We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are done with Riu” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #110 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Kingston, Canada
1 review
“We are done with Riu”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We received three complementary days at any Riu resort as we were so unhappy from our Dominican Republic Riu stay, we complained.
We were on our honeymoon travelling south and figured we would use those complimentary days in South Beach, Florida.
We arrived at 230pm....check in was not until 4pm so we waited the hour and a half. Not a big deal, even though we watched people who arrived after us being given their room. We were given the card to our room just after 4pm and told that they wanted to make everything just right.
We arrived at our room and the stench was noticeable from the hallway. The musty smell that emmanated from our room was overwhelming. We figured the room had been left unused without the fan going. We showered and left for dinner. The smell did not dissipate. It seemed worse. To get rid of the smell, the carpet would have to be removed and a dehumidifier would have to run non stop. All our clothes in our luggage reaked of the smell. We found small ants all over the sink in the bathroom. The water pressure was horrible.
We left after only two days, forfeiting our last day there. To top it off, we went to grab a luggage cart so we could get out of there. A man called across the lobby and told us we had to call an extension to get the cart brought up. Fine - we did that. 20 minutes later after calling no one showed. We had to physically go down to the lobby to get the man to bring the cart. If this was a tip grab, we made sure he did not get a dime.
We are done with Riu. We will never ever ever go to a Riu resort again. They once again managed to disappoint and waste our time. Our money is best spent elsewhere. If you disregared this review, then be sure not to ever take room 601 in this place. You will regret it.

Room Tip: Do not stay at a Riu here or anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    543
    299
    139
    115
See reviews for
410
451
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Miami Beach is never, ever an inexpensive place to stay. Having been burned once before (see: Geneva Hotel) we decided to spring for something a little nicer. As the adage goes, "you get what you pay for." Decor was a little cheesy (80s Florida with pastel colors) and there was nothing really special about the rooms. It's clean enough and comfortable enough, but if you want something really special, be prepared to spend the money (and spend it somewhere else.)

Room Tip: There is a lot of construction going on in the area. Scout it out and identify problem sides of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is the 7th time I have been to this hotel.......the last time I visited was about 3 years ago and the standard was not very good BUT on this visit I was very pleased. The hotel reception staff were so helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble, the resturant staff were also great. The rooms brilliant and hey the lift was working for the whole 9 days we stayed. I did notice that some guests were very rude to the staff...we were checking in and some guests were pig ignorant to the reception staff, I could not believe how they were being treated! Will def. be going back again next year, love the location and bus stop right outside the hotel.....try the 120 bus to the mall its quicker that the "S" bus.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to a sea view room........level 9 had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary. It was an overall nice stay. They have redone the rooms recently and replaced minor things like paintings and duvet covers. The bathrooms need to be renovated- but have great water pressure! We had a room with a balcony facing the ocean- the view was GREAT! The hotel room itself was very clean and comfortable- but was very loud. You could hear people walking down the hallway. The front desk staff is really nice and helpful. The pool bar staff were so-so, it seems like they were more interested in the spanish tv playing than actually waiting on guests. Both the bartenders in the lobby bar were really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just back from Riu and really enjoyed our stay. Good points: very clean hotel, rooms, reception area and pool area. Had breakfast buffet each day which was excellent, plenty of choice (only downside is the toasters, very slow). Housekeeping very pleasant. Lovely location right across the boardwalk from the beach and a nice walk up the boardwalk to Lincoln road. Bus stops right outside riu when heading back from Lincoln road and going to aventura mall.

Bad points:
Hotel charges 1 dollar for each suitcase if you need to store it, check in is late 4pm however they did give us our room at 2. Reception staff don't speak much English so very hard to communicate with them. On our last day we arranged with the concierge for a large taxi for 4, I explained we had 4 cases and a bike box. I was advised the rate was 42 dollars which I felt was fine. When we were called for the taxi we discovered they had arranged for us to share the taxi with another couple who had 2 cases. We eventually managed to fit everything in however very unhappy with the concierge. My husband tried to explain to reception but no help at all. Also when we arrived reception gave me a key and when I went to use it the room was already occupied, no explanation or apology from reception.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tn
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Riu Florida hotel leaves nothing to chance. We advised maid service we did not need room service one day. That evening we received a note slid under door telling us we could still get room service or any service needed
On our last day, we had a 9pm flight out of Miami but wanted to spend afternoon at pool and beach. We checked out at checkout deadline of noon The hotel provided us a complimentary room to take a shower and clean up after our day at the pool. They do this for every guest that request it

Overall the staff went above and beyond at every step. It is a very nice comfortable hotel that is older but remodeled in the past year and now is very up to date.

Cleanliness was exceptional by Miami Beach standards. The restaurant buffet quality is great and unlimited. However we are not big eaters so for us it was a little expensive but there are unlimited eating options in Miami Beach

The only shortcoming you may experience is that there is limited English. The staff can speak English but it appears as second language for all The guests were almost completely South American and European so not much English spoken

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

need some entertainment in lobby, need to make gift shop larger would have more customers. Also need water spicket for when you come back from the beach.Could increase the menu with more meat and amenites, need to put more coffe and tea and sugar in rooms

Room Tip: choose rooms on the lower floors we were on the smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#57 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,484 reviews
Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
#105 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oceanfront
Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront
Oceanfront
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#84 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Thompson Miami Beach
#4 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach

Address: 3101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach reopens after a refurbishment that has converted the facilities of the former Hotel Riu Florida Beach, renovating them completely in order to offer the best services for those travelling for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Florida Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Riu Florida Beach Miami
Riu Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.