We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel on the beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Florida Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Florida Beach to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Florida Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #106 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel on the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We ended our three week trip to Florida with 6 nights at RIU FLORIDA BEACH. When we first checked in we were put into a smoking room on the somking floor (9th floor). We were not asked if we were smokers and the smell was horrible. Upon request we changed rooms and then had a lovely room on 7th floor with great ocean view. The valet parking assistant was rude when we arrived telling my husband we only had "up to 6 minutes" to unload our luggage from the car, before he would have to "cahrge" us for parking. We had only just arrived and had to take our suitcases out of the car into the (slow) elevator. Breakfast was nice, but smoking is allowed in outside breakfast area, which we thought was not fair to non smokers who had to put up with the cigarette smoke while trying to enjoy breakfast.
Breakfast buffet was good and we also booked some excursions from the hotel. Location is a little too far off from the main spots, although perfect for the beach!! There was a small pool and a nice pool bar. Public bus stop right in front of hote. But when we asked for a bus schedule at the front desk we were told there was not one available. Basically we were satisfied with the hotel. Room was spacious and clean with a large balcony and nice view. Decor was old fashioned (beige colors) and could do with an update. Service at front desk was ok except for putting guests in smoking rooms without asking. Valet parking staff was terrible. Rental car station is close by.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    463
    270
    128
    104
See reviews for
351
388
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gmcat55
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

This was the worst supposed Resort I have ever gone to.
We were charged $17.00 a day to park our car,and they couldn't
offer any security for the car.I was afraid to leave my room,atmospher was like being in the ghetto,rooms were nasty.What a joke,couldn't wait to leave.Oh yeah, food and drink High priced.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

The hotel we stayed at was nice... ish, The interior was nice, and i couldnt see any problems with that, Our room was nice, it was very big. We had air con inside our room, no mini bar options though! We had a small table and 2 chairs. The staff at reception however i really could of thought they would be much more helpfull. We had to get to reception, and i asked for a email address, that was it... And becuase there is so many European people that stay there, aswell as alot of Mexicans. The staff only seemed to speak spanish. The staff at reception only understood what i needed, or wanted if i asked in my very minimal capability to speak either German, or Spanish. As they appear to be fluent. I didnt find the peopl outside the hotel to be much more different. Alot of people spoke Spanish to us. And we found the few Americans that we did meet, which really wasnt alot... To be quite unwelcoming. They werent rude, but they could have been a little nicer.
The hotel itself, where we stayed, there was alot of work going on around the hotel next to ours. But with the glorious sunshine, and the company i had, it didnt bother me in the slightest.
The food was delicious there, the breakfast buffet was something else. It was amazing to see how many different types of food people have for breakfast. From fried chicken, to ceaser salad, to cereals, to all different types of yogurts. It was lovely and i couldt fault them for their food. The prices of their alcohol was quite alot, but they did include in their individual bills tax and tips. So they always went an extra $1-3.
All in all, if we were to go back to Miami, which i doubt... I think we properly would stay there again.
The concierge who worked in the gift shop, was a very helpfull man, and he always spoke to us, as he remembered us. Unlike the reception team!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driehuis, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

The room with sea view was expensive but excellent! 3 beds in a room isn't a problem. The pool is nice, but if you walk 50m you will be in touch with the sea. The breakfast was great: a table with lots of food and friendly staff. The gym is small with only a few machines, but enough for running a few miles or training your muscles.

Disadvantage: You háve to use the valet parking service

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

to start with, id like to say i cannot understand why anyone would come on here and write a bad review about this hotel....clearly people are waaaaay to picky and just want something to complain about!

to begin with, check in was quick , easy and very friendly by a young man called luigi.
he was a true gent the whole holiday always friendly and polite to all the people stayying in the hotel and always smiling, as were all the other staff.

they all went out their way to help us and give us advice and we booked all our trips and the return taxi to the airport through the hotel.

the maids were always smiling and polite and very thorough...even little gestures like folding the towels into swans and having it on the bed with some mints after they had made up the room. was just a lovely place to stay.

theres plenty to choose from on the breakfast buffet from pancakes, scrambled egg, bacon, sausage, hash browns..... to big bowls of fruit, yoghurt and cereal. always fresh soft bread and also a selection of cakes, cookies, croissants and muffins. they also had a salad bar and different meats and cheeses to choose from. the waitresses and waiters were again always very friendly and helpful. they had a chef ready to cook you an ommlsette if you preferred and the food and drink was constantly being topped up to make sure there was enough for everyone.

the room we had was huge! there were only two of us but we had a double bed each.
from our room you could see a hotel next door that was in the process of being built but we didnt once see or get disturbed by builders as described on other reviews! and to be quite honest i didnt come to miami to sit and look out of the window so having a building site next to us, really wasnt an issue when the hotel is situated right on the beautiful white beach!!! we booked a trip through the hotel to the bahamas for the day and while other travel shops in the area were charging up to $169 the hotel charged us only $118 each!it was an amazing trip and would highly recommend to anyone!
the bar staff were really friendly and always smiling aswell...such a nice atmosphere!!

the pool was clean and tidy the only thing i would say is its a bit small for such a large hotel but we didnt mind as we used to beach more anyway. it was a quieter part of the beach so you dont feel like youre packed in like sardines which is great!!

the gym i also found was a little small, but again, wasnt a huge issue!

we went to the aventura mall on the bus which was only $2! but this mall wasnt very good. a lot of expensive clothes that didnt look very good quality.

however, we also went to the sawgrass mall and booked the transfer through the hotel and this mall was a lot bigger and much more to see. not overcrowded either.

taxis around south beach were cheap and easy....they were constantly driving past so it was easy to get around if we needed to. within walking distance of all the shops and a lot of stuff was very good value for money.

we also booked the everglades trip and the seaquarium through the hotel and both these days out were also well worth the money and more expensive everywhere else.

wireless is available in the lobby where theres plenty of comfortable seating areas so dont understand why this would be an issue with anyone.

i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. its convenient and friendly and have nothing but good things to say about it. would definately come back here.

it was only $33 in the taxi from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

Dont't stay in this hotel if you like clean hotels or if you are allergic to HDM. My partner got seriously aggrevated by HDM due to seemingly unclean carpets (chocolate brown - dark grey colors...).

The hallways were smelly as if mold was everywhere under the carpets.

If you like a hotel filled with European families on package tours, lots of children occupying the entire pool then this hotel may be your choice.

The rates are reasonable but the offset...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Bundled with flight, it was about $150 a night to stay here during the week for two nights. If you are coming to Miami for the beach, this is an amazing deal! We were steps away from the beach, which was pretty clean, not very crowded and the water was beautiful and warm. When we weren't at the beach, we were at the pool. There is a small children's pool. We never had a problem finding a lounge chair. If you have kids, I would bring a few toys/inflatable toys. The crowd was more family oriented, or young couples and not really spring breakers.

The room was very clean, and had a refrigerator to keep our water cold during the day. There were a fair number of choices on TV. Having a restaurant with a buffet in the hotel is a plus for convenience. The breakfast buffet was $14, and half price for kids. The dinner buffet, which has a lot of kid friendly options, was $20 dollars and half price for kids. I thought the staff was really friendly. I wouldn't say we put forward any effort, we just were civil and pleasant and that is what was reciprocated.

A few minor complaints: lack of internet in the rooms was pretty annoying. I had my smartphone, but I would not come here if I was on a business trip. At the restaurant, you could not get ice water (I was told). I had to buy a bottle of still or sparkling. If you are sensitive to smoke, there were a lot of Europeans, and a lot of them seemed to smoke. Even a few smokers can seem like a lot in this setting. The room I had did not smell like smoke. The building next door was under construction but it seemed to be halted the week we were there.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Florida Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Florida Beach

Address: 3101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riu Florida Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 10-story building is located on the oceanfront in South Miami Beach. Provide limited parking at an additional charge. We are only a 20-minute walk to the Art Deco district; 7.5 miles from downtown Miami, 3.1 miles from a variety of shops, and 11 miles from Miami International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Florida Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Florida Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Riu Florida Beach Miami
Riu Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Florida Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.