We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Jewel of a Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
The Savoy Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Magnificent Jewel of a Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel is a real 24 Carat diamond amidst a lot of Miami Beach fools gold. The location is perfect---directly situated on a gorgeous stretch of beach & several blocks removed from the noisy strip along ocean drive. The grounds are spectacular--2 large art deco, kidney shaped swimming pools (one heated , the other not, take your pick) surrounded by a veritable rain forest (without the rain)-- dozens and dozens of exotic trees, palms, shrubs, & flowering plants. The rooms are VERY large...in fact, most of them are not "rooms" at all but rather full 1 bedroom apartments. Many of the units have balconies with ocean views due to the fact that the hotel is kind of split in two with half the rooms lining the north edge and the other half at the south edge of the vast, landscaped pool area. There's an excellent restaurant with indoor, outdoor and poolside service. Try the fresh grilled grouper sandwich with asparagus on the side-- a real bargain @ $12. The staff are top of the line--always pleasant and helpful. Simply put, i have never stayed in a better hotel than the Savoy.

Room Tip: Room 310 is too good to be true! an enormous 1 bedroom apartment with 3 private balconies overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    296
    72
    41
    12
See reviews for
311
337
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I can't say enough good things about the Savoy! Here, you are treated like royalty, from the poolside and beachside drink service to the fresh warm towels and ice cold washcloths they give you midday, to how everyone on staff magically remembers your name and what you like to drink!

We love the Savoy so much. We honeymooned there in 2004, then came back last year (2013) for our 9 yr anniversary, and I plan to come back every year now! We loved talking with Alexa who did beach service the day we arrived, and then Rocky did such an amazing job thereafter! He is so quick to jump whenever you need him and knows just the right thing to provide or recommend! I felt like we had a personal assistant during our stay, and he was still so attentive to everyone else at the same time! Amazing. Jose was wonderful serving us breakfast, and another Jose was also delightful at beach service, where he introduced us to the Caipirinha!

We met Gary, who I think is a manager or owner, and learned the cool history of the Savoy. How it was once home to Ron Wood of the Rolling Stones, who threw lavish and loud parties here in the 80s. Now, however, the Savoy is less raucous and much more restful and family oriented. Attractive to Europeans traveling with their families, when you come to the savoy you feel like you've stepped into a European beach resort. Many languages spoken, which is enjoyable for the ear!

The buildings themselves are 80 years old, so expect to feel a historical vibe in the hallways and rooms. The rooms are HUGE and very comfortable. There aren't many balconies that directly overlook the ocean but the ones that do are SPECTACULAR!

The Savoy has and will have a very special place in our hearts forever. You could have a fabulous time and never leave the property if you wanted! Great kitchen, great drinks, top notch amazing service. We love everything about it!

- Steven and Heather Steele, July 2014

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My husband and I came down from NYC for a short beach vacation. I did a lot of research on which hotel we should stay at and I am sooo glad I selected The Savoy!! The hotel was just perfect. Location was ideal, within walking distance to everything! The pool area and beach were so relaxing and beautiful. Such a change from Brooklyn! The staff were super cordial and helpful. The suite was so large! Bottom line, when we return to Miami we will return to the Savoy!! Thank you Savoy for the lovely summer vacation.

Room Tip: Spend a few extra bucks for an Ocean View Suite - well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I stayed here from July 25-28th for the first time and absolutely loved everything about the hotel and the premesis. The personnel was exceedingly helpful and pleasant--especially Rocky who helps around the pool and patio--our poolview room was amazing and comfortable, the pool and surroundings were heavenly, and there was no odor in the hotel as other reviews have mentioned. Nor were the hallways or the interiors of the hotel old looking as others have mentioned. I could not find one thing wrong with my stay except maybe that our room key didn't work a few times and we had to return to the front desk to get ours reprogrammed and maybe that had to do with our weird magnetic fields (?!) or whatever. I am in my mid-40s and not a drinker so was somewhat relieved that this was away from the insanity of the South Beach madness....which we could witness if we we wanted to (and did a couple of times). It just made me happier to come back to the Savoy. On the first and last days of our stay, we were permitted to use the facilities, including the beach, pool, towels, and beach chairs/umbrellas. We also stored our luggage before and after check-in/check-out. I cannot recommend this place enough and look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Pool view or Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My family and I went on vacation to Miami Beach from July 14th to the 18th. We stayed at the savoy Hotel and that was the best choice we ever made. The room was perfect and the food was excellent. The staff was very friendly and Rocky by the pool always goes above and beyond to help. It's the perfect place for family vacation. We will be back for sure again.
Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Love S

Room Tip: It doesn't really matter what room you choose. I was in the regular room and it was very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed there for two nights.... The room was great. Nice suite.
The building is (as many in Miami) old, and there was that oldish odor all the way until you get to the room... it was really annoying.
The pool was ok, not so much for the breakfast and common areas... There was a big group of drunk loud people beside the pool for an entire day, somehow intimidating for the rest of the people, and no one from the hotel did anything to stop that.
The desk people was extremely helpfull and friendly, so that is definitelly a Plus!!
Overall experience... I wouldn't stay there again. I'm sure I can do better for the same money.

Room Tip: We stayed at a suite... It was very good. If you can stand the oldish odor all the way until you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was my 2nd stay at the Savoy. I stayed for a week for the July 4th holiday. My first stay was much better because I absolutely loved my room (Room 320), it had a view of Ocean Drive and it also had a balcony. I did try requesting the same room again or a least a room with a balcony and I got neither which was a bit disappointing (Room 226). I was also not impressed with the bathroom in room 226 and the people who stayed above me were extremely loud. Overall, I absolutely love the Savoy, the location is great, the staff is always helpful and very pleasant and I especially love the pool & direct beach access! It was a very nice surprise that guy at the front desk who checked me in (forgive me, I forgot his name) and Rocky who works at the pool recognized me from my previous stay the year before. I will definitely stay at the Savoy again, especially if I can get room 320! The price is a little high, but the Savoy is my go to hotel when I come to South Beach, just a few steps from the beach, so many restaurants and all of the nightlife!!! The location couldn't be more perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: 425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savoy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sophisticated Choice Among Resort Hotels on South Beach Miami...One of the only resort hotels on Ocean Drive located directly on the sand with private beach access, the chic Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami is a 75-suite resort without peer on America's sun-drenched Riviera - South Miami Beach's Art Deco District. Prepare for the Savoy Hotel to awaken your senses!The Savoy offers spacious one and two bedroom suites with beach, pool and Ocean Drive views, only steps away from breezy al fresco cafes, hip boutique shopping, and sizzling nightlife - all with the unmistakable flavor of Miami's multi-cultural South Beach. Setting The Savoy apart is our incredible location and generous amenities, unlike any other on Ocean Drive. At a lush 2-acre expanse of tropical paradise from street to beach, our guests can enjoy commanding beach views from en-suite balconies, sun bathe poolside, and enjoy private access to the sands of beautiful South Beach. Only at the Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami. With its ocean Views, chic decor and Art Deco feeling, The Savoy Hotel is the perfect location to celebrate your Special Day. The Savoy offers a variety of settings for you to choose from. Two sundecks overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Terrace restaurant with views of our two tropical pools, and our main Ballroom which overlooks Ocean Drive. From an intimate ceremony of 20 guests to a more lavish party of 125, The Savoy will make this day the most memorable yet for you and your guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Miami Beach
Savoy Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.