We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location nice Boardwalk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Florida Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Florida Beach to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Florida Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good location nice Boardwalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at Riu resorts in Bahama's and Aruba. It seems that this chain of resorts buys existing properties and then renovates them overtime. We booked the room and when we arrived we were taken to a large dated room that smelled like mildew. We spoke with staff and the manager took us to a newly renovated room and offered it to us at no additional cost. This room was the new design for the entire hotel. It was very nice and well appointed. The grounds are very nice and the beach is clean. Directly behind the resort is a nice boardwalk that is excellent for an early morning jog or walk. Lincoln Road mall is a 15 min walk from the resort and is filled with outdoor restaurants and boutiques. Not the best resort on the beach but certainly not the worst. Make sure you ask for a newly renovated room. The staff are very friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    460
    270
    128
    102
See reviews for
346
385
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We spent 4 nights there in May. Good size family rooms, friendly staff, and nice pool area. We only had breakfast there which was excellent, buffet style consisting of everything you could think of. It was a nice Miami Beach location, close to all attractions & street parking is available nearby. We had a room with a sea view which was a bonus. Only down side was the hotel construction taking place next door. Good value for money, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed with my wife for four days in a really nice and comfortable room, with lateral partial sea view on 10th floor.
As usually Riu Florida Beach offers a huge breakfast (a little expensive), but it is almost a lunch too. If you want something lighter, is possible to take a continental breakfast at the pool (cheaper but very well served).
A very nice swimming pool that communicate directly with the lovely beach.
Incredible location near everything in Miami Beach (specially South Miami)
This hotel is closed right now for an integral remodeling, and will open again on november/december 2014 as RIU Plaza Miami Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors, and if it is possible with sea view. Unforgetable!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We've stayed at this hotel three years in a row, which would suggest we like it -- a lot. The reality is it's moderately priced and decent, which is all we need for a vacation where we spend very little time in the room. The beds are comfortable, there's a fridge in the room and there is plenty of closet and drawer space.

Pros:
Location: The hotel is right on the ocean and on the Miami Beach boardwalk. People run, walk, blade and bike on here starting in the (very) early morning. It's beautiful, peaceful and safe on the boardwalk (although there are dozens of stray cats and a homeless person now and then). Also, you are close enough to South Beach to walk down at night, but far enough away that the area is quiet.
Cost: This is a moderate-priced hotel and the space is decent.
The pool: The pool area and the grounds are well maintained. Everything is clean and there is ample seating around the pool, even during peak season.
Overall cleanliness: The common area and the rooms are clean.

Cons:
The food: It's bland at best in the restaurant and the cabana menu selection is *super* limited. What they do have tastes a lot like bowling alley food.
The front desk: While the staff is nice enough, they're disorganized and there's often a long line at the front desk and at the valet. Also, I emailed and called repeatedly before we went down regarding dietary concerns (I was pregnant and ridiculously selective) and they never, ever got back to me.
The amenities: The shampoo and conditioner are dispensers on the wall. If you care about the condition of your hair, you will want to bring your own product (and I say this as someone who willingly uses 99-cent Suave at home).
The clientele: If you're looking for young and hip, this place is not for you. Guests tend to be in their 40s (youngest) and older. My sister and I were in our early 30s when we first started staying here and we were -- by far -- the youngest.
Few stores/restaurants within walking distance: We'd walk down to South Beach for breakfast, but it was a haul best done in sneakers on the boardwalk. Walking on the street side is not practical.
No spa: Other hotels have massage options. You can walk down to Bliss, but it's a good 15-plus minute walk (not ideal after you're relaxed from a massage).
The WiFi: Securing WiFi was terribly archaic. You had to buy this credit card-type thing that allowed you Internet access. It was expensive ($40-ish for a couple of days) and the Internet was not simple to access.

Overall, I would stay again because it serves our purpose, but if you're looking for luxury or swank this isn't it.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have gorgeous views. And, of course, the higher floors offer the most quiet for sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We booked a trip here through Orbitz, in April, for arrival on June 27. We called with a question on June 26 and found out the property is currently closed. Neither the Riu or Orbitz made us aware of this, we just accidentally found out by calling to ask about beach towels. If you currently have a reservation here, please try to make arrangements before arriving in Miami. Their website, nor Orbitz's show them as closed. We did stop by during our time in Miami, and it is most definitely closed for rennovations.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night before our cruise. We were pleasantly surprised at the accommodations as well as the great customer service we received. This hotel is beautiful and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Direct access to the beach! Couldn't have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel its dirty the carpet smells And the Rooms aré small And dirty. This is the worst riu hotel I've stayed in my worst experience.The restaurant look dirty and old didn't really had a variety of food. The staff seem like they were lost and the elevators are too small we got stuck once. Overall this is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Florida Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Florida Beach

Address: 3101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riu Florida Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 10-story building is located on the oceanfront in South Miami Beach. Provide limited parking at an additional charge. We are only a 20-minute walk to the Art Deco district; 7.5 miles from downtown Miami, 3.1 miles from a variety of shops, and 11 miles from Miami International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Florida Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Florida Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Riu Florida Beach Miami
Riu Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Florida Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.