We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fairwind Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added Fairwind Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fairwind Hotel and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Lymington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Don't go here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

We stayed 1 night at 'FAIRWIND HOTEL AND SUITES' in Collins Ave. It was, I jest not, the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The room 524 we were first assigned smelt of urine - like an old peoples geriatric home! The carpet reeked. The hall carpet hadn't been hoovered and had rubbish on it. The overall impression was dark, dirty, tired, neglected, and quite honestly not fit for purpose. It SHOULD NOT be allowed to function as a hotel and I doubt whether it meets health and safety standards.
It was disgusting. We got moved to a 'suite' room 518. The bathroom door inside was severly cracked and the other side in the bedroom had been crudely repaired (it looked as though someone had punched or gone through the door!). 2 lightbulbs were missing - 1 side light and 1 main ceilling. The decor was very poor including holes in the wall from old screw fixings and odd patches of paint. The windows were filthy and appeared just never to be cleaned. Our stay wasn't helped either by a large group of 'partying' young people who were there to enjoy the nightlife of Miami, and subsequently woke us at 1.15 a.m. and 3 a.m. with loud music and shouting. I will be writing to the hotel and Miami Tourist Board to complain.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    9
    9
    17
    21
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2007

We stayed at the Fairwind Hotel for New Year's and couldn't have had a worse experience.
Here's a rundown of our problems:
-A/C didn't work
-2 towels for 4 people (one person ended up using a bath mat as a towel). They wouldn't give us more than 2 towels at a time.
-No hot water
-Filthy room
-Damaged furniture and appliances
-Extremely noisy (our neighbors decided to throw bottles of liquor out the windo around 4 AM...plus, the streets are noisy)
-No toilet paper. When we called for toilet paper, they made us go to the front desk to get it ourselves.
-Gross, overflowing toilet in the restaurant that flowed into the restaurant

If you're not dirt poor, I highly recommend splurging and booking a more expensive hotel near Bal Harbour. It's nice to be able to stumble out the door to the shops, restaurant and beach, but you'd be better off sleeping on the beach.

  • Liked — The location (during the day)
  • Disliked — Everything else (honestly)
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2007

South Beach Miami is a lively area. Great beaches, nice ART DECO buildings through-out, a middle sized town atmosphere. But the two star hotels seem to generally be un-modernised ART DECO biuldings. And they are not up to modern day standards. I looked into five or six, each charging about 89-99 (plus tax - which is 13%) US Dollars per mid-week night, and about 120 (plus tax) per weekend night (for a normal double room). For example, the FAIRWIND HOTEL, 1000 Collins Avenue charges those prices, and I stayed in three different rooms. In none of them did the art deco style louvre windows close properly, the bathroom fittings were all ok but not inviting, the beds were only average, and the general decor was beneath what even a casual traveller would appreciate. In general the whole neighbourhood is over-priced - because of the popularity. I suspect that to be satisfied one will have to go a bit more up-market and stomach the higher price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
International Airport
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2006

Just forget it, this Hotel would be worth like 20 Dollars a night. Bad service, unfriendly,[----] up rooms, horrible. Hopefully it will go down soon and shut down forever. November 2006.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2006

Our stay was Terrible. When we arrived our reservation had the wrong rates... Front desk corrected the price and was great to work with. The rooms were terrible. Stayed in a suite and smelled badly and stains all over the wall.. needed to be painted.
Had them switch me to a regular room after inspecting two of them. Even though the interior appearance of the hotel was bad I tried to be less critical and decided to stay. Well, our bathroom light when out. I called the front desk to see if they could replace it and was told they did not have access to the maintenance room. The smoke detector in the hall chirped all night because it needed a battery. Our smoke detector in the room was broken completely and only the wires were hanging. I tried to check out at midnight -- but could not find another hotel with vacancies near by. We stayed in the room until 6:30 AM and finally got the heck out of there... DO NOT RECOMMEND ... no even to my pet.

  • Liked — Location to Ocean Drive
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Moved to the Palms Hotel about 2 miles on the beach. Very relaxing, yet can still walk or take taxi to Ocean drive. Everyone walks at night . Parking is terrible on Ocean drive anyway.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2006

Years earlier 2001 it was great, it has been slowly going down in the past few years. This last visit, we had FILTHY/STICKY carpet, no light in the closet, no wash cloths and this was in a SUITE. We had centipedes crawling on the wall. The bed sagged like a spoon and the walls needed painting sooo bad. The noise from the local drunks in the ally was ongoing all night. We will never stay there again

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2006

Okay, I went here with two other girls for cheap spring break. It was cheap, 300 a person for 6 nights. However, when we walked in we saw stains everywhere, paint was all chipped, there was a leak that looked like it had been plugged with a tissue, but it was obviously coming from upstairs and had been fixed before we got there, so it didn't leak anymore! We found something that you smoke marijuana with under the couch, nd the bars on the windows didn't exactly make for a wory free trip. BUT I will say the cleaning service is good, but they don't speak english. the front desk people are just rude. The restaurant people wer awesome though, and you get a discount if youre staying in the hotel.

the location of the hotel is perfect for a non-beachfront hotel. It's right by the cleavlander which had things going on all week, a block away from the beach, and within walking distance to eerything!!! at the end of the night though, being a girl and not wanting to walk, a taxi was like $6, so definitely cheap. There's also a place about a block away which was the 11th street diner i believe it was called. great place to eat and not expensive at all. Also, we said we only had two people checking into the hotel when there were actually 3, but they didnt charge us any extra. They wee mad but they never did anything

I went in to the hotel not expecting much, and I got exactly what i expected; a cheap hotel. i only needed it for sleeping and showering purposes, as when youre in miami you dont exactly want to stay in the hotel room. I wouldnt reccomend it unless youre going cheap. the shets and sleeping parts were clean and everything and the bathrooms and kitchens were too, it just isn't for someone who has the money to go somewhere else.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything besides location and the restaurant
  • Tips/Secrets — only choose this if you cant afford something else
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairwind Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairwind Hotel and Suites

Also Known As:
Fairwind Hotel Miami Beach
Fairwind Hotel
Address: 1000 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#170 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairwind Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fairwind Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairwind Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.