We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
The Savoy Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My husband & I stayed at The Savoy for 5 nights whilst in Miami. The location is great, right at the start of Ocean drive (and 5th) so really close to the night life, restaurants etc but still quiet. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but our cases were taken for us and secured away whilst we went for lunch and waited for our room (which didn't take long). The room was fabulous, living room, bedroom & bathroom with small kitchen area which had a fridge and microwave plus a tv in both the living room and bedroom. When we first got in to the room our aircon didn't work but once reported to reception it was fixed within a day (there are fans so it was ok but a bit warm). Our room over looked the car park so whilst the view wasn't great it was very quiet.
Fabulous house keeping, room was always very clean and tidy. Pool area was clean and never busy with plenty of space for sunbathing and towels provided. The gym is situation next to the pool and whilst small, is perfectly functional - I used it a few times during our stay and was the only one in there. Hotel also provides WIFI but there is a charge per day of $18 which includes the WIFI and towels.

Overall, a great stay and a really good location for exploring Miami.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    293
    72
    40
    12
See reviews for
309
335
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel. Since it was our wedding anniversary upon our arrival I had requested some assistance to have a flower arrangement ready, Ray from front desk promised to work on it. We arrive late at night for check in, there was nobody to help us with our luggage and the guy at the front desk did not move a finger to assist, he was a little bit rude, to my surprise it was Ray and did not he either did anything about my previous request, it was not a nice check in experience. We stayed on a suite, but the first two nights we could not sleep well because the a/c did not work. I reported this and the 3 day they fixed the thermostate. The pool area is nice and the location is superb as on a quite side of Ocean Drive but the service overall was simply standard. Considering the service issues I think this hotel is expensive.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear pantraveler,

Thank you for offering us an opportunity to have you as our guest. We regret that we fell short of your expectations. There seems to have been a miscommunication regarding your flowers, and for that we apologize.

Here at The Savoy Hotel, we pride ourselves on our service and thank you for letting us know that we didn't satisy you.

We hope to have you return as our guest, so we can "wow" you with our service. I would personally handle your reservations.

Thank you again for your feedback and happy travels!

Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed at the Savoy in early May and selected the Savoy based on it's good rating on trip advisor and could not fault the hotel in any area. We had an ocean view room and I would strongly recommend the rooms. Furnished to a high standard and cleaned each day also to high standard.

At the bottom end of Ocean Drive but within easy walking distance of what most tourists want to see and quiet to ensure a good nights sleep in a very comfortable bed. The beach and swimming pools are clean and never had any trouble getting a good place to soak up the sun. Full marks to Rocky for his excellent level of service and happy and friendly outlook. I would not hesitate in recommending the Savoy

Room Tip: Request an ocean view room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Fortunately, my friend found this spectacular place that offers day passes. I was stranded and waiting for an evening flight. Great place to spend the day by the pool with an ocean view. Rocky provided excellent service and kept me supplied with a yummy Piña Colada. Thanks Rocky! ☀️

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This place really missed in terms of our expectations.

The Good: The location is really great if you want to experience South Beach. It is right on the beach and you can walk through the pool area and step onto the sand. It is also just across the street from the strip of clubs and restaurants which was very convenient.

The Average: The pictures really didn't do justice for the room that we got. I was expecting something clean and contemporary. It was really much more dated and showed its age. I know that they embrace the 1950's style ambiance that is common to the area, which is fine, but it didn't match with the expectations set up online. I did ask to try a different room, but was declined. It happens.

The Poor: Please note our visit was in January. We found that the pool area was closed for renovations and the area was littered with equipment. That detracted from the courtyard area significantly, and although maintenance happens, it was clear that this wasn't an unforseen problem and I would have appreciated notice that the pool was going to be closed during our stay. Luckily the beach was nearby. Unfortunately, you are charged an unavoidable fee to use the beach equipment (towels and chairs). I thought the fee was a little high for what you got out of it (and the pool was closed). The valet parking was a bit of a disaster as well. We were told by the front desk to pay them, but the guy at the valet stand also demanded payment. Apparently it is a contracted company. The issue between the hotel and the valet caused some running back and forth to the lobby and some arguing we witnessed. It got resolved alright, but it wasn't pleasant. Further, this was about the only thing that the staff was passionate about helping with. Anything else felt like we were bothersome.

This place received a lot of good reviews, and I'm glad others had a good experience. I did not, and I won't return. At $300 a night before the extra fees I think it's fair to want a room that feels clean, access to the promised amenities, and some friendliness from the staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear benny3345,

Thank you sincerely for sharing your feedback with us. Comments such as yours enable us to constantly improve our product and service.

We are very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. That certainly is not representative of our property, and for that we apologize.

Your comments are being reviewed by our entire management team and we will take the necessary follow-up and precautions.

I would love to invite you back to experience the real Savoy Hotel once again! It would be my pleasure to offer you a discounted rate and I will personally handle your reservations.

I look very forward to hearing from you once again!

Yours in Hospitality,
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Everything about this hotel was off the charts great! Staff was so accommodating and so helpful, hotel was extremely clean, beds comfortable & pool was great! We will return again and again! Thank you for an amazing experience!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We chose to come back to the savoy for our summer vacation. Once again we were very pleased with how clean the hotel was and how friendly and accommodating the staff were. We can't get enough of the Savoy. We will continue to come back to what we like to call our "little piece of paradise" in South Beach Miami!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: 425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savoy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sophisticated Choice Among Resort Hotels on South Beach Miami...One of the only resort hotels on Ocean Drive located directly on the sand with private beach access, the chic Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami is a 75-suite resort without peer on America's sun-drenched Riviera - South Miami Beach's Art Deco District. Prepare for the Savoy Hotel to awaken your senses!The Savoy offers spacious one and two bedroom suites with beach, pool and Ocean Drive views, only steps away from breezy al fresco cafes, hip boutique shopping, and sizzling nightlife - all with the unmistakable flavor of Miami's multi-cultural South Beach. Setting The Savoy apart is our incredible location and generous amenities, unlike any other on Ocean Drive. At a lush 2-acre expanse of tropical paradise from street to beach, our guests can enjoy commanding beach views from en-suite balconies, sun bathe poolside, and enjoy private access to the sands of beautiful South Beach. Only at the Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami. With its ocean Views, chic decor and Art Deco feeling, The Savoy Hotel is the perfect location to celebrate your Special Day. The Savoy offers a variety of settings for you to choose from. Two sundecks overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Terrace restaurant with views of our two tropical pools, and our main Ballroom which overlooks Ocean Drive. From an intimate ceremony of 20 guests to a more lavish party of 125, The Savoy will make this day the most memorable yet for you and your guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Miami Beach
Savoy Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.