We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
The Savoy Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Based on reviews here, we booked the Savoy for four days and three nights a few weeks ago.
Glad we did.
Room wasn't ready on arrival, and we did not get the pool view suite we requested, but the room we did end up with was quite nice, a large room. It was called a 'suite,' it wasn't, but was certainly comfortable.
We were able to change into our bathing suits and enjoy the pool while we waited for the room, so no problem there. All staff were very friendly and helpful, and they all made our stay that much more pleasant.
We had breakfast and lunch at the hotel each day, food was very good.
The location is perfect, on the beach, and a block from the frenzy of South Beach, so convenient to it, but much quieter.
The place is nicely done, not extravagant by any means, but a well done and comfortable hotel.
Next time I will book earlier and push for an ocean view or pool view suite with a balcony, we'd have enjoyed being up a little higher, with the palms right outside our windows.
Hate to do it (as it will only make it harder to get a reservation), but we highly recommend the Savoy as a retreat near, but just off South Beach, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try for ocean or pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    298
    72
    41
    12
See reviews for
313
338
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here during WMC/Ultra/Spring Break week and you know its guarantee to be sold out and crowded, which was harder for us to switch rooms. We had 1 bedroom suite with sofa bed. It was clean, comfortable and great service, but since I had paid over $350 per night I had expected a little more like a full kitchen stove top (we did expected to cook), utensils, bigger fridge, MORE CHAIRS/Sofa in the room to sit, since there was only one love seat sofa in the living room, so if you have more than 3 person sitting together its elbow to elbow or sit on the floor, the lay out of the room was awkward the bathroom separated the bedroom and living room... so if someone was using the bathroom, I had to wait till they come out in order to go into the bedroom (vice versa), the hotel includes a resort fee of $15 per dollar which i knew ahead of time and it comes with towels beach chairs etc on the beach, which comes in handy but unfortunately i didn't get to use it due time constrain of partying on south beach! overall its a decent hotel, great location, very walk able to all the fun places on ocean drive. I would definitely stay here but only if i get a different room! heres a video of the room we stayed
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RUWRWJPlSIw&list=UUonafhABh064sqPcQq34kyQ&index=16

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Greetings from Miami Beach!

Thank you sincerely for sharing your feedback regarding your stay last month. We do take guest comments seriously and use them to improve ourselves.

We regret you didn't care for the layout of the room. Each of our suites are unique in layout, so perhaps should you return, you will receive a different suite type. Additionally, we are in the process of purchasing new items to stock our kitchenette rooms, which we are very excited about!

We hope to have you as our guest once again in the near future.

Take care,
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Had great time at the Savoy, location is perfect (just quiet enough for sleeping and one minute walk from where it is all happenning), hotel personel is very friendly, hotel accomodations are very nice and clean, would return any time here again!

Room Tip: Ocean View suit has 3 balconies and amazing view and is the best room at the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Savoy exceeded our expectations - room was clean and newly renovated...Pool area is beautiful and you get the best of both worlds being on the beach and having a great pool. Loved having chairs, umbrella and towels available to us. Service was excellent. Easy walk up Ocean Drive, but far enough removed from all the noise. Restaurant had great food. Beautiful hotel...would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We booked one week at the Savoy Hotel for our daughters wedding. All the arrangements were made online and we were not sure what to expect when we arrived. Our first impression was not very positive, we arrived at 1:45 am and were given an inferior room facing the street. The first night was noisy and the room was dreary. After complaining the next morning, we changed rooms and it was like changing hotels. The new room was clean, newly renovated and faced the pool area. We had no complaints from that point on. The food was excellent, the service at the pool area was second to none and the staff was extremely friendly. Rocky at the pool was around continually to ensure our needs were met, Tameka at the bar was very busy, but made a great drink and then there was Peter. I cannot say enough about this efficient and friendly gentleman. He was our wedding planner and we did nothing once we arrived. He handled the food, decorations, and liaised with everyone involved. He was around continually to ensure everything went as smooth as possible and this allowed the wedding party to relax by the pool most days. The wedding will be an unforgettable experience, thanks to his efficiency, and I would recommend the Savoy as a wedding destination. The hotel itself is a small step away from the hustle and bustle of the strip and the courtyard is like an oasis from the crowds. It has a direct path to the beach and a lovely raised deck overlooking the pool and the beach. It was a pleasure to return at the end of each day to the small gated compound and the peace and quiet. A night cap on the deck overlooking the pool was the perfect end to most days at this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure request a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I would 2000% recommend The Savoy Hotel to everyone. I had the best experience while on my week long vacation. I have NEVER been to a hotel where the staff is 24/7 concerned about your comfort and keeping you happy. The entire hotel is absolutely beautiful. The rooms were in excellent condition and top notch clean. You couldn't ask for better service. The pool guy Rocky is the best! He is the nicest person and makes you feel like you're a friend. He went above & beyond to get my friends and I whatever we needed. He also went the extra mile to let us know about places we should visit while staying in South Beach and gave us directions to the places. Anything we needed or wanted was taken care of! The bartenders at the Savoy are great too. I loved all the people I met that work there. I honestly cannot think of 1 bad thing to say. I will most definitely be returning to The Savoy Hotel. Anyone considering a trip to South Beach Miami should not book a room anywhere else but The Savoy!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Greetings from sunny South Beach!

Thanks for taking the time to share your fantastic feedback on Trip Advisor. We realize you had many hotel choices in the area and are so happy you selected us and had an opportunity to experience our personalized service and tranquil pool area.

Thanks also for the compliments on our Pool Server, Rocky. He's really something!

Have a great day and thanks again for being our guest.

Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrbotten
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We loved this hotel. Stayed here in March 2013 for a few days. The room was big, clean, well furbished and very nice. The location was also very good. A few steps to the beach and directly situated on the ocean drive. 35 minutes walking to the shopping district. The hotel had a private walking path to the beach. The pools were big and clean and lovely situated between some palms. The service at the hotel was excellent. Even that the hotel was situated at ocean drive and near all restaurants it was very quiet at night in the room. Loved this hotel. Recommend this hotel for most people. I would like to come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: 425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savoy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sophisticated Choice Among Resort Hotels on South Beach Miami...One of the only resort hotels on Ocean Drive located directly on the sand with private beach access, the chic Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami is a 75-suite resort without peer on America's sun-drenched Riviera - South Miami Beach's Art Deco District. Prepare for the Savoy Hotel to awaken your senses!The Savoy offers spacious one and two bedroom suites with beach, pool and Ocean Drive views, only steps away from breezy al fresco cafes, hip boutique shopping, and sizzling nightlife - all with the unmistakable flavor of Miami's multi-cultural South Beach. Setting The Savoy apart is our incredible location and generous amenities, unlike any other on Ocean Drive. At a lush 2-acre expanse of tropical paradise from street to beach, our guests can enjoy commanding beach views from en-suite balconies, sun bathe poolside, and enjoy private access to the sands of beautiful South Beach. Only at the Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami. With its ocean Views, chic decor and Art Deco feeling, The Savoy Hotel is the perfect location to celebrate your Special Day. The Savoy offers a variety of settings for you to choose from. Two sundecks overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Terrace restaurant with views of our two tropical pools, and our main Ballroom which overlooks Ocean Drive. From an intimate ceremony of 20 guests to a more lavish party of 125, The Savoy will make this day the most memorable yet for you and your guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Miami Beach
Savoy Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.