We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well positioned on the strip, but low key” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
The Savoy Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well positioned on the strip, but low key”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed for 4N/5D in the middle of November, as a "layover" before our honeymoon trip to St Lucia the following week. We didn't know what to expect really. Pictures can be so deceiving. The buildings were old, really old (We were told they were built in the 1930's), but very well kept. So they had the feel of history, and the ownership group here understands their place in the hotel community...extend the "feel" that was once a strip flagship. The furnishings and "feel" of the place is definately old school. They believe in and are proud of the hotel's heritage.

The staff was attentive, well trained and polite, if sparse. We ordered room service breakfast a couple mornings. It arrived very quickly and the food was tasty for the price; not spectacular, but you're not paying $22.00 for an omelette either. Just good food, well priced, delivered quickly, with a smile.

They have 2 large pools, 1 heated and 1 not. Again, well kept, clean with alot of chaise lounges, some with "half-moon" covers on them when you want to block the sun...nice touch you usually don't find anywhere.

The facility has direct access to the beach...2 minute walk to the shore. They hire a 3rd party company to "police" their cabanas and chaise lounges on the beach. Full day rental on the "half-moon" cabana was $20.00 bucks...cheap!!

They also have drink and food service to the beach from the hotel. Well executed and drink/food quality was good.

The room was spacious and cleaned well. If you're looking for new, shiny and technologically advanced, this is not your place. The interiors and decorations, although nice and clean, were not granite, travertine or the like. They were tiled floors with older fixtures, older but clean carpet and mimimalist wall hangings. They bathroom was clean, with a traditional style bathtub with sliding glass doors. Old school!!

Note that the elevators are older also...a little noisy, which can be unnerving, but we never experienced an issue with them (we were on the 3rd floor over-looking the pools and the ocean). The view from the room was beautiful and we actually had 3 separate sitting decks off of our room to choose from. No doubt, many upgrades and updates have been executed, but no multi-million dollars renovations have taken place.

Overall, this stay was pleasant. I have nothing bad to say, no criticisms. You just have to know what you're getting. For the price (4 nights plus the daily charge for internet, 2 large room-service breakfasts, 2 separate meals and 10-12 drinks/beers in the beach cabana, etc) of $1100.00, I was pleased. I didn't want to pay $600.00+ per night for The Betsy or Angler's, because our big money was going to be spent over the next week in St. Lucia.

NOTE: Virtually everything you order (room service, pool service food and drinks, beach service food and drinks) all has a gratuity built in...not good or bad, just important to know. Because of the quality of the service, I was okay with this and typically added a couple dollars on top of it.

The hotel was walking distance from all the main "action" on the beach strip and right across the street was a great deli that makes sandwiches/soups etc and has breakfast as well.

I would stay here again and would encourage to do the same, knowing full well what you're getting on the luxury scale (2 out of 5), but feasibility and adequacy scale (5 out of 5).

Room Tip: 3rd floor corner room directly above the heated pool in the detached building has a great view...270...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Cory,

Thank you for your thorough review of your stay here at The Savoy Hotel. We are truly an Art Deco gem and feel very fortunate to have been able to keep as much of the historical significance as possible.

We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you once again!

Yours in Hospitality,
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    293
    72
    40
    12
See reviews for
309
335
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with three friends for short weekend trip to Miami. The location is superb, close enough to everything but just far enough to be quiet :) Reception staff were all very polite and helpful. The resort fee was not made clear and they held a $150 on my friend's credit card for use of the restaurant/beach bar which was not explained and caused confusion/problems. Room was spacious, clean and had everything we needed although we did have to ask 3 times for a bed sheet for the sofa bed which we never got on the first night. Park across the road as its cheaper than the hotel car park. Would have been 5 star had it not been for the minor issues.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa Park, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our recent 3 day mini vacation stay at The Savoy in South Beach was very nice. We arrived earlier than check-in on a Saturday and were not only allowed to check in early, but we were given an upgrade to a room on the 1st floor with a patio instead of the upstairs room with a small terrace facing another building.
While not technically an upgrade room wise, it was so nice to have a large patio and a view of the beach. We tended to spend early mornings, having coffee and deciding how to spend the rest of the day there.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, especially the young lady who was serving the pool and beach, Jisella. She was very helpful and if she wasn't able to answer a question for us regarding where to go or what to do, she would find someone who could help. Thanks, Jisella! The desk staff and bellman were also extremely nice and knowledgeable as to places to go and where to eat in the area, thanks everyone! You all did a great job!

The room we were in had just been painted, as you could smell it upon entering. It wasnt really annoying, but if you happen to be sensitive to fresh, clean paint.. it might bother you. The room was very nicely appointed- simple, large and clean. There were, however a few oddities, if you will...
The bathroom was missing a place to hang towels- there was not a hook in sight! It seemed as though the room had not quite been finished before it was assigned to us.
The sink area in the bathroom had nice large double sinks, however- the "table" style mounting of the sinks did not provide any space to put out any grooming or cosmetic items etc.
The private area for the toilet was actually quite large, but empty of anything but the toilet, it could (and should) have a small sink at the one empty end for convenience.

The rooms adjacent to us were also being upgraded, as we were able to sneak peaks as the staff were working during the day. You would never know they were there, not a bit of noise was heard when we were in our room, (which honestly wasnt that often.)

The poolside was clean, the pools (one heated, one not) were impeccably clean and well kept. The "gym" room was ok, just took a quick look, didnt use any of the equipment. Dont really recall what was in there. There were always plenty of towels, although getting out early to grab lounges around the pools is advised!
My only complaint poolside was the lack of some background music.. not glaringly loud music, but a little something would have been nice, in our opinion! I wasnt looking to carry around an ipod or have to deal with anything extra, which I guess may be what people do these days.

Upon checking out, since we had a late flight, Mary at the front desk told us we could check out late and take advantage of the extra time we had. Thanks Mary!

All in all, it was a very nice, relaxing stay in a clean, comfortable hotel with great staff and in great location convenient to all SoBe has to offer. We look forward to our next stay, hopefully sooner than later.

Room Tip: Room 105 and its neighboring rooms were recently painted/upgraded, might be worth requesting if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel is well situated, fairly clean, and somewhat run down. It's expensive but a good value for the location. Like many hotels, they tack on an added resort fee that, while modest, is not well publicized.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The hotel is a very nice property, perfectly located on the beach within walking distance to tons of restaurants, shopping and clubs. The staff was very helpful. Mary at the front desk is awesome, Immer at the front desk is also great, very helpful.
We're planning a trip back this summer & will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

I truly enjoyed my stay. The staff was great. I especially enjoyed talking with someone on the property. Amanda in reservations was wonderful, friendly, and very helpful. She took the time to explain all the rooms, amenities and assured us that we will have an amazing time. She was right, the pool service was flawless and friendly. All of our rooms were clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. Front desk Mary was sweet and informative. They helped us with get a early check in. Hands down the best on Ocean Drive, can't wait to come again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago area
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Been coming to The Savoy for over 15 years...management is top notch...
location?...one of few hotels on the beach and even better, it is a few short blocks from all the action....so you can walk to the action, then when you want some quiet, you can walk back to your small beach oasis...the pool is great, the chairs are great....my only concern is that this place is getting on the radar of savvy travelers and it will be more difficult to get rooms ! ! !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: 425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savoy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sophisticated Choice Among Resort Hotels on South Beach Miami...One of the only resort hotels on Ocean Drive located directly on the sand with private beach access, the chic Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami is a 75-suite resort without peer on America's sun-drenched Riviera - South Miami Beach's Art Deco District. Prepare for the Savoy Hotel to awaken your senses!The Savoy offers spacious one and two bedroom suites with beach, pool and Ocean Drive views, only steps away from breezy al fresco cafes, hip boutique shopping, and sizzling nightlife - all with the unmistakable flavor of Miami's multi-cultural South Beach. Setting The Savoy apart is our incredible location and generous amenities, unlike any other on Ocean Drive. At a lush 2-acre expanse of tropical paradise from street to beach, our guests can enjoy commanding beach views from en-suite balconies, sun bathe poolside, and enjoy private access to the sands of beautiful South Beach. Only at the Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami. With its ocean Views, chic decor and Art Deco feeling, The Savoy Hotel is the perfect location to celebrate your Special Day. The Savoy offers a variety of settings for you to choose from. Two sundecks overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Terrace restaurant with views of our two tropical pools, and our main Ballroom which overlooks Ocean Drive. From an intimate ceremony of 20 guests to a more lavish party of 125, The Savoy will make this day the most memorable yet for you and your guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Miami Beach
Savoy Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.