We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel WILL be beautiful...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #107 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hotel WILL be beautiful...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Lots of construction...service was great though. beach was nice. Great location, outdoor space was beautiful. Not right in the action area of South Beach so not party central noisy, but a quick taxi/bus ride/walk down. Hotel was safe and secure...more than I can say for outdoor restaurants in South Beach. Friends purse was stolen from an outdoor street side table. While we were sitting with it. Be careful!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from construction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    488
    280
    132
    107
See reviews for
369
407
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The room already renovated are great. Walking distance from the Old Deco district . The pool is great. This is 4th time in Miami Beach and this hotel is much better than ones 50% more expensive. Great service at reception.

Room Tip: Rooms already renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My family and I stayed here after our cruise. We wanted a day to just relax and found it here. They helped us with an early check in and also with an early check out (around 5am). They arranged a cab for us to the airport which was great. The staff was very friendly. The buffet breakfast was very good. My kids ordered pizza from the snack bar at lunch. I have to say it was good. The pool area was nice and the beach was great. My kids loved it! There is a sand bar at the beach which allows the little ones to get pretty far out. Also great for footballs or Frisbees. Older gentleman selling coconuts on the boardwalk was cool. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to stay at a hotel on the beach and not pay a ridiculous price. Great job Riu!

Room Tip: I asked for a oceanfront on the renovated side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We visited the Riu for the 3rd time with the family. As announced, restructuring work was done, and we managed to get 2 rooms not too close to the work. New rooms are fine, although one directly enters into the 'bathroom'. Service of the staff is great, friendly and our kids love the breakfast buffet and pool. It's nicely situated next to the beach: just cross the boardwalk and you enjoy the sand and sea. Also for going to South Beach, an ideal location. We will return for sure, while going to Miami.

Room Tip: Keep checking the room reservations: Riu has tendency of being overbooked and especially with late a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights after returning from our cruise. We picked this location because the price, location and ratings had a good balance. The hotel was very accommodating with our early arrival. When we booked we requested an early check in but were told that they could not guarantee it, however when we arrived they offered to hold our bags in a secure area while we wait but then 5 minutes later advised us they had a room ready.

The lobby was nice and comfortable and had 30 consecutive minutes of free Internet per day otherwise you could purchase Internet time in your room. Getting off the elevator to go to the room I tripped because the floor is not level with the elevator since they had laid thick tiles on the floor. The halls also had a smell that resembled baby powder.

We were happy with the room, it was nice and clean and had a renovated bathroom. The bed looked nice but I found it too soft and it caused me to wake up with back aches, however my wife found it to be ok. We had a beautiful view of the pool and beach from our balcony but found out the hard way that they had done some painting of the white balcony waĺls and didn't have any warning, so when I leaned against the wall I got white paint residue on the back of my black shirt. I was not able to get it all out in the bathroom sink but when I complained to the manager he had it sent out for cleaning.

The pool was nice and we were able to get deck chairs by the pool easily. They had poolside towel service which was nice. I was surprised to find out that the beach chairs and umbrellas in front of the hotel were not from the hotel and had a pricy rental charge if you wanted to use them. We chose to lay a towel on the sand instead. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful and enjoyed our stay. They have a shuttle to the airport but you have to pay. We found the restaurant to be priced high but found a Subway restaurant just down the street.

I think I would stay here again as long as the prices stayed competitive.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed here for five days in the beginning of may with a girlfriend. Reception was warm and welcoming and check in took about two minutes. Our room was on the tenth floor and renovated. It was lovely, clean, and modern. There was no balcony in our room which was a bummer and the view was mostly of the construction next door, but we didnt come to miami for the room so we didnt care. The noise of the construction did not bother us at all during our stay.
The pool area is very nice and never felt over crowded. The pool bar was nice and had good service. Prices were reasonable for Miami standards. We also are lunch there as well. The food is good but nothing to knock your socks off.
The beach off of the property is amazing! Clear water and once again didnt seem overly crowded. Since we are both in our twenties a slightly more party atmosphere would have been nice, however the action in south beach is only a 15 minute cab ride away. The rui made a nice compromise of being quiet and relaxing but close to the party spots. We figured out cabs hang out in the alley next to the hotel so we never had trouble getting one.
The only minor complaint is the size of the elevators, they are tiny and there are only two so sometimes we had to wait awhile. But that's a minor issue.
Overall I would stay again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightsville Bch, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here Easter weekend and found that the price was really good for the location and the amenities provided. This is a good hotel for families. The pool was really nice and relaxing and the beach was easy to access. I decided to write this review so I could let the management know how much we liked pool attendants. They were very nice and gave my nephew extra attention which made us all happy. Also on the day we left, my nephew left a bag with his souvenir stuffed animals on the front steps of the hotel. We didn’t realize this till we got the airport. We left on a Sunday and the stuffed animals made it home Friday. We were impressed with their speed and care shipping them home.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach

Address: 3101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach reopens after a refurbishment that has converted the facilities of the former Hotel Riu Florida Beach, renovating them completely in order to offer the best services for those travelling for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Florida Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Riu Florida Beach Miami
Riu Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.