel was old, the hallways smelled bad and the carpet was frayed, but the room was generally clean. Music from the neighboring restaurant was loud and filled the room until about 11 pm at night and started up again in the morning, making it difficult to sleep. I also found a bug on my blanket, which was not a pleasant surprise. Because of the excellent location right in South Beach and the cheap price, I would consider it a moderate value but I would not be willing to recommend this to others (but would consider staying there again if I had no other options).

  • Liked — great location
  • Disliked — general environment and feeling
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    9
    9
    16
    21
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

We stayed in a "suite" which is in a separate building from the main hotel. The "suite" looked like a crackhouse apt. The windows were broken with rotted iron bars over them (someone easitly could have broken in from the outside,) the walls needed painted, the carpet desperately needed cleaned there were stains everywhere, smelled terrible, kitchen was absolutely DISGUSTING. It was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I think it's curious to point out however what this hotel HAS chosen to spend its money on (because it obviously isn't dedicating its funds to cleanliness.) The hotel has state of the art locks, I admit they were pretty cool- a little key chain thing that opened the door instead of a card key. The AC system is also nice, with a remote control. We enjoyed the bath and body works in the disgusting bathroom in which the bathroom door didn't close.. The bathroom also had a state of the art curved shower curtain rod (enough said..) P.S. If you are a single woman or a group of single girls, stay away from the restaurant staff - creepy and weird pickup lines.

  • Liked — State of the art locks
  • Disliked — Filthy!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

We stayed 1 night at 'FAIRWIND HOTEL AND SUITES' in Collins Ave. It was, I jest not, the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The room 524 we were first assigned smelt of urine - like an old peoples geriatric home! The carpet reeked. The hall carpet hadn't been hoovered and had rubbish on it. The overall impression was dark, dirty, tired, neglected, and quite honestly not fit for purpose. It SHOULD NOT be allowed to function as a hotel and I doubt whether it meets health and safety standards.
It was disgusting. We got moved to a 'suite' room 518. The bathroom door inside was severly cracked and the other side in the bedroom had been crudely repaired (it looked as though someone had punched or gone through the door!). 2 lightbulbs were missing - 1 side light and 1 main ceilling. The decor was very poor including holes in the wall from old screw fixings and odd patches of paint. The windows were filthy and appeared just never to be cleaned. Our stay wasn't helped either by a large group of 'partying' young people who were there to enjoy the nightlife of Miami, and subsequently woke us at 1.15 a.m. and 3 a.m. with loud music and shouting. I will be writing to the hotel and Miami Tourist Board to complain.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2007

We stayed at the Fairwind Hotel for New Year's and couldn't have had a worse experience.
Here's a rundown of our problems:
-A/C didn't work
-2 towels for 4 people (one person ended up using a bath mat as a towel). They wouldn't give us more than 2 towels at a time.
-No hot water
-Filthy room
-Damaged furniture and appliances
-Extremely noisy (our neighbors decided to throw bottles of liquor out the windo around 4 AM...plus, the streets are noisy)
-No toilet paper. When we called for toilet paper, they made us go to the front desk to get it ourselves.
-Gross, overflowing toilet in the restaurant that flowed into the restaurant

If you're not dirt poor, I highly recommend splurging and booking a more expensive hotel near Bal Harbour. It's nice to be able to stumble out the door to the shops, restaurant and beach, but you'd be better off sleeping on the beach.

  • Liked — The location (during the day)
  • Disliked — Everything else (honestly)
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2007

South Beach Miami is a lively area. Great beaches, nice ART DECO buildings through-out, a middle sized town atmosphere. But the two star hotels seem to generally be un-modernised ART DECO biuldings. And they are not up to modern day standards. I looked into five or six, each charging about 89-99 (plus tax - which is 13%) US Dollars per mid-week night, and about 120 (plus tax) per weekend night (for a normal double room). For example, the FAIRWIND HOTEL, 1000 Collins Avenue charges those prices, and I stayed in three different rooms. In none of them did the art deco style louvre windows close properly, the bathroom fittings were all ok but not inviting, the beds were only average, and the general decor was beneath what even a casual traveller would appreciate. In general the whole neighbourhood is over-priced - because of the popularity. I suspect that to be satisfied one will have to go a bit more up-market and stomach the higher price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
International Airport
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2006

Just forget it, this Hotel would be worth like 20 Dollars a night. Bad service, unfriendly,[----] up rooms, horrible. Hopefully it will go down soon and shut down forever. November 2006.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2006

Our stay was Terrible. When we arrived our reservation had the wrong rates... Front desk corrected the price and was great to work with. The rooms were terrible. Stayed in a suite and smelled badly and stains all over the wall.. needed to be painted.
Had them switch me to a regular room after inspecting two of them. Even though the interior appearance of the hotel was bad I tried to be less critical and decided to stay. Well, our bathroom light when out. I called the front desk to see if they could replace it and was told they did not have access to the maintenance room. The smoke detector in the hall chirped all night because it needed a battery. Our smoke detector in the room was broken completely and only the wires were hanging. I tried to check out at midnight -- but could not find another hotel with vacancies near by. We stayed in the room until 6:30 AM and finally got the heck out of there... DO NOT RECOMMEND ... no even to my pet.

  • Liked — Location to Ocean Drive
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Moved to the Palms Hotel about 2 miles on the beach. Very relaxing, yet can still walk or take taxi to Ocean drive. Everyone walks at night . Parking is terrible on Ocean drive anyway.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#38 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Viscay Hotel
Viscay Hotel
#88 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#45 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#86 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hotel
The Hotel
#22 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Moon Hotel - Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairwind Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairwind Hotel and Suites

Address: 1000 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fairwind Hotel and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Also Known As:
Fairwind Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairwind Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.