We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #22 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Even though my family and I did not stay at the hotel due to sold out, we were given the opportunity to use the hotel facilities through friends. This is a great hotel for the family with a perfect location on the South Beach. The place is very family oriented without being noisy around the pool area. The staff was helpful and friendly both at the two swimming pools and on the beach and there was enough sunbeds for everyone. On the beach we had lunch from the hotel’s restaurant to a very reasonable price, and the food was very well prepared, we'll be back:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Michael,

Thank you for your review of our amenities & poolside restaurant! We are happy that you had an opportunity to experience the hotel even though we were sold out.

We look very forward to you experiencing our spacious suites (beginning at 600 sq. ft.) in the near future!

See you soon....
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    463
    256
    63
    35
    11
See reviews for
275
296
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the Savoy for one week at the end of June. The weather was hot, hot...but who cared? We were steps from the beach and the beautiful pool(s). We had a wonderful room with an ocean view and a view of the pool. Our balcony was huge, with 2 chairs, a small table and 2 lounge chairs. Although we spent very little time in the room other than to sleep - our room was perfect. Nice comfy bed for us and a comfy pullout sofa bed for the two kids. The room had a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Our favorite time of day was early morning drinking coffee on that great patio looking at the wonderful view. The staff was very attentive. Everyone we dealt with was great - very friendly and aimed to please. The room was serviced every morning and again at night - with additional towels, ice and chocolate! While everyone was great a special thanks has to go to the bartender, Tamika. Her service was tops and she went the extra mile giving us restaurant suggestions and sightseeing tips. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed at the Savoy for 2 nights on room 225-2.
The location is perfect. But the hotel is bad, here are the problems I found:

1) the fan in the bathroom was so noisy, I just took a shower in the dark;
2) there were no hangers;
3) there was only a blackout to cover the window and the room faced another building, so if I wanted to get dressed in my room I had to turn the lights on;
4) I'm 6ft, the only mirror in my room was so short, I couldn't see myself if I stood up and the bathroom was really dark with all lights on.
5) The shower is broken, you can turn the handle 360 degrees. It's actually a teaser to try to completely shut it off afterwards.
6) Breakfast was good and staff super friendly, but it took forever.
7) Elevator was really small for my luggage and guitar.

None of these were a show stopper (maybe the fan), but at almost $300 a night, I was expecting a good hotel, and the Savoy is just not up to snuff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent 7 nights at the Savoy earlier this month. Our room was Ocean View with 3 balconies, 2 on the pool side and 1 on the ocean side. Loved it because we could wake up to the beach, but still see choose which chairs we were going to claim at the pool. The General Manager stopped by our chairs one day at the pool and chatted. He told us all about the hotel and gave great recommendations for food (Big Pink). Both Gisella (hope I spelled that right) and Rocky great at the pool. (Hint: You may have to get Gisella's attention for the first drink, but after that she is there for you!) We ordered the fish tacos at the pool one day - highly recommend. This was our 3rd visit to the Savoy and we will go back !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Greetings from South Beach!

Thank you for your 5-Star review and also your loyalty to The Savoy Hotel!

We are so glad you enjoyed your Ocean Front Accommodation and especially the balconies. It is so refreshing to sit and view South Beach and it's natural beauty.

So you had the fish tacos -- that is the most popular item on our menu and our guests have been raving about them.

We look forward to seeing you again soon....
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed in a suite with grandkids in June 2013. Though the room was big, and quite nice, the common areas and balcony were a bit shabby and in need of paint and repair. Bath was huge with excellent marble throughout, and bedroom and amenities were first class. The pool area was clean and well tended, with two pools and plenty of good quality deck chairs and umbrellas available. Took advantage of their private beach space on S. Beach. If you want a good umbrella and padded chairs near the beach, be prepared for an additional $30 nick, which we found a bit ridiculous, but overall, the stay was a good one. Breakfast in the poolside restaurant was decent, not great and of course, it was expensive. Of course, one should expect this if you want to breathe the rarified air of southern S. Beach. Staff personnel were all very friendly and helpful, and most pleasant. All in all a recommended place while it lasts. I fear it won't be long till this property gives way to a larger more modern building, like many places around it.

Room Tip: Get a pool side or ocean view room. A bit more expensive, but you'll be glad you did once you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

It's a great experience to stay here - visually appealing ,location right on the beach.
Just on the edge of the excitement of the south beach stretch , restaurants and shopping.
2 Lounges on beach allocated to your room per day if you wish. Great breakfast under the
Care of Cian . Rocky looking after pol guests . Reception staff and luggage guys are very
attentive. We can't think of what more I could want . You don't need to stay in the mainstream
Accommodation here.

Room Tip: All rooms look like they would be good but the ocean front ones are great. Most have balconies .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Heshian,

Thank you sincerely for your 5-STAR review! It's wonderful that you greatly enjoyed the property, location, services and amenities. We truly are an Art Deco gem with historic charm, certainly one-of-a-kind!

We too wish you could have stayed longer....I guess that means that you have to come back then!

See you soon :-)
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel!! Very close to everything. The Savoy Restaurants food is delicious and not pricey at all. Try the fish tacos, soo tasty! Now lets talk about ROCKY! He is an excellent worker! Always very attentive and ready to serve you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Gee,

Thanks for the 5-STAR review! That is fantastic!

We are glad you enjoyed your experience with our restaurant and had the opportunity to meet Rocky and receive his "legendary" service. He is truly one of the best on the beach.

We hope to see you again very soon,
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: 425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savoy Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sophisticated Choice Among Resort Hotels on South Beach Miami…One of the only resort hotels on Ocean Drive located directly on the sand with private beach access, the chic Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami is a 75-suite resort without peer on America's sun-drenched Riviera — South Miami Beach's Art Deco District.Prepare for the Savoy Hotel to awaken your senses!The Savoy offers spacious one and two bedroom suites with beach, pool and Ocean Drive views, only steps away from breezy al fresco cafés, hip boutique shopping, and sizzling nightlife — all with the unmistakable flavor of Miami's multi-cultural South Beach. Setting The Savoy apart is our incredible location and generous amenities, unlike any other on Ocean Drive.At a lush 2-acre expanse of tropical paradise from street to beach, our guests can enjoy commanding beach views from en-suite balconies, sun bathe poolside, and enjoy private access to the sands of beautiful South Beach. Only at the Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami.With its ocean Views, chic décor and Art Deco feeling, The Savoy Hotel is the perfect location to celebrate your Special Day.The Savoy offers a variety of settings for you to choose from. Two sundecks overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Terrace restaurant with views of our two tropical pools, and our main Ballroom which overlooks Ocean Drive.From an intimate ceremony of 20 guests to a more lavish party of 125, The Savoy will make this day the most memorable yet for you and your guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Miami Beach
Savoy Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.