We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising hotel and not in the good way” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
The Savoy Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead and Save!!
Ranked #32 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Surprising hotel and not in the good way”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We couldn't believe the quality of this hotel, or lack thereof. We booked this hotel based on the reviews on trip advisor. We were shocked to find a different story when we arrived.

The hotel has an institutional feel to it as if we were being committed somewhere. The front desk clerks were very nice and professional, but the lobby was depressing.

As we walked to our room, we were literally blown away by the AC being cranked in the hallway. While there were very cool vintage posters on the wall, the rug smelled terribly and we couldn't tell whether the video surveillance cameras were for our safety or whether the hotel was simply not that safe.

Our room was massive and would have been perfect for a family. There was a separate tv room, huge bedroom, massive walk in closet, and clean bathroom. I could easily see a family of six staying in this one room.

On the flip side, the room was depressing. The thermostat didn't work well. We'd turn it off and it would continue going for over 1/2 hour. It also took 5 minutes of letting the water run from the bathroom faucet before it got hot.

There were doors to a gray deck area loaded with A/C units. The doors let lots of light in but were locked from the inside which was strange since the outside had bolts which looked like they could be turned and opened from the outside if needed.

The location of the hotel was good depending on what you're looking for. Ocean ave is just outside where you there are lots of restaurants on the strip. And while there are some great high end and highly recommended restaurants south of the hotel, the neighborhoods quickly become sketchy at best.

The pool area was okay, but like the rest of the hotel, pretty depressing.

But the worst part of the hotel was how easy it was for us to hear everything happening in the rooms around and above us. We hear people wheeling their roller board suitcases around, tvs playing, and people talking. This meant that we had remarkably little sleep considering the people who came back to their rooms early in the morning.

I won't ever go back to this hotel and can't recommend it fairly to other people looking to stay at a nice hotel. For the same money, you can stay at the Raleigh up the street and have a better pool, cooler rooms, nicer staff, and better location.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Traveling Tormans,

Thank you sincerely for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. We do use guests' comments to continuously improve the hotel.

We deeply regret that we did not meet your expectations. We don't often receive negative feedback about the property and we are sorry that you didn't find it to your liking.

We would like the opportunity to have you as our guest once again. I would be happy to personally assist with your reservations.

Yours in Hospitality,
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    350
    91
    48
    16
See reviews for
361
396
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, BA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

A 3-star pattern in a very pleasant and off crowd location, one of the best spots in Ocean Drive (South Beach). The hotel atmosphere is a little bit old fashioned, even considering its Art Déco origin. The hotel service features guests private beach access with complimentary beach chairs, towels and a personal umbrella; two pools; complimentary Wi-Fi (works good, fast); valet parking (US$30/day), bell service. The Front Desk team is friendly and always available. Room (302-2): street view, good space, comfortable, clean, quiet; coffeemaker with complimentary coffee and microwave oven. The queen bed has a solid woody frame around its perimeter that is a true shank killer! Bathroom: ok (rusty luminaire). Room service: there was a leak in the tub tap that was promptly fixed when requested. Closest breakfast options: Starbucks (5 min walking down Ocean Drive) e Italian Cafe (in front of the hotel). Cheaper 24 h parking lot option: 7th Street & Collins Avenue – Garage (two blocks from hotel). The beach is really beautiful and so much pleasant! The beach service is very good, specially the sandwiches (the beef with gorgonzola is very tasty). Good hotel in a 5-star location!

Room Tip: Room (302-2): street view, good space, comfortable, clean, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My friends and I recently stayed at the Savoy for 4 nights, and had an awesome time! First off, the location of this hotel can't be beat! It has private beach access and right on Ocean Drive! The beach was a quick walk from the room, and was so convenient for a couple hours on the beach! The room itself was pretty good, we had a bedroom with a separate living area as well. The room was clean and the housekeeping staff did a great job keeping the room tidy. Only suggested improvements for the room would be another garbage can (only one was in the bathroom), an option for two double or queen beds instead of one king bed, and easier access to the microwave (it was in the closet and we didn't discover it until our last day). The hotel grounds were very nice and the pool area was awesome! The staff even let us go in late one night after the pool area had closed! They have a nice outside upstairs area with some comfy chairs and great views of the beach.

My only real beef with the hotel was the valet parking - the hotel charged $30 a day for parking. While I understand South Beach is an expensive area, there are other parking garages there for cheaper. In hindsight, I would have turned down the valet parking and found cheaper parking myself, even if it's $20 a day. The hotel also charged an extra $15 a day for towels and beach chair use, which isn't a big deal, but should have been included with the hotel price.

Overall, this hotel was great and would definitely stay here again if I ever vacation to Miami Beach again! Hopefully I'll make it back one of these days!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Greetings from South Beach!

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at The Savoy Hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel's ideal location and amenities. Thank you also for your suggestions; we always like to hear what we can do to make our guests' stay more enjoyable.

In regards to the valet parking, it is customary on South Beach to pay anywhere from $25-$40 per night, due to the lack of available parking at hotels. We regret you did not think the charge was fair. Also, many hotels do have resort fees, ranging anywhere from $10-$30 per day for a variety of amenities.

We thank you again for your feedback and hope to have you as our guest once again.

Yours in Hospitality,
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my recent stay and was pleasantly surprised with the size of the apartment , spotlessly clean and also the very easy access to the beach. Whilst our room only had a view over the carpark it was still very good value. The staff were very helpful and we enjoyed a wonderful hot breakfast. The apartment also supplied a coffee machine and coffee pods with tea also an option....The hotel is just far enough away from the busy buzz of the strip but yet close enough to slowly wander around and take in all the wonderful Art Deco buildings that this part of Miama Beach has to offer. We were heading off to Fort Lauderdale to pick up a cruise ship and it was a very easy cab ride to the port. Definitely recommend the Savoy.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room with a beach view....would definitely make for a more enjoyable stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Deptford, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Savoy at the end of May for 4 nights and we loved it! We had a pool view room on the first level and it wasn't noisy, but had a great view with 2 sets of French doors. The room itself was very spacious; I couldn't have asked for more. Each night, the staff came and remade the bed and left chocolates on our pillows. The staff was way more than helpful! From the moment you pull up out front they're ready and willing to assist you. Each person, (whether it be Jean, Tony, Rocky, or any of the front desk staff), had a unique and fun personality. You could ask any of them for any type of recommendation and they were eager to share they're local favorites. The beach location was definitely the best part about the hotel next to the staff. You walk right out the back gate and a few steps later you're on the sand. It's a huge plus that 2 chairs and an umbrella are included in the resort fee. There is also staff that comes to serve you food and drinks right from your beach chairs! I'm so ready to come back! On our last day, I was already asking for the best time that I should return:-) I would recommend this hotel over and over again!

Room Tip: Upgrade to pool view at least! Next time I may upgrade to an Ocean view as I expect it's even mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Spent six nights in early May, had a wonderful experience. The Savoy offers great price to quality ratio, the staff is extremely helpful and dedicated, traditional room is very comfortable for two people. The pools and restaurant are very convenient and access to the beach is right behind the pool area. The hotel is fractionally below 5th Street so slightly out of the busiest action on Ocean Drive, yet within a few minutes of reach. The whole area from South Pointe to 15th Street is within walking distance and Downtown is a short cab ride away. Totally recommend the Savoy.

Room Tip: Traditional is big enough for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights and had no problems. Easy check-in, room was always cleaned sometimes even twice a day. The staff was friendly. This location is perfect if you want to be near the strip but don't want to deal with all the traffic and noise of the night life. Another plus is the hotel is right on the beach and it has two pools! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: 425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savoy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sophisticated Choice Among Resort Hotels on South Beach Miami...One of the only resort hotels on Ocean Drive located directly on the sand with private beach access, the chic Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami is a 75-suite resort without peer on America's sun-drenched Riviera - South Miami Beach's Art Deco District. Prepare for the Savoy Hotel to awaken your senses!The Savoy offers spacious one and two bedroom suites with beach, pool and Ocean Drive views, only steps away from breezy al fresco cafes, hip boutique shopping, and sizzling nightlife - all with the unmistakable flavor of Miami's multi-cultural South Beach. Setting The Savoy apart is our incredible location and generous amenities, unlike any other on Ocean Drive. At a lush 2-acre expanse of tropical paradise from street to beach, our guests can enjoy commanding beach views from en-suite balconies, sun bathe poolside, and enjoy private access to the sands of beautiful South Beach. Only at the Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami. With its ocean Views, chic decor and Art Deco feeling, The Savoy Hotel is the perfect location to celebrate your Special Day. The Savoy offers a variety of settings for you to choose from. Two sundecks overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Terrace restaurant with views of our two tropical pools, and our main Ballroom which overlooks Ocean Drive. From an intimate ceremony of 20 guests to a more lavish party of 125, The Savoy will make this day the most memorable yet for you and your guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Miami Beach
Savoy Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.