We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been horrible” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Savoy Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #14 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Could have been horrible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Hotel and pools nice. First night staying was ready to check out at 4 am. Room was dated but ok. The beds were the worst I've ever slept in, felt like I was sleeping on the floor. Since there were rooms available because of hurricane on east coast I was moved to another room. This room was fantastic. I don't understand how a hotel could have such a bad room and then have such a nice room. The rest of the week was great. Keep your fingers crossed on what room you get. Bad room #215 good room # 105.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    418
    228
    58
    32
    8
See reviews for
245
262
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was our second stay at the Savoy - 9 years apart. Loved it both times. Only regular suites were available when I booked, but I checked again about 2 weeks before our trip and ocean view had become available. The room was just wonderful. One of the staff later told us that this room was typically given to newlyweds. There were 2 french doors leading onto a fabulous patio with two chaises - great views of pool and ocean. I will definitely request this room next time. All of the staff we encountered were very pleasant. We had a light bulb out when we arrived, reported it, went to dinner, and it was fixed when we got back. Pool area and work out room were really nice and well kept.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Greetings from Miami Beach!

We are so glad you had the opportunity to experience staying in one of our Ocean View Suites. With the upgraded furnishings, multiple balconies and direct ocean view - it can't be beat!

We look very forward to having you back once again.

Yours in Hospitality,
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in April to celebrate a girlfriend's 40th birthday. Compared to the other hotels on South Beach with proximity to the ocean, you can't beat the price and location of the Savoy.

It was a very nice boutique style hotel that offered old Miami Art Deco flare. The rooms were clean and roomy.

The pool was gorgeous and you felt like you were at a secluded resort. Their private beach was super close and had great chairs.

It was so close to walk to everything. We didn't have a car. The nightlife on Ocean Drive is a block away. We partied one night at the Clevelander- maybe cliche, but it is a fun Miami classic.

Dinner on Ocean Drive is pricey. I highly recommend Joe's Stone Crab- it is to die for. I'm from Miami Beach originally and always love going back to Joe's. The Key Lime Pie is a must. Also we enjoyed The Big Pink nearby and David's Cuban, which was more of a walk but worth it for affordable local Cuban cuisine.

Unfortunately, it rained cats and dogs for most of our stay. We did get some beach time and one day we holed up in the hotel bar and the bartender was wonderful and fun and offered us a complimentary round of drinks since he felt bad for us.

Walgreens is across the street and you can get items for your kitchenette if you have one and they also carry liquor.

Everything you need is close by and if you want an affordable hotel at an unbelievable location, this is the place for you.

If you want über swanky snobby luxury, look elsewhere.

I can't wait to bring my family back to The Savoy!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to write such a "fantastic" review. We are so glad you enjoyed our accommodations, excellent location and wonderful service.

We hope to see you back again here at The Savoy Hotel.

Until then, take care!
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Once again we had a great stay a the Savoy due in no small part to the excellent staff and management at the property. Stranded in Miami due to Hurricane Sandy (I know, poor us!) everyone went out of their way to accommodate our party for extra nights with no fuss. When it was obvious that the remaining 4 travelers would not get back to NY until Friday (11/02/12) Gary, the manager, made arrangements for a final day at a sister property, The Angler's - also lovely.
Thanks once again to Gary, Mary, Richard, Rocky and the rest of the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: 309 is spacious and has a pool/ocean view balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you had an opportunity to experience our excellent guest service!

We hope to welcome you back once again in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Had two stays at the Savoy,one at the start of our Florida trip and one at the end, in total 5 nights.
We thought it was excellant,its located at the end of South Beach, it has its own access to the beach and is just an ideal location. The staff were very friendly and helpfull and we could not ask for more, will definitely stay there again and certainly recommed it to anybody looking to go to South Beach, which is a great place by the way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 4yr Anniversary in SOBE Miami and stayed at The Savoy. From the time we checked in until the time we checked out we were pleased with our stay. The gentleman at the front desk, Richard was very accomodating and welcoming. Daxchel was awesome as well. The housekeeping crew was top of the line. We even had the pleasure of meeting the hotel GM and was pleased to see how friendly and down to earth he was. The hotel was the perfect location to be in the mix but to have a quiet retreat once you're done with the hoopla of Miami. Great stay and we will definitely be returning here when we visit SOBE again.

Room Tip: The balcony was a great added bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I really question the reviewers that post positive reviews about this place….I’ve tried to read them as objectively as possible and still can’t understand some of the positive comments.
I will note some training tips (TT ) for the mgmt as it seems they may read some of these reviews, and I’d like to offer some constructive criticism.
Stay details first – wife and I arrived October 13th for a 4 night stay, booked many months ago and were very much looking forward to our stay here – our first time in Florida. While I know it’s no fault of the hotel – what’s with the road construction? I saw it on Google maps-street view ( presumabley months old ) and it’s still a bit of a disaster area. Then upon entry it’s immediately evident that the pictures of this place are mis-leading, very drab décor, and don’t get me started on reviewers that liked it – again don’t understand.
Check-in clerk was professional enough ( usually all I require ), not in the least bit friendly, and this is where all the little problems begin – along with the training tips – TT#1 : obtain a better credit entry system – the clerk MANUALLY entered my credit card with a one word reply “ declined “ { no offer to try again } I tell him to try it again, he types again – “ declined “, I offer another card ( my personal card – first was company card ), and it works. I called the credit card company immediately and they tell me he mistyped the expiration date, I rushed back and told him, he tried again, and said “ OK “ { nothing close to a Sorry }.
On to the room…Bleh, again nothing like the photos ( so if they give you room 126, ask for another immediately, as far as I can tell they have a large number of rooms at varying degrees of renovation status ). As others have stated – full kitchen, nothing to use ( no utensils ). Small tube TV in living room bolted to stand in a position that was un-viewable to the couch. Other than all that, room was spacious enough, view of the parking garage was awful, but not really a big deal for us. After starting to unpack, my wife discovers a few strange hairs on the bed, not freaked out until pulling back the covers to discover more hair! That’s when my wife loses it and calls to ask the sheets be replaced …on to TT#2: Don’t question the guests! Just apologize and fix it! , when she called the response was “ there’s what? Really?, what would you like? Really? “, should be “ Sorry, we’ll send someone right away “, they did send the housekeeping quickly ( good job ), and my wife could tell immediately the hair belonged to her. ( ewww! ).
A few of the other things we didn’t like…..the noise, the primary reason for choosing a place that didn’t have the best location ( that’s right! NOT the best location, it’s at the wrong end of the action ) was that it would be quiet. The street was quiet, thanks to the construction, and there were serious partiers in the hotel, but we heard every step our upstairs neighbors took as well as construction in the parkade during the day outside our window. The staff – NOT friendly!, not as rude as most of the restaurant staff in South Beach either, and I wouldn’t even mention it if other reviewers had left it alone as well, but others rave how wonderful they are……NOT!, never a smile!
Another incident brings me to TT#2(a) – there was no iron for the ironing board, I stopped by the front desk to request one, when housekeeping brought it I get “ there’s no iron? Let me see… “, instead of “ here you are sir, sorry about that “.
Others mention the pool/beach staff – I never saw a soul out by the pool, and just saw one guy sitting in the shack at the beach – NO service.
I’d just like to end with one more comment, while out one night I went to visit a friend staying at another hotel which was amazing, she paid about the same, had a much better location, and I was only there 10 minutes and had friendlier service. So I came back to the Savoy trying to enter with an open/fresh mind of the lobby, and still come back to DISSAPPOINTED! The Savoy does NOT belong anywhere in the top 20 hotels as far as I can tell, so please do NOT stay here based on the ranking – my mistake.

Room Tip: Unless you love your room, do NOT drop your bags until you do....change rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Troy,

Greetings from Miami Beach! Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on Trip Advisor. We deeply apologize if we did not live up to your expectations.

As you mentioned in your review, our management team does review each and every traveler review. Although we have received over 200 reviews from our past guests, we rarely (if ever), receive any negative comments about the friendliness of our staff. Many of them have worked here 6 years or more and pride themselves on their excellent service. Regretfully, that is not the opinion you have of us, and for that we apologize.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to experience The Savoy Hotel once again. I am happy to personally handle your arrangements if you so choose.

Yours in Hospitality,
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Miami Beach
Savoy Resort Miami Beach
Savoy Hotel Miami
Address: 425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savoy Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sophisticated Choice Among Resort Hotels on South Beach Miami…One of the only resort hotels on Ocean Drive located directly on the sand with private beach access, the chic Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami is a 75-suite resort without peer on America's sun-drenched Riviera — South Miami Beach's Art Deco District.Prepare for the Savoy Hotel to awaken your senses!The Savoy offers spacious one and two bedroom suites with beach, pool and Ocean Drive views, only steps away from breezy al fresco cafés, hip boutique shopping, and sizzling nightlife — all with the unmistakable flavor of Miami's multi-cultural South Beach. Setting The Savoy apart is our incredible location and generous amenities, unlike any other on Ocean Drive.At a lush 2-acre expanse of tropical paradise from street to beach, our guests can enjoy commanding beach views from en-suite balconies, sun bathe poolside, and enjoy private access to the sands of beautiful South Beach. Only at the Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami.With its ocean Views, chic décor and Art Deco feeling, The Savoy Hotel is the perfect location to celebrate your Special Day.The Savoy offers a variety of settings for you to choose from. Two sundecks overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Terrace restaurant with views of our two tropical pools, and our main Ballroom which overlooks Ocean Drive.From an intimate ceremony of 20 guests to a more lavish party of 125, The Savoy will make this day the most memorable yet for you and your guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Amex, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.