We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Florida Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Florida Beach to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Florida Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Good impression on arivial, reasonable room and a nice pool. However the beach had no loungers unless you paid (other hotels nearby did). Glad we were only staying 1 night as there was a lot of construction work nearby and it was noisy. Disapointing restaurant $28.50pp for a mediocre buffet. No WiFi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    460
    270
    128
    102
See reviews for
346
385
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Ridge, NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I traveled to Miami for work and found this hotel on Expedia – it was one of the less expensive ones but as it’s located on Collins Drive I figured it couldn’t be that bad. Upon arrival, the first thing I noticed was how incredibly nice the lobby was. I checked in but didn’t have time to look at the actual room as I had to go straight to the office. I came back later that night and was kind of surprised at how old the room was. The one pro is the balcony with the ocean view. That is really the only thing the hotel has going for it. There were two buildings under construction – one on the left side and on the right – so it was a bit noisy. The hotel is steps away from the beach, but absolutely no beach chairs, nothing. You have to pay to rent them which is kind of unfortunate. We just laid out on the towels. The hotel also has a breakfast buffet – a whopping $15 a person gets you a pretty mediocre selection of food. It was disappointing. The omelet station had a line of 10 deep and we couldn’t wait so just went for the basic hash browns and scrambled eggs. Overall, I wouldn’t recommend this hotel for room comfort and food, but would definitely recommend it for its proximity to the beach and ocean views. The parking is $20 a day, and you also have to pay for WiFi. Very inconvenient for business travel.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the top floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We weren't staying here but decided to have lunch here as it was a RIU so we thought it would be good...WRONG. We sat by the pool as the main restaurant was closed in the afternoon. There were 4 staff members hanging out at the cabana bar chatting but not serving customers as they're supposed to. We waited 5 mins for service ordered a clubhouse sandwich that we shared. I wanted to order a Warsteiner beer but they were out of stock even though it was listed on the menu, my next choice was also sold out and I didn't want Bud or Coors so I just had water. You would think that if this place was a "resort" and it was during spring break they would have been all stocked up....duh. We waited a long time for our food, at least 15 mins, I was just about to say forget it and leave when it came. It was lukewarm and I would have sent it back but we were hungry. It was 4 out of 10. Not very good for a resort. The bread was all flattened. We paid $9.50 for this rip off. We left and did not leave a tip. Will never be back. I'm in the hotel industry and this place needs a good kick in the *ss. Why isn't the manager cracking the whip instead of letting the bar staff stand around when they should be working. You could be making more money. Was there on March 19 afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE! It will ruin your trip. The staff is worthless, the rooms have not been renovated since 1981, the walls are PAPER thin, and did I mention that the staff is WORTHLESS? It is as if they go out of there way to provide you with the worst possible service and to be rude just for the sake of it. The front desk knows nothing. Check in took 25 minutes and check out took 10 minutes - all without a line! If there is a line, plan on an hour. This is the first hotel experience that has ever made me so mad that I wrote a review. Trust me, learn from my mistake of trying to save a couple bucks, DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Riu Florida Beach Miami disappointed us. We have stayed in Riu's before and always found them to have great standards and service. This one was a let down.

The hotel is quite run down, whilst we had a large room the decor needs updating and it wasn't particularly clean and smelt musty. The staff were not great, they weren't overly friendly and it seemed the whole place was out to fleece you of your cash! Location is OK, but we knew that it wasn't too central, 20-25 minute walk to south beach down the beach front.

Some positives are the nice Pool area and nice beachfront, with boardwalk right outside.

Probably wouldn't go back. Miami is great with lots to see and do, pick a hotel closer to the main areas and with better standards!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed at the Riu myself and 3 other girls for 3 nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful when we arrived and were able to get us adjoining rooms. Property was in a great location, (minus construction being done next door) just bring an ipod/speaker dock on the beach and you won't even notice. Beach was beautiful, they charge for chairs but towels are free so we laid on them and didn't even need the chairs. Rooms were comfortable and spacious, a little outdated but you are rarely in your room to even care. Buffet breakfast and dinner were good, standard food you would find if you were to stay at an all inclusive resort. Only ate breakfast and dinner at the buffet once so don't know if it changes everyday. For lunch the snack bar at the pool has good food and the most friendly staff, they also make great drinks. Liquor store is walking distance right down the street and nightlife is no more than $10 to $15 cab ride away. LIV the club is also around the corner at the Fountainebleu. At checkout they give you a room to store your luggage if you have a late flight, and also a shower room to use before you leave. Overall the experience was great, would definitly go back to that hotel if I was getting a flight/hotel package.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake district
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Riu for 12 nights in February, on arrival the hotel looks fine and the foyer is quite impressive.

Check in was a breeze and the staff were excellent and couldn't have been more helpful...but i'm afraid thats where the excellents seems to end.

our room was on the eighth floor so off to the lifts we went, I had to laugh at the speed of the lifts during the holiday i even managed to beat them down from the eighth floor and i'm an overweight coach potato, the corridor on our floor was horrendous and i must admit my stomach lurched at the thought of our room.
it looked as though it had been painted 20 years ago, there were repairs to holes in the walls that any self respecting diyer would have been appalled at and the doors looked like someone had been tapping paint off them with a hammer.

The room itself was ok, although there was a funny musty smell that you just couldn't get rid of and the air con was the loudest i'd ever heard no way we could leave it on when we were in the room but it was clean.

we had a deal that gave us the buffet breakfast and this was more than adequate and there was always room to sit. We did eat in the restaurant on a few occasions and the food was good if a little over priced.

the pool area is ok and the beach is just across the boardwalk which was lovely.

I could go on but all in all the hotel served it's purpose but is in dire need of a revamp, there is no way that it is 4* I would say a lot closer to 2*

would i go to Miami again yes most definately, would i stay at the Riu no, unless it was totally revamped.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Florida Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Florida Beach

Address: 3101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riu Florida Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 10-story building is located on the oceanfront in South Miami Beach. Provide limited parking at an additional charge. We are only a 20-minute walk to the Art Deco district; 7.5 miles from downtown Miami, 3.1 miles from a variety of shops, and 11 miles from Miami International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Florida Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Florida Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Riu Florida Beach Miami
Riu Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Florida Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.