We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #107 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place for the price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed here for five days in the beginning of may with a girlfriend. Reception was warm and welcoming and check in took about two minutes. Our room was on the tenth floor and renovated. It was lovely, clean, and modern. There was no balcony in our room which was a bummer and the view was mostly of the construction next door, but we didnt come to miami for the room so we didnt care. The noise of the construction did not bother us at all during our stay.
The pool area is very nice and never felt over crowded. The pool bar was nice and had good service. Prices were reasonable for Miami standards. We also are lunch there as well. The food is good but nothing to knock your socks off.
The beach off of the property is amazing! Clear water and once again didnt seem overly crowded. Since we are both in our twenties a slightly more party atmosphere would have been nice, however the action in south beach is only a 15 minute cab ride away. The rui made a nice compromise of being quiet and relaxing but close to the party spots. We figured out cabs hang out in the alley next to the hotel so we never had trouble getting one.
The only minor complaint is the size of the elevators, they are tiny and there are only two so sometimes we had to wait awhile. But that's a minor issue.
Overall I would stay again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    490
    282
    133
    109
See reviews for
371
409
28
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrightsville Bch, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here Easter weekend and found that the price was really good for the location and the amenities provided. This is a good hotel for families. The pool was really nice and relaxing and the beach was easy to access. I decided to write this review so I could let the management know how much we liked pool attendants. They were very nice and gave my nephew extra attention which made us all happy. Also on the day we left, my nephew left a bag with his souvenir stuffed animals on the front steps of the hotel. We didn’t realize this till we got the airport. We left on a Sunday and the stuffed animals made it home Friday. We were impressed with their speed and care shipping them home.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

When we arrived the rooms were not ready and had to wait a few hours.

Had to get Valet parking which was very good. The parking attendants were friendly and had our car ready usually within 5-10 minutes.

The rooms themselves were very clean and updated (renovated ones). We didnt spend much time in the rooms but came with cable and all the necessities.

Food was a bit too much for the buffet. We went out to eat most of the time and enjoyed doing that as opposed to staying at the resort. In the back there was a lounging area with a pool but it was fairly small and closed off before you get to the beach.

The beach itself was a bit dirty, it was covered in sea weed and you had to pay an extra fee, not sure how much for the chairs or umbrella but it was a separate company that deals with the guests.

There was construction going on outside which you could hear as early as 7 in the morning since they are jam packing more resorts in there. We faced the street and were on the 7th floor but it was still audible in the morning.

Overall it was an alright stay but nothing special or anything that stands out.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room. The other rooms that have not been updated are apparently a real let down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We have just returned home from an amazing holiday to Clearwater and Miami. We drove down to the Riu on Miami beach after a 4 night stay in Clearwater, it was a great experience and great fun in the Mustang convertible. This is our second stay at the Riu and it was just as great as the last time. The staff are very helpful and the room was really lovely as they have been renovated. It is a brilliant location with a beautiful beach, we were very lucky to have had very hot sunny days. Loved the rental bikes on south beach, very convenient and good fun. Hoping to return in September for another magical holiday. Thank you to all the staff at the Riu for a wonderful stay. You must try the breakfast buffet!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

No major issues with the Riu for us miami veterans. The price is right for March.

We were given an older room and were able to upgrade without charge the next day to a renovated room which has a tile floor, new bath with shower (no tub) and much greater water pressure. The room faced the street, Collins Ave. which would not be ideal for most people but didn't bother us because we were out a lot and the windows seemed to block out the sound of cars on the street. The renov. rooms have the same beds & furniture as the older ones. The beds are older, not the most comfortable. They have no king beds which was bizarre. Every bed is a full & rooms have two so this is definitely not a romantic place. Its efficient if you are spending most if your time out, by the pool or beach. The rooms are large enough, some more spacious than others. Ours was quite large and comfortable.

The pool area is quiet & lovely and this is the best feature of the hotel. We stayed at The Red across the street last year which is also very nice but their pool area is on the street and this makes it a noisy area. In miami there is always construction going on next door. We were able to tune it out and the again the bedroom windows were solid enough to block out most of the noise.

Pros: pool area, relaxed atmosphere, good price for Miami, renov. rooms are fine except beds and pillows that are not new or solid. There are a few good restaurants nearby, all good. There is a market which has many items so you don't have to travel far for groceries. There is plenty in walking distance of 15 blocks but the best selection of restaurants are south/past 15th St. Riu has a buffet for dinner for $25. I found it very good with plenty of selections like an all-inclusive but certainly not fine dining. The staff was very accommodating. The gym was small but fine. I do the treadmill and the equipment worked unlike other places we've stayed.

We've stayed at several small hotels in Miami and we preferred some of the extra things about this larger resort hotel. You have more confidence that things will work right compared to many of the sub standard places in Miami that show bait & switch type photos & are really quite run down. Riu is deinitely dated in parts but not run down and in Miami thats a big difference in lifting or dampening your spirits while on vacation in a warm & sunny place.

The Riu is what you see is what you get. I'd much rather stay at the Riu again vs. a boutique hotel for the same price or a bit more because of the pool area and it being on the beach side. Some of the boutique hotels (many of which are not on the beach) have a feel like you are in a busy city rather than a beach area and have much smaller rooms. Its a quieter part of town which some people don't like because its a far walk, but doable to Ocean drive.

Cons: totally dated lobby and stairwells, direct TV cut out & had limited channels it was like being in another country if your used to Comcast. Its not like other Riu all inclusives. It's basically a hotel with a nice pool area, not a resort. A three star hotel but we had a great experience because we know a little about Miami and what you get in this price range usually comes with great disappointment. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed for Miami Music Week & Ultra Music Festival with one other person! Staff fine and had no problems with any of the service, only issue would be how thin the walls are, you can hear other peoples conversations next door and when walking in corridor. Maids came everyday and were lovely to talk to and trustworthy. Pool and beach were beautiful, just a bit too far out from the main Collins Av so would stay closer to the action next time, but im a young lively party girl so this hotel would probs be great for older people. Did the Everglades excursion for $50 each and was a great morning out!

Room Tip: No sea view rooms have been updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Front desk clerk had no personality she had a Very abrasive attitude...Rooms were average and the beds weren't comfortable .. Went to the restaurant for coffee and was told we couldn't order coffee unless we buy the $16 breakfast buffet. Only in room coffee makers for coffee.. I've never heard such a thing. We won't return .. Save your money and go elsewhere .

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach

Address: 3101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach reopens after a refurbishment that has converted the facilities of the former Hotel Riu Florida Beach, renovating them completely in order to offer the best services for those travelling for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Florida Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Riu Florida Beach Miami
Riu Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.