We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, terrible noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Balfour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lord Balfour to your Saves list
Lord Balfour
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful hotel, terrible noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Lord Balfour is a beautiful little hotel, great design, perfect location, friendly staff (especially Richard at the front desk) but it fails at the bare minimum one should expect from a hotel. A good night's sleep. Several times during the night we were awakened by what sounded like people moving heavy furniture around above us. It was impossible to sleep through and by the time it stopped and you fell back to sleep it started up again. Maybe it's just room 212, I don't know. But we were bleary-eyed the next morning.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    129
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
68
232
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Perfect location walk to everything, a quick walk across the street and you are on the beach, great spot for people watching. Our cocktails were pricing $40 for two of us included tip.

Staff is very friendly and helpful, Gaziella Makdissi took care of every detail for our visit, I really appreciate her making our stay special. Breakfast plentiful and just right, coffee outstanding!

Our room faced the street and main entrance, there was no street noise, our rooms are small, perfect opportunity to get close! Very clean, comfortable, the bed and pillows were the best!

We highly recommend the Lord Balfour and we will return, many thanks to the entire staff!

Room Tip: Beach towels are at the front desk, a quick walk across the street and your chair and umbrella await...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear "JR6635",
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and Graziella was able to enhance your experience. We hope to be of service again in the near future.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Lord Balfour is a trendy boutique hotel right on Ocean Drive a couple blocks from the loud music and restaurants. Next time I'm in South Beach, I'll definitely be staying here again. The location is perfect! You will be able to sleep comfortably without the noise of the bars and clubs, however you can easily walk to them. The hotel is clean, comfortable, and features unique artwork throughout. The rooms and bathrooms are very small but modern and complete. They do not have a pool but they offer a nice complimentary breakfast (mostly breads, pastries, and cereals). So far this is the best bang for the buck I have found in SoBe. Great hotel with a relaxed vibe!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you "BeachorBust613" for taking the time to review your stay. Coming from a Senior Contributor we are really honored for your kind words.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came in early and Richard greeted us. He grabbed our bags with no hesitation. Not many hotels give that type of service immediately. He brought us up to Carol to get us checked in early with no problem. They informed us of the amenities, which are great features.(beach towel, chair, continental breakfast and anything we needed) We checked in and was able to get on with the day. Richard helped us to our room and explain any future needs are that we may need, they were there to help us. We felt welcomed every time we left and came back. There was great conversations as well, thank you Richard for being so hospitable. He and every person working Oct 10-12 were great, don't know what you'd do without them. Thank you for a great stay, I will be back and Lord Balfour will be where I stay!
Shemika

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you Shemika1, for this great review. It is always a pleasure to see our staff recognized on the guest's comments, it means a lot to all of us.
Please remember this great experience on your next visit to South Beach and come back for more.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beverly hills, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the room was very nice and clean but small. furniture and flooring seemed new but because of the size of the room, it was a bit to much. the bathroom was very tiny compared to other hotels with not to much elbow room especially in the shower and using the toilet. I found myself banging the walls a lot. overall, a newer clean room but small.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear "Kenneth J"
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Lord Balfour. I understand your comment about the size of our rooms, we have different configurations and some rooms are bigger than others, but in average this is the room size of South Beach Boutique Hotels. We will build 17 new rooms on the lot next door and these rooms will be more spacious. We hope to see you back in the future.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my wife came around July and had a horrid experience with the service at this hotel. We, too, had our A/C not working during our nights and the Front Desk did little or nothing to correct our issue. And yeah, the rooms are really tiny -- not much of a bargain considering the excess amount of $500 per night. Not worth it, IMO.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear TomGoht:
Upon reviewing your comments I was uncertain if you really stayed at our hotel and I would really appreciate if you could contact me directly to discuss. Our staff service is praised by all TripAdvisor reviewers and we pride ourselves of that I find it strange that your issued were not addressed and we have not had a rate remotely close to $500 in the past 7 months, actually I find it hard to believe that any South Beach Hotel had rates in the $500s during the summer. Since your name was not in our records I can't contact you, so if you read this, please give me a call.
Thank you,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgewater, nj
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed in nice hotels with friendly service before but this hotel was professionally catering to us and very detailed oriented. It is located a block from the beach where they provide you with towels, umbrella, and chairs. I mentioned in a passing that i was there on my honeymoon and i walked into my room with a bottle of wine chilled on ice! I also arrived 5 hours early and they let me check in and i had a check out time 3 hours past the standard time. We also get wi-fi and breakfast in the morning. I am floored with not only how well the entire hotel was designed but their service down to their uniforms made our stay overwhelmingly satisfying. And the best part was, i found a great deal booking on their website directly and couldn't be any happier ending our trip with them. Highly recommend this stay. It's such a must!

Room Tip: book early for a discount online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear steppy02:

Thank you for your nice comments about your stay. I hope that your honeymoon in Miami was a memorable one and we will be on your Wedding Anniversary calendar...
Best regards and see you next year!

Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Balfour

Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lord Balfour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened June 2013: The Lord Balfour made its debut after a multi-million dollar renovation. The Lord Balfour molds well into the rich diversity of Art Deco styles as its exterior is marked with forms of the industrial era. Originally opened in 1940, the Lord Balfour hotel opened its doors as the influx of tourists streamed to Miami Beach, with an enthusiasm for the warm and sunny climate – continuing to do so today. The hotel sits in close proximity to the city’s ever growing arts and culture scene. Enter the hotel’s public space comprising lobby and bar, and you’ll discover a chic vintage setting combined with animated and witty design details. A prominent display of mirrors, on a backdrop of soft textures is a playful homage to Lord Balfour, a man who was considered thoroughly vain. Guest rooms feature natural and sustainable bamboo hardwood floors and all of the modern comforts required of traveler’s today. Oversized windows overlook the interior palmed courtyard, Ocean Drive, or offer city views of the SoFi neighborhood. Furnished with custom designed writing desks and chairs, and leather lounge seating, additional amenities include ETRO bathroom products in a scent that will satisfy both men and women. Comforts include luxurious bed linens along with plush robes, towels and slippers. Fully modernized for today’s guests, rooms feature docking stations, 40” televisions and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Balfour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.