We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic weekend at the Savoy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #23 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Wenham, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“A fantastic weekend at the Savoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife and I just happened upon the Savoy Hotel as part of a get-away weekend from the Northeast weather.
Having stayed in great hotels all over the world the Savoy had the charactar of a fine European Hotel with the modern day ammenaties that we all look for in free wifi and outstanding service.
The opening of their new streetside lounge was a nice experience on friday.
The beach is right out your backdoor and the food and service around the clock was great.

I would recommend the savoy for couples and families. We rented a two room suite at a reasonable price and may bring a children back on the next visit due to the extra room we had in our suite.

For character and service the Savoy gets high marks.

Room Tip: Do some research on this place and you'll enjoy it even more. Ronny Wood of the rolling stones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    478
    267
    65
    37
    11
See reviews for
291
307
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I'd like to congratulate the staff of The Savoy for their exceptional customer service and for epitomizing the word "hospitality". This includes Mary and Immer at the front desk, the bellman, and the boys at the beach. The check-in process was efficient and friendly thanks to Immer. Mary kindly arranged to get me on the bus to Sawgrass Mills in the morning with about an hour of notice. Brilliant. And the hotel location on the quiet end of Ocean Dr with direct beach access is spectacular.

However, i'm afraid the rooms don't do justice to the wonderful staff and location. My room (329) was spacious, quiet, and clean enough. However, the carpet in the room was soiled and worn, and the hallway carpet on the third floor is a total disgrace. As many have noted, the room furniture is sparse, dated, and somewhat worn. I suspect the drapes are supposed to be some sort of art deco throw-back but look more like an art deco throw-up. The room is lit with the worst florescent lighting. There are much warmer compact flourescent light bulbs available - why purchase the coldest and most depressing? The room is painted a beachy sea breeze color, which is fine. But under these lights, the room takes on a ghastly 1950's insane asylum ambiance.

Unless I were to get a very good price, I would have to think twice about returning to The Savoy, There are some very easy fixes which could make this hotel infinitely better. I encourage the management not just to reply to these reviews by using the excuse that it's all part of the historic art deco character of the property. Historic is fine, rundown and tasteless is not. Many of the past reviews contain the same criticisms as mine. If you take the reviews as seriously as you say you do, then why did my room contain the same flaws as reviews from months ago?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Greetings from South Beach!

Thank you for your detailed and candid review of your stay here at The Savoy Hotel. First, thank you for mentioning our delightful employees who really take "hospitality" seriously. We are so proud of our team and the excellent guest service they provide.

In regards to the suites, we are constantly maintaining the normal upkeep and making improvements to meet and exceed our guests' expectations. Your comments are being reviewed by our General Manager and Chief Engineer at this time.

Again, thank you for your feedback and it would be my pleasure to personally handle your reservations if you would like to visit us once again.

Yours in Hospitality,
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The staff is trying to do the best for feeling like in the luxury hotel, but the other experience with the property is not so good.
The room was big, but the equipment and furniture is quite poor. The bed was almost damaged and also too soft. The room was after some repairs and you can see that everywhere because of bad cleaning after workers - expecially in bathroom. Also in pool area you can see many details which are not good repaired - in such hotel it should be done much carefully.
It was not worth for the money we paid and next time we choose for sure another hotel
in Souh Beach.

Room Tip: for sure pay extra for ocean view room or at least in higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

While the staff was wonderful, the rooms left a lot to be desired. Our room was on the first floor but had no patio and no balcony. Walking into our pool view suite, we encountered a room similar to a warehouse. Low quality furniture graced the room, bare floors emitted a cold overall appearance. The room had a small refrigerator and a counter with a coffee maker but no table for eating. The bathroom, while updated, had no counter space for sundries, makeup, or hair appliances. We felt the location was wonderful but the price was way out of line for what was offered. Probably would not stay at the Savoy again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

When I stay at the Savoy, there are a few things I can count on: 1) Easy access to everything South Beach including shopping, restaurants and THE BEACH, with no traffic issues or parking hassles. 2) Quick check-in, check-out, and valet service. 3) Roomy accommodations, with all the comforts of home - kitchenettes, iPod docks, a gym, sweet swimming pools, and a cozy bed. 4) Most importantly, they treat me like family. If you want a great place to stay without headaches, the Savoy is the new place to be.

Room Tip: Every room I've ever had is great, and very quiet. Ocean front rooms are the best, obviously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Great hotel,
especially for the strategic position: on the sea and in the most beautiful part of the Ocean Drive. Very nice and polite the staff: from Mary at reception (Italian-American) To Rocky at the pool (always kind and helpful). Also recommended for its money

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Silvana,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are so fortunate to have staff which provides such great guest service and I am so glad you had a chance to meet them.

We look forward to having you back....ciao!

Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spent 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. The property is beautiful, with two lovely pools (one heated) and a short walk to the beach. We had booked a pool view suite and had expected it to have a balcony but were disappointed to see that it didn't. Apparently only ocean view rooms guarantee that. Apart from this small glitch we had a gr8 time. The staff was very friendly and helpful esp. Rocky and Caine. Looking forward to going back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: 425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savoy Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sophisticated Choice Among Resort Hotels on South Beach Miami…One of the only resort hotels on Ocean Drive located directly on the sand with private beach access, the chic Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami is a 75-suite resort without peer on America's sun-drenched Riviera — South Miami Beach's Art Deco District.Prepare for the Savoy Hotel to awaken your senses!The Savoy offers spacious one and two bedroom suites with beach, pool and Ocean Drive views, only steps away from breezy al fresco cafés, hip boutique shopping, and sizzling nightlife — all with the unmistakable flavor of Miami's multi-cultural South Beach. Setting The Savoy apart is our incredible location and generous amenities, unlike any other on Ocean Drive.At a lush 2-acre expanse of tropical paradise from street to beach, our guests can enjoy commanding beach views from en-suite balconies, sun bathe poolside, and enjoy private access to the sands of beautiful South Beach. Only at the Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami.With its ocean Views, chic décor and Art Deco feeling, The Savoy Hotel is the perfect location to celebrate your Special Day.The Savoy offers a variety of settings for you to choose from. Two sundecks overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Terrace restaurant with views of our two tropical pools, and our main Ballroom which overlooks Ocean Drive.From an intimate ceremony of 20 guests to a more lavish party of 125, The Savoy will make this day the most memorable yet for you and your guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Miami Beach
Savoy Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.