We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not currently operating” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Florida Beach

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Florida Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Florida Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
North Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not currently operating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a trip here through Orbitz, in April, for arrival on June 27. We called with a question on June 26 and found out the property is currently closed. Neither the Riu or Orbitz made us aware of this, we just accidentally found out by calling to ask about beach towels. If you currently have a reservation here, please try to make arrangements before arriving in Miami. Their website, nor Orbitz's show them as closed. We did stop by during our time in Miami, and it is most definitely closed for rennovations.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    446
    278
    131
    104
See reviews for
323
373
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night before our cruise. We were pleasantly surprised at the accommodations as well as the great customer service we received. This hotel is beautiful and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Direct access to the beach! Couldn't have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel its dirty the carpet smells And the Rooms aré small And dirty. This is the worst riu hotel I've stayed in my worst experience.The restaurant look dirty and old didn't really had a variety of food. The staff seem like they were lost and the elevators are too small we got stuck once. Overall this is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Lots of construction...service was great though. beach was nice. Great location, outdoor space was beautiful. Not right in the action area of South Beach so not party central noisy, but a quick taxi/bus ride/walk down. Hotel was safe and secure...more than I can say for outdoor restaurants in South Beach. Friends purse was stolen from an outdoor street side table. While we were sitting with it. Be careful!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from construction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The room already renovated are great. Walking distance from the Old Deco district . The pool is great. This is 4th time in Miami Beach and this hotel is much better than ones 50% more expensive. Great service at reception.

Room Tip: Rooms already renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My family and I stayed here after our cruise. We wanted a day to just relax and found it here. They helped us with an early check in and also with an early check out (around 5am). They arranged a cab for us to the airport which was great. The staff was very friendly. The buffet breakfast was very good. My kids ordered pizza from the snack bar at lunch. I have to say it was good. The pool area was nice and the beach was great. My kids loved it! There is a sand bar at the beach which allows the little ones to get pretty far out. Also great for footballs or Frisbees. Older gentleman selling coconuts on the boardwalk was cool. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to stay at a hotel on the beach and not pay a ridiculous price. Great job Riu!

Room Tip: I asked for a oceanfront on the renovated side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We visited the Riu for the 3rd time with the family. As announced, restructuring work was done, and we managed to get 2 rooms not too close to the work. New rooms are fine, although one directly enters into the 'bathroom'. Service of the staff is great, friendly and our kids love the breakfast buffet and pool. It's nicely situated next to the beach: just cross the boardwalk and you enjoy the sand and sea. Also for going to South Beach, an ideal location. We will return for sure, while going to Miami.

Room Tip: Keep checking the room reservations: Riu has tendency of being overbooked and especially with late a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Florida Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Florida Beach

Address: 3101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riu Florida Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 10-story building is located on the oceanfront in South Miami Beach. Provide limited parking at an additional charge. We are only a 20-minute walk to the Art Deco district; 7.5 miles from downtown Miami, 3.1 miles from a variety of shops, and 11 miles from Miami International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riu Florida Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Florida Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Riu Florida Beach Miami
Riu Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Florida Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.