We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location on the Beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #25 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Farmington, Utah
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Location on the Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here after a cruise for one night. We arrived early (10am) and previously requested an early check-in if possible. No rooms were ready, which we expected, but they were very nice and said we could enjoy the facilities and they would store our luggage until the room was ready. They told us to come back at 2pm.
We found the property beautiful and location was great! We spent the next few hours happily walking the beach, checking out the area and grabbing a bite to eat. We came back to the hotel, changed into swimwear and lounged by the pool until 2:15pm.
We checked back in and were told no rooms but to check back in 30mins. After 55mins (3:10pm) we checked in again and told no rooms, come back in 30mins. After 45min (3:55pm) we check again and were told another 40minutes! We finally asked the clerk "seriously?" This got the attention of a supervisor who then approached and kindly asked about the situation. He said he would see what he could find for us. He graciously said he had a ocean view suite he could put us in for no additional charge (booked a pool view suite). The nice luggage attendant got our stuff and was politely waiting by the door to show us to our room. He showed us to room 209...stunning. The room keys didn't work so he used his key, then promptly ran down to the desk and got new keys for us. We were very pleased.
They even helped us with a taxi the next morning and it was waiting for us right on time and price was quoted exactly.
This is an older but very cool hotel, and as such has thin walls (expected). We had a crying baby next door that woke us up several times in the night. Not the hotel's fault but maybe make sure you don't have babies or small children next door.
Overall, the check-in was difficult but they eventually handled the problem so we were pleased. The property is beautiful and staff were mostly good.
We would stay here again and recommend to friends!

Room Tip: pool view or ocean view room...your on the beach! Thin walls, ask about adjacent rooms without babie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear BounderBaby,

We would like to apologize for the delayed check-in which you experienced. I assure you that it is never our intention to keep guests waiting and that it is not a typical occurence here at The Savoy Hotel.

On the bright side, I am glad to hear that you felt as if we were able to please you by offering a complimentary upgrade to an Ocean View Suite with Balcony. Those suites are truly amazing!

We are looking forward to having you as our guest once again!

Best Regards,
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    275
    67
    37
    11
See reviews for
293
314
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

First of all let me tell you that I was 15 days lodged at Savoy, so, I have time to check it a little, because you can not judge a book if you only has read the cover.
I will get to the point, so here you have my pros and cons.

Pros:
- Location
- Relation quality & price
- Pool area
- Beach with hammock service
- Very good breakfast and lunch
- Mini Kitchen in room with the possibility of late dinner at room by shopping something outside.
- Quite large room (we are 3 and this is a positive point)
- Free ice lemon-water in the pool (it seems a silly thing, but with the Miami roasting time is a luxury)
- Hotel staff. In general they were very, very pleasant. Let me mention reception ladies (with one male exception, who is very handsome but not very communicative…), doormen, restaurant people (specially a lady from Argentina or Chile and a black man, sorry I forgot the names), pool staff (regards to Gisela and Maria), etc.

Cons:
- Under my point of view the security is a point that they have to improve. Under my European point of view (perhaps easily scared) the hotel needs more safe entrances/exits.
- The hotel allow pets. I love animals but not to live with them. Let me explain that one day, we were at the pool and it appears a couple with a dog. After 5 minutes, happens what I was thinking…, the man put the animal at the pool and the dog having a bath with me! Although we stared at the man and his wife, the dog continue the bath, moreover the man make the dog play with a ball … anyway after half an hour (here the pool staff were not correct), I had to go to reception desk and ask them to inform customer that the pools are for person not for animals. The hotel manager was there in 5 minutes and solve the matter immediately.
- There is a generator very, very noisy.
- There is not room service (we usually enjoy it for dinner).
- It needs better general maintenance.
- Better water pressure in bathrooms and deep plumbing job.
- Better room cleaning.
- Almost every day we have to ask cleaning lady for gel, conditioner, etc.
- Mattress can be better.
- More TV channels in other languages than English or to install DVD (I asked to rent one but it wasn’t possible).

If they maintain the current level of prices, I will return to Savoy as soon as possible, since although the cons, we are very satisfied and we felt there like home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear PonsCatalunya,

Thank you for choosing The Savoy Hotel for your recent 15-day holiday! We are so glad you stated that it "felt like home."

Your review was very comprehensive and thank you for taking the time to provide such feedback. It's great to see so many "pros" and in response to the "cons," all comments have been shared with our entire management team for review and follow up.

We look very forward to having you as our guest once again!

Best Regards,
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dry Ridge, Kentucky, USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was our first stay at the Savoy. The first two days of our vacation started at the Savoy. I could not have made a better choice. After our first two days in Miami, we continued on to Duck Key and then down to Key West for the remainder of the week. My favorite part of the trip was staying at the Savoy. I loved the view of the pool area as well as the beach from our balconies. The staff at the Savoy are the best I had dealt with between all three locations. Not only are they the friendliest but they are also the most pleasant people I had the opportunity to meet. A special thanks to Eloy and Rocky. They are the two who really stand out to me. Very pleasant vacation. I think next time I would stay put at the Savoy for the whole vacation. They seem to really appreciate your business there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Great location and extremely great staff with the exception of one receptionist. We had to change rooms as the one we had was next to the entrance and all we heard was the door slamming. But still they did what they could to make this worth coming back to. Very clean and beautiful place. Close to walk everywhere.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I recently stayed at The Savoy with two girlfriends for a week and could not have had a better time.

The hotel itself is in a perfect location - close enough to the bars and nightlife of South Beach to not have to worry about cabs but just far enough away to avoid it if you want to. Take a right out of the hotel and you're on Ocean Drive/Collins Ave within minutes. Take a left and South Pointe is a really short walk away. It's right on the beach too, with its own private area.

Our room was incredible - not an ocean or pool-view suite - but nonetheless perfect for what we needed with loads of space and the most enormous bed! The pool area was gorgeous and the restaurant/bar area was really clean and spacious. In fact, the whole place was immaculately kept.

But what really makes this hotel is the staff; they could not have done enough to help us and were all so friendly and approachable. We really felt like they took us under their wing and even when we bowled in at 4am one morning the reception staff still took the time to have a chat and a laugh with us! Rocky was particularly helpful, as was Eloy, Juan and Ray. There was also a girl on reception who helped us booked trips out and I can't remember her name but she was awesome too! What I really loved was coming down to the pool one day to find the GM Gary handing out towels - what other manager of a hotel would do this?! He then spent a good half an hour with us telling us about the local area and the history of the hotel and where we should eat etc. We were really made to feel very special and I think that's just standard service from these guys :)

Thanks so much for a brilliant week. I will be recommending The Savoy to everyone and will definitely come back when I can!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

After our Caribbean cruise, we stayed 2 nights (2nd and 3th november) in the Savoy before returning back to the Netherlands. This hotel was a perfect choice to end our vacation, everything was perfect, the view of the room ...Ocean Drive, friendly staff (Eloy) and Rocky made our stay at the pool very comfortable and a top location!
We will come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

First of all, the location of the hotel could not be better. The hotel is situated right on Ocean Drive but just outside the hustle of South Beach's night life.

When we arrived and told Ray the receptionist of our honeymoon, he immediately checked what he could do to upgrade our room and make our stay as pleasant as possible. Ray and the other staff were also very helpful in advising us on the best places to be in Miami Beach and surroundings. They also assisted us in planning trips and activities.

The beauty of the hotel and the pool side is just stunning. The hotel is very clean and the service, food and cocktails at both the restaurant and the pool side is excellent. Breakfast and lunch options are both plenty and delicious.

All this makes you feel very welcome and at home, and we could not imagine our honeymoon to be any better than it already was at the Savoy Hotel in Miami Beach. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Pool- or ocean side view rooms may be a little more costly but worth the price! If you do not specif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: 425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savoy Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sophisticated Choice Among Resort Hotels on South Beach Miami...One of the only resort hotels on Ocean Drive located directly on the sand with private beach access, the chic Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami is a 75-suite resort without peer on America's sun-drenched Riviera - South Miami Beach's Art Deco District. Prepare for the Savoy Hotel to awaken your senses!The Savoy offers spacious one and two bedroom suites with beach, pool and Ocean Drive views, only steps away from breezy al fresco cafes, hip boutique shopping, and sizzling nightlife - all with the unmistakable flavor of Miami's multi-cultural South Beach. Setting The Savoy apart is our incredible location and generous amenities, unlike any other on Ocean Drive. At a lush 2-acre expanse of tropical paradise from street to beach, our guests can enjoy commanding beach views from en-suite balconies, sun bathe poolside, and enjoy private access to the sands of beautiful South Beach. Only at the Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami. With its ocean Views, chic decor and Art Deco feeling, The Savoy Hotel is the perfect location to celebrate your Special Day. The Savoy offers a variety of settings for you to choose from. Two sundecks overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Terrace restaurant with views of our two tropical pools, and our main Ballroom which overlooks Ocean Drive. From an intimate ceremony of 20 guests to a more lavish party of 125, The Savoy will make this day the most memorable yet for you and your guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Miami Beach
Savoy Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.