We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, restful, pleased all ages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
The Savoy Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead and Save!
Ranked #41 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, restful, pleased all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with my elderly parents. We had separate rooms. Ours had a full kitchen; they had a microwave and fridge. The rooms are quite large and would work very well for a family with small children. Pros: very close to the beach ( easy walk for father with a cane), nice heated pool that was never too crowded, no blaring music near pool (father has trouble hearing, this was a huge plus). When we stayed (late February) it was mostly European families besides us. We had the breakfast included room rate and ate outside on the patio every morning. Really appreciated all the towels and the abundance of chairs at the pool and beach with umbrellas. (Note:my fair skinned mother got a bit sunburned under the umbrella at the beach). They have larger tent like umbrellas that might have provided more protection.

I liked that it was a remodeled historic hotel not something new and glitzy. There was something very restful about it. Across the street we found a good Italian restaurant and a nice deli on the corner. We walked to Walgreen's (half a block north and one block west) to stock our fridge with snacks and beverages.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem for you (as they are for my elderly father), stay in the main building which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Wandering15206,

Thank you sincerely for your 5-star review - that's awesome! Sounds like you and your family had a wonderful time here.

We are so glad you enjoyed our peaceful, serene setting and started off your day with breakfast on our terrace.

We can't wait to have you back again!

Yours in Hospitality,
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    382
    102
    52
    18
See reviews for
398
426
28
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
188 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

At the end of our Mexico trip we planned to stay a few days in Miami on the way back. Happily our dates coencided with Art Basel Miami, but unfortantely hotel prices went way up during this period. So we ended up focusing on an OK hotel with a good beach location and affordable price, that´s how we came accross The Savoy. There is absolutely nothing special about this decadent hotel other than it´s location. Rooms are spacious but very oudated, bathrooms lacking in basic comforts... there is no place to put your vanity bag. A nice but unattentive hotel staff. Breakfast was awful and completely overpriced, poorly served in a sparce unattractive room next to the hotel bar. The lobby is a horror story, sad and cheap attempts in the decoration that is desparate to look hip and cool. Our experience here felt like an overpriced gimmick, don´t fall for it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guilherme,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us from your stay in December. You certainly visited us during Art Basel, which is one of the largest events in the area each year. As that is a high demand period, room rates are typically at a premium citywide.

We regret that you did not care for the hotel's decor - we do take pride in the fact that we have modernized the hotel, yet still retain many elements of historical Art Deco design and charm.

Additionally, we have made many upgrades to our suites - we hope you will experience all the great things our hotel has to offer during your next trip to Miami. I would be happy to assist you personally with your reservation.

Yours in Hospitality,
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Clean rooms with lots of space and only two beachvolley serves from the Miami Beach!
I liked my room very much and we had a small french balcony towards the inner parking lot.

Negative:
**The Savoy wants 30 $ / per for parking (+ the tip for vallet guys) so we parked at the big parking garage 400 meters away (on 6th or was it 7th street? can't remember...) where the maximum rate per day is 20 $.

**The doors were very thin so you could hear all sounds / noice from the hallway. In fact we found it a bit disturbing.

**The bedcouch was hard as a rock and you could feel the metal spring in your back.

**The houeskeeping team woke us (and other rooms) up at 8./8.30 AM and asked if we needed anything... I gave them the trash and took some new towels in return. At the same time I saw our neighbour and she looked both surprised, angry and tired at the same time...

But overall the hotel was very nice, but the things mentioned above + it's a little too expensive makes me only give this hotel an average rating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Enjoyed our brief visit to the Savoy. Location is great - just south of 5th street which makes it walkable to the lively areas of South Beach - 9-11th streets but is also one of the only hotels actually on the beach!

Old style charm hotel, we had a pool view suite which looked recently renovated. Nice views of the ocean and pool. Small kitchen area with fridge for drinks. Resort fee of $15 plus taxes daily which gives you beach towels, wifi and newspaper.

Beach area not too busy and guaranteed loungers. Pool area nice. Staff pleasant.

Why not 5 stars? Gym is pretty basic to say the least and even taking into account the cost of SoBe hotels, difficult to justify a £300 per night price tag!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

There are times when things don't go as you hoped, and sometimes they turn out for the best. Our stay at the Savoy Hotel came entirely by force of circumstances - we had initially booked into the King & Grove for 4 nights, but it didn't quite live up to our expectations, so we decided to leave after the first night and needed to find an alternative place to stay - and quickly. The choice to stay at the Savoy was the result of some extensive, on the ground research of all hotels on South Beach - we literally scoured them all by foot and examining the facilities in the flesh. In most cases, we were let down by the pool / outdoor facilities - undersized and overcrowded - and in the middle of a noisy neighbourhood.

The Savoy has the best infrastructure of any hotel we saw on South Beach. We strolled into the main lobby at around 9 pm, and inquired at reception for room availability for the next 3 nights. A friendly man named Immer checked the room list and advised that a pool view suite was available. We asked whether it would be possible to view, and he obliged asking one of his colleagues to accompany us. The room was in the same building as reception, and although nicely laid out, we weren't too keen as it had only a queen size bed. We returned to see Immer and asked him whether this was the only room he could offer, or if there are any others, even if it meant paying a bit more. Luckily, there were 2 one-bedroom oceanfront bedroom suites that would become available, however as they were both occupied, we wouldn't be able to view them. Immer nevertheless assured us that we wouldn't be disappointed. We then asked if we could have a look around the hotel to think it over. Stepping out onto the pool area, despite the relative darkness, sealed the deal. Following a rather stressful afternoon of hotel searching, we couldn't believe how quiet it was outside - not the sound of music or cars constantly whizzing by. There was not one, but in fact 2 decent size pools and so many sun loungers, which assured us it wouldn't get too crowded. It was a place of peace and tranquility.

We booked the following 3 nights, and our stay at the Savoy was just fantastic. The ocean front suite was spacious, with a separate TV/lounge area, a kitchenette with a dining table and large bed. The balcony provided a lovely view of the ocean, as well as the pool area. The bathroom, although perhaps not fitted to the highest standard, was nevertheless spotless, and I really liked the walk-in shower. Not only do you have access to a generous pool area, which never ever felt crowded during the entire duration of our stay, but also are within seconds away from the beautiful beach via the hotel's private access gates. South Beach's ample shops, bars and restaurants are literally at your doorstep.

There is a gym by the pool and also a restaurant in the hotel, although we didn't have a sit-down meal. We ordered the food by the pool and unfortunately, the hotel doesn't provide proper table service, but instead the pool attendants will deliver these in plastic bags, in plastic packaging and plastic cutlery, generating unnecessary and environmentally unfriendly waste. There are other areas that require attention and upgrade - from the dated sun loungers, the showers by the pool and in the gym, which don't give out hot water (we used these to get ready on our last day), to the entrance lobby lacking a welcoming feel. The hotel would also benefit from having a spa, as the surrounding lends itself perfectly.

However, these are finer touches, and by no means take away from the fact that the Savoy should be your default location in South Beach. It has an enviable location, a really unique infrastructure unmatched by any other property we've seen as well as generously proportioned and well-appointed rooms. You are within the heart of the action, but yet have the assurance of being in a relaxing, peaceful and restful environment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear minlondon,

We are so happy to chose The Savoy Hotel to "rescue" you from a poor hotel experience in the area. We are glad you enjoyed our Ocean View Suites, which have some of the most gorgeous views in all of South Beach!

We do hope you will choose us as your home away from home for future Miami-area stays.

See you soon!

Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

In March, my wife and I stayed at The Savoy, a real gem on Ocean Ave in South Beach on the quiet stretch just below 5th. Decent interior courtyard with sitting areas, small pools, lounge decks with terrific views of the beach and ocean only 50 yards away. Older establishment, no flash, but it's wonderful to walk out Savoy's back gate directly to the beach. Best rooms (also most expensive) are "Ocean View suites" on 2nd and 3rd floors. Decent breakfast (good choice, reasonably priced but not included in the room rate). Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear TravelSpouse,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful experience overall, here at The Savoy Hotel.

We look forward to having you as our guest once again!

Yours in Hospitality,
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This trip was my first time to Miami, and
The Savoy exceeded all of my expectations! The rooms were large, very clean, and perfect for a large group. The location is perfect, being right on the beach and the strip. You would think it would be really loud being right on the strip but it was very relaxing, but also very close to the party scene. The staff was so nice and helped with anything we needed. The pool area is great and the staff is always present outside, making sure each guest is taken care of.
If you go to South Beach you must stay at The Savoy. You will not find better a staff, hotel or location!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
2.8 mi away
Thompson Miami Beach
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
1.3 mi away
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
0.9 mi away
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#31 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,742 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#15 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,093 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: 425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savoy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sophisticated Choice Among Resort Hotels on South Beach Miami...One of the only resort hotels on Ocean Drive located directly on the sand with private beach access, the chic Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami is a 75-suite resort without peer on America's sun-drenched Riviera - South Miami Beach's Art Deco District. Prepare for the Savoy Hotel to awaken your senses!The Savoy offers spacious one and two bedroom suites with beach, pool and Ocean Drive views, only steps away from breezy al fresco cafes, hip boutique shopping, and sizzling nightlife - all with the unmistakable flavor of Miami's multi-cultural South Beach. Setting The Savoy apart is our incredible location and generous amenities, unlike any other on Ocean Drive. At a lush 2-acre expanse of tropical paradise from street to beach, our guests can enjoy commanding beach views from en-suite balconies, sun bathe poolside, and enjoy private access to the sands of beautiful South Beach. Only at the Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami. With its ocean Views, chic decor and Art Deco feeling, The Savoy Hotel is the perfect location to celebrate your Special Day. The Savoy offers a variety of settings for you to choose from. Two sundecks overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Terrace restaurant with views of our two tropical pools, and our main Ballroom which overlooks Ocean Drive. From an intimate ceremony of 20 guests to a more lavish party of 125, The Savoy will make this day the most memorable yet for you and your guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Miami Beach
Savoy Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.